Thursday, March 29, 2012

Duck Dynasty

A&E Network introduces the Robertsons, a Louisiana bayou family living the American dream as they operate a thriving business while staying true to their family values and lifestyle.

Ask anyone in Louisiana and they'll tell you that the bayou state's favorite first family doesn't live in the governor's mansion but in the backwoods, where the Robertsons' rags-to-riches story is still unfolding. A homegrown mom-and-pop operation, Duck Commander has become a sporting empire by fabricating top-of-the-line duck calls and decoys out of salvaged swamp wood.

This newly minted multimillionaire family is kept in line by business-savvy Willie, who runs Duck Commander with the help of his brother Jase, their respective wives Korie and Missy, patriarch and founder of the company, Phil, and uncle Si. Together they run a booming business that employs half their neighborhood, but at the end of the day, you can find the whole family around matriarch Miss Kay's dinner table.

Each episode brings a new set of challenges, met with a special brand of Southern know-how and a down-home sense of humor.

Has anybody caught this show yet? It's fairly new on A&E and my hubby and I just love it! These are just some down home country folk bit redneck bit corporate America but loads of laughs! This past weeks show had them getting caught by security for going frog catching in the local country club pond and with Uncle Si and Phil doing career day at their grand-kids school which was hysterically funny to watch but I bet some of them kids had nightmares about skinning squirrels and the war. This upcoming week is bound to be an adventure as The Robertsons built a duck blind in the sky using a mobile home! Check HERE for local listings and more info on this crazy show!

Review - Me and My Manny by M.A. MacAfee

Me and My Manny by M.A. MacAfee
Released: October 12, 2011
Publisher: CreateSpace
Age Group: Adult
Pages: 242 pages
Format: Paperback
Source: Author
Rating: 3/5
Author Site: M.A. MacAfee
To ease her loneliness, Judy Mason orders a wooden replica of her husband, Harry, a sailor aboard ship at sea. Instead of Harry’s facsimile, the anatomically incorrect manny turns out to be a caricature of him. No matter. Her girlfriends are not only envious that she has found a friend and potential business partner in the dummy; they also want to borrow him and pay for his company by the hour.
Me and My Manny covers quite a few genre's at once and is one of the cutest, maybe weirdest stories I have read this year! It has romance, comedy, and even a tad of horror as Judy and her husband cope with her wooden replica of him.

I don't think I have ever been lonely enough to want a lifesize doll of my hubby hanging around and I sure wouldn't want to "rent" him out but alas the predicaments Judy gets herself into over this doll is amusing and heartbreaking as well because the underlying reasoning of the whole situation was she was very lonely with her husband away all the time and their marriage had suffered because of it. But Wolfgang (the doll) seemed to make her husband a bit jealous and he continued to say that he was afraid that Wolfgang was trying to take his place. Judy laughs his suspisions away but then strange things begin to happen and she starts to wonder just what she may have gotten into.

Wednesday, March 28, 2012

Review - Mini Weapons of Mass Destruction 2 by John Austin

Mini Weapons of Mass Destruction 2 by John Austin
Released: October 1, 2011
Publisher: Chicago Review Press
Age Group: Adult
Pages: 256 pages
Format: Paperback
Source: Publisher
Rating: 5/5
Author Site: John Austin

If you’re a budding spy, what better way to conceal your clandestine activities than to miniaturize your secret agent arsenal? MiniWeapons of Mass Destruction 2 provides fully illustrated step-by-step instructions for building 30 different spy weapons and surveillance tools.
This is a totally cool book full of brilliant gadgets made from regular household utensils from plastic spoons to paper clips! My neice and I had a ball with the Double Barreled Band Gun and I found myself indulging in making a few other "weapons" on my own like the Mini Tin Catapult which is made from a small mint container and a plastic spoon basically and I used it to play with my dogs with. I would launch their dog food treats into the living room and they would dash after them. Spent hours playing with them like that! I was starting to feel like a mini 007! They even cover concealment of your items!

It's just a fun cool book with very easy to follow directions and illustartions to follow. The weapons do really work when assembled properly so I don't recommend for small children.

Waiting on Wednesday (4)

"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.
This week on Waiting On Wednesday:

This one sounds so good and the cover is soooo gorgeous! I can't wait to grab this one! I just noticed that Alot of the books I am either reading or yearning for have red dresses on them! Wicked eh?

