Thursday, October 22, 2020

Book Tour/Giveaway - The Madness of Mercury by Connie di Marco

 

The Madness of Mercury by Connie di Marco 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~ 

GENRE: Mystery 

 ~~~~~~~~~~~~~ 


BLURB: The Zodiac Mysteries feature San Francisco astrologer, Julia Bonatti, who never thought murder would be part of her practice. Julia sought answers and found solace in astrology after the death of her fiancĂ© in a hit and run accident. Since then, she’s successfully built a clientele of the city’s movers and shakers. In The Madness of Mercury, Julia’s outspoken advice in her newspaper column, AskZodia, makes her the target of a recently-arrived cult preacher who advocates love and compassion to those less fortunate. But the power-hungry preacher is waging war on sin and his Army of the Prophet will stop at nothing to silence those who would stand in his way. Julia is at the top of his list. ~~~~~~~~~~~~~ 

Excerpt: Wizard had curled into a fetal position on top of a fuzzy throw close to the fireplace. The wind was buffeting the windows so hard the rain sounded like gravel being thrown against the glass. The logs were blazing and I thanked my stars I could snuggle inside tonight with Wizard and work. Samantha had forwarded about fifty emails from the newspaper to my own AskZodia email address. As a weekly column, there was space for only three or four questions and answers, but now, the editor was considering running it as a daily feature. To keep the column interesting to as large a group of readers as possible, I like to pick a range of ages and problems. My first pick was a letter from an older man forced into retirement. Dear Zodia I’ve worked as a bookkeeper in the corporate world my entire life. I’m 65 and my company forced me to retire. I’m in decent shape financially. I have a good pension and savings, but I don’t know what to do with myself. I’ve tried to find part-time work but no luck. I’ve never felt so lost and useless. Do you see any kind of work on the horizon for me? My birth date is May 4, 1944 at 10:43 PM in Baltimore. ~- Discarded Poor guy. Worked his whole life and now shoved aside. The man’s birth chart showed Venus as the oriental planet, that is, the planet rising first before the Sun, a position that can sometimes offer a strong clue to the profession. This man was a natural artist, perhaps a craftsman, with his Mars in Virgo. He was someone with artistic yearnings and capable of patient, detailed work. Dear Discarded: Your true artistic abilities have never been recognized, much less nourished. A whole new world can open up for you if you would pursue some form of craftsmanship to produce beautiful things. Jewelry design, working in precious metals, is just one possibility that comes to mind. Please take some classes, perhaps at a local university extension and try your hand. I think you’ll be amazed at your abilities and imagination. Believe me, you won’t look back. ~ Zodia I worked through several more questions and responses and then saved them all. This was hardly a perfect way to practice astrology, but hopefully, my quick judgments and answers would be spot on and help someone head in the right direction. I clicked back to the inbox and realized three more emails had arrived while I had been working. I didn’t recognize the various senders. My AskZodia address had been set up only for Samantha, but these new emails weren’t from her. My private clients use Julia.Bonatti and my friends use JuliaB. None of them would even know of my AskZodia address. I hesitated. I’m a hopeless non-techie person and rely on my computer for business so I’m very fearful of viruses. I clicked on the button to open the reading pane and scrolled down. A jolt of fear shot through me. The message read, “Thou shalt not suffer a witch to live.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~ 


AUTHOR Bio and Links: Connie di Marco is the author of the Zodiac Mysteries featuring San Francisco astrologer Julia Bonatti. The Madness of Mercury, the first book in the series will be re-released in October 2020. Writing as Connie Archer, she is also the author of the national bestselling Soup Lover’s Mysteries from Berkley Prime Crime. You can find her excerpts and recipes in The Cozy Cookbook and The Mystery Writers of America Cookbook. Connie is a member of Mystery Writers of America, International Thriller Writers and Sisters in Crime. 

Social media links: 

Website: http://www.conniedimarco.com 

Blog: http://www.conniedimarco.com/blog 

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/zodiacmysteries/ (Connie di Marco Author) 

Twitter: https://twitter.com/askzodia 

Goodreads: http://bit.ly/1r4fl4U 


~~~~~~~~~~~~~ 

 Connie di Marco will be awarding a $20 Amazon or B/N GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tuesday, October 20, 2020

Book Tour/Giveaway - The Runaway Witch's Kiss by Tamela Miles


The Runaway Witch's Kiss by Tamela Miles 

 ~~~~~~~~~~~~~ 

GENRE: Paranormal Romance 

 ~~~~~~~~~~~~~ 


 BLURB: Nahla Gregory is a witch on the run from a bad domestic situation. Tomas Castillo, a warlock, has a prepared safe haven for her, while dealing with his own problem, his neutered magickal powers. He’s sworn to protect her and to keep his hands off her, but Nahla is downright tempting. Danger is coming for them and combining their powers may be the only way to survive the storm. Can Tomas keep Nahla safe, as promised, while she helps him rediscover his long forgotten magick? 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~ 

Excerpt: Nahla raised their joined hands and planted a kiss on his knuckle. Her smile was sweet as she heard him draw in a breath. “You’re all alone in this world. I can only imagine the pain that must bring.” He stopped walking and turned to her. “Not all alone. I have other members of my coven. I have the Spellbound wards, who I frequently shelter.” The moon cast a sliver of light on his face but she couldn’t see the emotion in those expressive eyes. “But…don’t you ever get lonely?” He chuffed softly. “I’m perfectly lonely, Nahla. That’s just my lot in life, I guess.” She moved in closer and released his hand. Gentle fingers rubbed his bristly chin. “You don’t have to be, Tomas. At least, while I’m here.” His tone was gruff. “Are you inviting me into your bed, sweet Nahla?” She wrapped her arms around his neck and let her tentative kiss do the talking. He devoured her mouth, just as he had done before, and his hands stroked her lush bottom. They remained lost in each other for long, passionate moments before he broke away, breathing heavily. “I’m not strong enough to resist you. Is this a spell you cast? Because I feel like, even though we haven’t known each other long, I’m drawn to you.” 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~ 


 AUTHOR Bio and Links: Tamela Miles is a school psychologist with Ed.S and PPS credential and a graduate of California State University San Bernardino and California State University Dominguez Hills. She is also a former flight attendant. She grew up in Altadena, California in that tumultuous time known as the 1980s. She now resides with her family in the Inland Empire, CA. 

She's a horror/paranormal romance writer mainly because it feels so good having her characters do bad things and, later, pondering what makes them so bad and why they can never seem to change their wicked ways.

She enjoys emails from people who like her work. In fact, she loves emails. She can be contacted at tamelamiles@yahoo.com or her Facebook page, Tamela Miles Books. She also welcomes reader reviews and enjoys the feedback from people who love to read as much as she does. 

Social Media Links: 

On Twitter: @jackiebrown20 

On Instagram: Tamela Miles Books 

Facebook 

Author Page: https://www.facebook.com/sassysleepingbeauties

Book Buy Links: Amazon – ebook - https://amzn.to/3bSHFPX 

Amazon-print- https://amzn.to/35xhbm6 

Nook Press- https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-runaway-witchs-kiss-tamela-miles/1137624815?ean=2940162643586 

Smashwords - https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/1042510 

Kobo- https://www.kobo.com/us/en/ebook/the-runaway-witch-s-kiss 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~  

Tamela Miles will be awarding a $10 Amazon or Barnes and Noble GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour. 

 a Rafflecopter giveaway

Thursday, October 15, 2020

Book Tour/Giveaway - Keep Me In Sight by Rachel Blackledge

 

I am thrilled to be hosting a spot on the KEEP ME IN SIGHT by Rachel Blackledge Blog Tour hosted by Rockstar Book Tours. Check out my post and make sure to enter the giveaway!

 

About the Book:

Title: KEEP ME IN SIGHT

Author: Rachel Blackledge

Pub. Date: October 15, 2020

Publisher: Rachel Blackledge

Formats: Paperback, eBook

Pages: 286

Find it: GoodreadsKeep Me in Sight Page on Rachel’s website stay tuned for buy links! 

A night she can hardly remember. A night she will never forget.

It’s about Dan.

These three words jolt Brynn back to the big boozy night she spent with her boyfriend Dan. The same night his ex, Erin, showed up. Erin says something terrible happened that night. Dan says he never touched her. Trouble is, Erin has evidence to prove it.

Brynn can vouch for him though. She was there that night that they can hardly remember, but will never forget. While Brynn pieces together her fractured memories, lost that night at the bottom of a bottle, facing the horrifying possibility that maybe Dan isn’t completely innocent. Maybe he’s guilty as charged.

But as Brynn inches closer to the truth, she begins to wonder: Who is the predator? And who is the prey?

Gloria knows the answer. She’s a psychic who turned her back on her ability after she failed to prevent a terrible tragedy. As her painful past floods back to her, can she learn to trust her gift again before it’s too late? Or will her painful past hold her back from saving someone’s future . . . and quite possibly their life.

This addictive and suspenseful thriller explores the fault lines between broken memories and shattered trust, and will keep you up well past your bedtime.

 

Excerpt:

1


INMATE 6881


Initials mar the bench of the holding cell; a sea of letters scratched into the paint by the forgotten ones, marking their existence. 