Sweet Evil
by Wendy Higgins

Expected publication: May 1st 2012 by HarperTeen

What if there were teens whose lives depended on being bad influences? This is life for sons and daughters of fallen angels in Sweet Evil.

Tenderhearted Southern girl, Anna Whitt, was born with the sixth sense to see and feel emotions of other people. She’s aware of a struggle within herself, an inexplicable pull toward danger, but it isn’t until she turns sixteen and meets the alluring Kaidan Rowe that she discovers her terrifying heritage, and her will-power is put to the test. He’s the boy your daddy warned you about. If only someone had warned Anna.

A cross-country trip to meet her father forces Anna to face the reality that hope and love are not options for her kind. When she confronts her destiny, will Anna embrace her halo or her horns?

Tuesday, March 27, 2012

Teaser Tuesday - Grave Mercy by Robin LaFevers

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by Miz B at Should Be Reading.
Anyone can play along! Just do the following:
Grab your current read
Open to a random page
Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
Share the title and author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers.

My Teaser:
"So," she says, looking back up at me. "You are well equipped for our service."
"Which is?"
"We kill people."

Grave Mercy by Robin LaFevers

Why be the sheep, when you can be the wolf?

Seventeen-year-old Ismae escapes from the brutality of an arranged marriage into the sanctuary of the convent of St. Mortain, where the sisters still serve the gods of old. Here she learns that the god of Death Himself has blessed her with dangerous gifts—and a violent destiny. If she chooses to stay at the convent, she will be trained as an assassin and serve as a handmaiden to Death. To claim her new life, she must destroy the lives of others.

Ismae's most important assignment takes her straight into the high court of Brittany—where she finds herself woefully under prepared—not only for the deadly games of intrigue and treason, but for the impossible choices she must make. For how can she deliver Death’s vengeance upon a target who, against her will, has stolen her heart?

Saturday, March 24, 2012

On My Wishlist (1)

On My Wishlist is a fun weekly event hosted by Book Chick City and runs every Saturday. It's where we list all the books we desperately want but haven't actually bought yet. They can be old, new or forthcoming.

This has been on my TBR list for a while. It sounds awesome and the cover is beautiful!

Dark Angel by Eden Maguire
398 pages
Published by Non Basic Stock Line
August 4th 2011

Tania's heart belongs to Orlando. Nothing can rip them apart. Until the seduction begins in a flurry of glamour and magic, music and parties all orchestrated by the mysterious and mesmerising Zoran, an iconic rock star who has retired to a remote ranch in the nearby mountains. And there Tania meets the dark side. Can she resist temptation?

Friday, March 23, 2012

Review - The Good Ghouls' Guide to Getting Even by Julie Kenner

The Good Ghouls' Guide to Getting Even by Julie Kenner
Released: April 3, 2007
Publisher: Berkley Trade
Age Group: Young Adult
Pages: 256 pages
Format: Paperback
Source: Bought
Rating: 4/5
Author Site: Julie Kenner
Elizabeth Frasier's ticked off. Her junior year of high school was going just fine. But thanks to a bunch of jerkwad vampire jocks, she ended up undead, and with a thirst that a thousand Diet Cokes couldn't quench. Now she's out for blood-and revenge.
This was one of the funniest vampire stories I have ever read! Basically Beth gets mad and then she gets even with the help of her trusty sidekicks. She is so book smart but yet kind of dingy all at once but wow she is full of personality! A fun, quick, and light read.

Review - Artemis Fowl by Eoin Colfer

Artemis Fowl by Eoin Colfer
Released: June 23, 2009
Publisher: Hyperion Book
Age Group: Children's
Pages: 304 pages
Format: Hardback
Source: NetGalley
Rating: 5/5
Author Site: Eoin Colfer
Twelve-year-old Artemis Fowl is a millionaire, a genius—and, above all, a criminal mastermind. But even Artemis doesn’t know what he’s taken on when he kidnaps a fairy, Captain Holly Short of the LEPrecon Unit. These aren’t the fairies of bedtime stories; these fairies are armed and dangerous.
I was pleasantly surprised with Artemis Fowl because I must confess I went into this book expecting NOT to like it. I have came so close to picking it up several times at the book store but it just never hit me hard enough to buy it so when Netgalley offered it up I decided here was my chance to step outside the comfort zone.

The first couple of pages had me captivated and quickly delved into the extraordinary world of a miniature 007 meets Richie Rich! It was incredibly easy getting sucked into Atemis's wicked schemes and I feel what really made this so enjoyable to me was the fact that it was more of an updated fantasy adventure weilding computers and high tech gadjets instead of just the usual spells, wands, and ect..

I definatley see more Artemis in my future!

Wednesday, March 21, 2012

Review - It's a Big World, Little Pig! by Kristi Yamaguchi

It's a Big World, Little Pig! by Kristi Yamaguchi
Released: March 6, 2012
Publisher: Sourcebooks Jabberwocky
Age Group: Children's
Pages: 32 pages
Format: Hardback
Source: NetGalley
Rating: 5/5
Author Site: Kristi Yamaguchi

Awww I just jumped at the chance to read this one not only because of the beautiful illustrations but because I am a sucker for Little Piggies! I know! I know! I am strange but I been collecting figurines and items with little piggies for ages.

With my confession made this story was really adorable with Little Pig venturing off to a new country to compete in the ice skating competitions. She was very excited and scared all at once but she had big dreams and didn't let her fear hold her back.

The underlying meaning I got from the story was to follow your dreams and don't let fear hold you back!

Monday, March 19, 2012

In My Mailbox (14)

Hosted by The Story Siren, In My Mailbox is a weekly meme of what goodies we got to read during the week either thru mail, library, or ect... This is my catch up post for like three weeks worth of mail. I've been so sick and just not done one til now but I have so many awesome books I wanted to try to share this week! Too many for me to link this time but you can find them all on Goodreads. What did you get in your mailbox?

Tempest by Julie Cross
Horten's Miraculous Mechanisms by Lissa Evans
Chomp by Carl Hiasen
Nice Girls Don't Have Fangs by Molly Harper
Nice Girls Don't Date Dead Men by Molly Harper
Nice Girls Don't Live Forever by Molly Harper
Sweep Volume V by Cate Tiernan
The Catastrophic History of You and Me by Jess Rothenberg
Invincible by Sherrilyn Kenyon
Infinity by Sherrilyn Kenyon
Embrace by Jessica Shrivington
Shadowland by Alyson Noel
Blue Moon by Alyson Noel
Evermore by Alyson Noel
Article 5 by Kristen Simmons
Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake
Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor
Masque of the Red Death by Bethany Griffin
Paranormalcy by Kiersten White
Girl in the Arena by Lise Haines
Divergent by Veronica Roth
Inside Out/ Outside In by Maria Snyder
Torn by Amanda Hocking
Prophecy of the Sisters by Michelle Zink
Generation of the Dead by Daniel Waters
Born Wicked by Jessica Spotswood
Blood Born by Jamie Manning
Starters by Lissa Price
The Weepers by Susanne Winnacker
Hollyweird by Terri Clark
Grave Mercy by Robin LaFevers
It's A Big World, Little Pig by Kristi Yamaguchi
Innocent Darkness by Suzanne Lazear
Artemis Fowl & The Arctic Incident by Eoin Colfer

Thursday, March 15, 2012

"Color"-ful Titles

I was shelving some books today when I noticed how many book titles I had with colors in them! I think red was the most repetitive although I did find quite a many black and white ones. Below are a few I found on my shelf. What are some "Color"-ful Titles that are on your bookshelf?

Masque of the Red Death
by Bethany Griffin

Everything is in ruins.

A devastating plague has decimated the population. And those who are left live in fear of catching it as the city crumbles to pieces around them.

So what does Araby Worth have to live for?

Nights in the Debauchery Club, beautiful dresses, glittery make-up . . . and tantalizing ways to forget it all.

But in the depths of the club—in the depths of her own despair—Araby will find more than oblivion. She will find Will, the terribly handsome proprietor of the club. And Elliott, the wickedly smart aristocrat. Neither boy is what he seems. Both have secrets. Everyone does.

And Araby may find something not just to live for, but to fight for—no matter what it costs her.

Blue Moon by Alyson Noel

Just as Ever is learning everything she can about her new abilities as an immortal, initiated into the dark, seductive world by her beloved Damen, something terrible is happening to him. As Ever’s powers are increasing, Damen’s are fading—stricken by a mysterious illness that threatens his memory, his identity, his life.

The Woman IN Black by Susan Hill

A classic ghost story: the chilling tale of a menacing specter haunting a small English town. Arthur Kipps is an up-and-coming London solicitor who is sent to Crythin Gifford--a faraway town in the windswept salt marshes beyond Nine Lives Causeway--to attend the funeral and settle the affairs of a client, Mrs. Alice Drablow of Eel Marsh House. Mrs. Drablow's house stands at the end of the causeway, wreathed in fog and mystery, but Kipps is unaware of the tragic secrets that lie hidden behind its sheltered windows. The routine business trip he anticipated quickly takes a horrifying turn when he finds himself haunted by a series of mysterious sounds and images--a rocking chair in a deserted nursery, the eerie sound of a pony and trap, a child's scream in the fog, and, most terrifying of all, a ghostly woman dressed all in black.

White Cat by Holly Black

The first in a trilogy, this gritty, fast-paced fantasy is rife with the unexpected. Cassel comes from a shady, magical family of con artists and grifters. He doesn't fit in at home or at school, so he's used to feeling like an outsider. He's also used to feeling guilty--he killed his best friend, Lila, years ago.
But when Cassel begins to have strange dreams about a white cat, and people around him are losing their memories, he starts to wonder what really happened to Lila. In his search for answers, he discovers a wicked plot for power that seems certain to succeed. But Cassel has other ideas-- and a plan to con the conmen.

Review - Starters by Lissa Price

Starters by Lissa Price
Released: March 13, 2012
Publisher: Delacorte Books for Young Readers
Age Group: Young Adult
Pages: 352 pages
Format: Paperback
Source: NetGalley
Rating: 5/5
Author Site: Lissa Price
In the future, teens rent their bodies to seniors who want to be young again. One girl discovers her renter plans to do more than party--her body will commit murder, if her mind can't stop it.

Oh My Gawd! Starters was amazing and ludicrously creepy. I had chills just imagining handing over my body for somebody else to use as they wish no matter that there were supposed to be rules and contracts outlining what they could do while in possession of my body. Just thinking about it I don't think I could do it but I guess when you have a child ,or in Callie's case a sickly brother with extra needs, you'll do what you have to do to survive.

I really loved Callie's character. She was strong, caring, and smart all rolled into one. She developed her street smarts and cunning quickly after the Spore Wars and her parents demise when she was thrown into being sole provider for her younger brother. Trust was not something that came so easy anymore so she was leery of Prime Destinations but felt it was the only thing she could do to help her brother at the time. Thru a chip malfunction she mistakenly wakes up in her renters life and discovers some alarming things and this is where the story really took off for me as she races to make things right.

Starters was a unique edge of your seat read that left me hanging onto the last page crying more more more. I could not believe it ended like it did! I was totally floored! Thank gosh we only have to wait til the end of the year for the conclusion!

Tuesday, March 13, 2012

Waiting on Wednesday (3)

"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.
This week on Waiting On Wednesday:

This one sounds really good!

Survive by Alex Morel
Expected publication: August 2nd 2012 by Razorbill
Jane runs away from Life House, a facility for kids with mental health disorders and addictions. She boards a plane to Montclair, New Jersey, though her destination does not matter—she doesn’t plan to be alive when the plane lands. Jane has planned the perfect suicide: she’ll fall asleep on the plane and never wake up. As she’s reaching for her pills in the cabin’s bathroom, the plane hits turbulence. Another jolt, and the engine’s down. The plane crashes into the mountains of Montana, and Jane and a boy named Paul are the only two survivors.

What starts out as a death mission quickly becomes a fight for life.

Teaser Tuesday - Starters by Lissa Price

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by Miz B at Should Be Reading.
Anyone can play along! Just do the following:
Grab your current read
Open to a random page
Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
Share the title and author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers.

My Teaser: I wasn't sure how I should act. What to say, what not to.

It was scary when you didn't know what your body had been doing without you.

Starters by Lissa Price 
Synopsis: Callie lost her parents when the Spore Wars wiped out everyone between the ages of twenty and sixty. She and her little brother, Tyler, go on the run, living as squatters with their friend Michael and fighting off renegades who would kill them for a cookie. Callie's only hope is Prime Destinations, a disturbing place in Beverly Hills run by a mysterious figure known as the Old Man who hires teens to rent their bodies to Enders—seniors who want to be young again....

Monday, March 12, 2012

Review - Fallen by Lauren Kate

Fallen by Lauren Kate
Released: September 28, 2010
Publisher: Ember
Age Group: Young Adult
Pages: 496 pages
Format: Paperback
Source: Bought
Rating: 3/5
Author Site: Lauren Kate
There's something achingly familiar about Daniel Grigori.

Mysterious and aloof, he captures Luce Price's attention from the moment she sees him on her first day at the Sword & Cross boarding school in sultry Savannah, Georgia. He's the one bright spot in a place where cell phones are forbidden, the other students are all screw-ups, and security cameras watch every move.
It has taken me a while to complete reading Fallen. I kept picking it up and putting it back down from lack of interest. I feel so bad because it has gotten so many wonderful reviews but even after I was in over 200 pages I still was really not into it. Everytime I thought "this" is the moment it is going to take off it just would fizzle back out. The characters were meh but I never really connected with any of them not even Luce. It's obvious she and Daniel is supposed to have this huge love for each other yet he treats her really bad and it seems that the worse he treats her the more intrigued she is with him. The story just drags and drags and only in about the last quarter redeems itself and peaks my attention. I will continue on with the series and hope Torment is better.

Wednesday, March 7, 2012

Waiting on Wednesday (2)

"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.
This week on Waiting On Wednesday:

OMG this sounds sooo fricking good! I must have it! Expected publication: April 24th 2012 by Harlequin Teen

You will kill. The only question is when.

In the dark days since the insidious Red Lung virus decimated the human population, vampires have risen to rule the crumbling cities and suburbs. Uncontested Princes hold sway over diminished ranks of humans: their "pets." In exchange for their labor, loyalty and of course, their blood, these pets are registered, given food and shelter, permitted to survive.

Unregistered humans cling to fringes, scavenging for survival. Allison Sekemoto and her fellow Unregistereds are hunted, not only by vampires, but by rabids, the unholy result of Red Lung-infected vampires feeding on unwary humans. One night, Allie is attacked by a pack of rabids, saved by an unlikely hero...and turned vampire.

Uncomfortable in her undead skin, Allie falls in with a ragtag crew of humans seeking a cure, or cures: for Rabidism and for Vampirism. She's passing for human...for now. But the hunger is growing and will not be denied. Not for friendship—not even for love.

Tuesday, March 6, 2012

Teaser Tuesday - The Weepers: The Other Life by Susanne Winnacker

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by Miz B at Should Be Reading.
Anyone can play along! Just do the following:
Grab your current read
Open to a random page
Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
Share the title and author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers.

Joshua's face darkened in a scowl. "Those times are over. No one cares about manners anymore. They're too busy surviving."

The Weepers: The Other Life by Susanne Winnacker
Please note that the above quote used is from an ebook galley and is subject to change.

Monday, March 5, 2012

Review - The Eternal Child by David Wasserman

The Eternal Child by David Wasserman
Released: September 25, 2011
Publisher: Outskirts Press
Age Group: Young Adult
Pages: 222 pages
Format: Paperback
Source: Author
Rating: 3/5
For centuries, Alex Montera has led a life of running and hiding. That all changes when he comes to the rescue of Iris Lisanté. He finds himself mysteriously drawn to her, and as the two grow close, Iris soon discovers a world beyond her wildest imagination, a world of vampires, werewolves, and other creatures hidden from the rest of the world.
Let me begin by saying I applaud David Wasserman for his imagination and effort in his book The Eternal Child. David is only a senior in High School and has already taken his first big steps in making a wonderful career as an author!

The Eternal Child is an awesome story with some pretty peculiar characters but I feel it would have benefitted so much more with an editor's helping hand to smooth over some of the spelling errors and out of order passages like on page 32 Alex tells who came into the classroom and sits beside him, which was a guy named Ben, but then on the very next page when Ben passes by his table in the cafeteria he asks his new friends who he was. Other than small things like that a few of the biggest things that bothered me was for one the story itself just had a rushed feel to it. It seemed the guy had done saved the girl, fell in love with her, became her boyfriend, and fit in at her school like he had lived there forever in the first 30 pages? The other thing was during much of the reading I felt like I was being "told" the story instead of "showing" it to me. I have to have alot of visuals to enjoy what I am reading.

Other than those issues the actual story was full of awesomeness and I hope to see more from David in the years to come!

Feb Wrap-Up and March TBR 2012

So WOW February just flew by! March came a roaring in and it's time for my Feb Wrap-Up and March TBR. I did fairly good last month. Strayed from my list a bit but still managed to read and review 8. Hope to bump it up more this month because I am running behind on my Goodreads goal by like 9 books and I want to get that caught up.

I Love making these lists each month because I never thought I would admit to this but I have so many wonderful books sitting on my bookshelves it gets quite overwhelming trying to figure out what to read next! Does that happen to anybody else?

All my Feb Books are linked to my reviews in case you missed them and my March TBR List is linked to their Goodreads page. I would love to see your March TBR so if you will post me a link I will hop on over!

February Wrap Up

Immortal Beloved by Cate Tiernan
Wintergirls by Laurie Halse Anderson
Cliques, Hicks, and Ugly Sticks - KD McCrite
Karma Girl by Jennifer Estep
Cinder by Marissa Meyer
Jenny Pox by JL Bryan
Dirty Little Secrets by C.J. Omololu
Wicked Deeds on a Winter's Night by Kresley Cole

March TBR

Blood Born by Jamie Manning
Hex Hall by Rachel Hawkins
Fallen By Lauren Kate
The Weepers by Susanne Winnacker

A Kiss In Time by Alex Flinn
Starters by Lissa Price
One For The Money by Janet Evanovich
The Eternal Child by David Wasserman
The Soulkeepers by G.P. Ching
Me and My Manny - M.A. MacAfee
Mini Weapons of Mass Destruction 2 - John Austin
Triple Shot by Sandra Balzo
It's a Big World Little Pig by Kristi Yamaguchi
Masque of the Red Death by Bethany Griffin
Deadish by Naomi Kramer
Tempest by Julie Cross
Panty Raid at Zombie High by Rusty Fischer

Sunday, March 4, 2012

Review - Hex Hall by Rachel Hawkins

Hex Hall by Rachel Hawkins
Released: February 1, 2011
Publisher: Hyperion Book
Age Group: Young Adult
Pages: 352 pages
Format: Paperback
Source: Bought
Rating: 5/5
Author Site: Rachel Hawkins
Three years ago, Sophie Mercer discovered that she was a witch. It’s gotten her into a few scrapes. Her non-gifted mother has been as supportive as possible, consulting Sophie’s estranged father—an elusive European warlock—only when necessary. But when Sophie attracts too much human attention for a prom-night spell gone horribly wrong, it’s her dad who decides her punishment: exile to Hex Hall, an isolated reform school for wayward Prodigium, a.k.a. witches, faeries, and shapeshifters.
I finally got the chance to pull this remarkable book off my TBR shelf and I enjoyed it sooo much! I Love the covers for this series! It's a mixture of teenage angst with a sliver of comedy and a side of oh my God I have super powers! Sophie can't stay out of trouble no matter how hard she tries and it seems the more she tries the bigger the trouble she does get into! I felt so sorry for her in the beginning of the book because she just seemed a bit sad and lonely and never having really had any contact with her father her whole life has hurt her more than she lets on but then after constantly beeing bullied in her new school she begins to come out of her shell and fight back a bit and by the end of Hex Hall she is able to stand up for herself and has some tough decisions to make that will change her life forever.

Hex Hall won't dissappoint you especially if you like the lighter fluffier paranormal stories. It was just a totally quick lighthearted fun read and the set up for book two which is Demon Glass sounds just as awesome so I have to grab it now so I can continue and see what Sophie does next.

One of my favorite quotes from the story:

“Good luck explaining to God that you used to spank one of his heavenly beings."
Mom gave a startled laugh. "Sophie!"
"What? You did. I hope you like hot weather, Mom, that's all I'm saying.”