So and so was here. There’s a lot of gang insignia, too. I see a skull done up quite nicely. That person had some talent. Wasted, clearly. 

Keys clank against the metal gate. Wanda stands there, sliding a key into the slot and twisting. She’s one of the nicer guards, which is why she works in the out-processing unit. 

Her uniform strains against her bulk. The heavy-duty leather belt cinched up tight sections her belly into top and bottom folds. She’s an older woman, approaching retirement, I hope. What an awful place to spend her golden years. 

“Case dismissed.” She pushes the gate open, looking me up and down. “Let me take a picture. It’s not often I see a murderer walk free.” 

“Murderess,” I say, rising to my feet and straightening my prison issue garb. I smooth back my hair and walk freely out of the holding cell. 

“‘Scuse me,” she says, following me down the barren hallway. “They all come in here howling about how they’re innocent little lambs. And the justice system has done them wrong and they deserve to be set free. Except none of those smart lawyers on the outside can never seem to find a single reason why.”

I’m thinking about all the unfortunates who lack the ability to plan the perfect crime. Poor them. 

Behind me, Wanda labors for breath, a wheezing sound that keeps time with her footsteps. Then we reach the last gate before freedom, the last time I’ll be referred to as an inmate number. 

“What’s your secret?” she demands in a low voice, hand grasping the bars of the sally port door in front of us. “I saw your case file. You killed that guy deader than a doornail.” 

My gaze passes from the pockmarked metal bars to her fleshy hand, wrapped around the bar, knuckles rising up in soft mounds. 

I recall Chris’s hands wrapped around my neck, his nostrils flaring, his lips stretched across the tidy white line of his teeth. Then I remember the gleam of my knife before I sank it in his belly. 

“Foresight,” I say with a wry smile. She smiles too, an involuntary reaction, but I can tell from her quick sideways glance that she’s confused, trying to work out the meaning. While her wheels are turning, I nod toward the gate. “Shall we?” 

I retrieve my articles, stored the night they processed me into general. No probation or bail for me. No way. A female killer? The authorities didn’t want to take their chances, rare as we are. Women are supposed to be peaceable, not violent. What had driven me to kill? 

Until they knew, nobody wanted the responsibility of authorizing my release. And who can blame them? Nobody wanted to face the possibility that it could happen again. 

But it just might. 

In fact, I wouldn’t rule it out. 

 

 

About Rachel:


Rachel is an American expat, living abroad since 2008. She lived in Sydney Australia for a number of years, Italy, Switzerland, and has sailed over 11,000 nautical miles, crossing the Indian Ocean three times and sinking only once. She hung up her foul weather gear after the birth of her son. And writes thrillers now instead.

She’s the proud granddaughter of two World War II fighter pilot war heros. Richard ‘Blackie’ Blackledge was a WWII B-17 heavy bomber pilot. Post war, he became a successful writer. And George Jensen flew the dreaded B-29 superfortress. They both lived on well into their 90s.

“I lost two special friends, and the world lost great men, but they’re both with me still, sending me pearls of wisdom from the great beyond, telling me over the roar of the engines to: ‘Pick up the pace or you’ll get your butt blown off!’

“Okay, maybe that’s not them. But it’s still good advice.”

Rachel lives in Singapore with her husband, baby boy, and rescue pup named Jessica Shadow Shady Lady Lauro.

Website | Twitter | Goodreads | Amazon

 

Giveaway Details:

1 winner will receive a $10 Amazon GC, International.


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tour Schedule:

Week One:

10/5/2020

Two Chicks on Books

Interview

10/5/2020

JaimeRockstarBookTours

Instagram Stop

10/6/2020

BookHounds

Interview

10/6/2020

BookHounds YA

Instagram Stop

10/7/2020

Simply Daniel Radcliffe

Review

10/8/2020

Gimme The Scoop Reviews

Excerpt

10/8/2020

Gimme The Scoop Reviews

Instagram Stop

10/9/2020

Jennifer Keathley YA Author & Reader

Review

 

Week Two:

10/12/2020

Becky on Books

Review

10/13/2020

Rajiv's Reviews

Review

10/13/2020

Rajiv's Reviews

Instagram Stop

10/14/2020

Pine Enshrined Reviews

Review

10/15/2020

The Phantom Paragrapher

Review

10/15/2020

The Phantom Paragrapher

Instagram Stop

10/16/2020

Lifestyle of Me

Review


Wednesday, October 14, 2020

BookTour/Giveaway - Nine Ways To Empower Tweens by Kathleen Boucher


 

Nine Ways to Empower Tweens #LifeSkills by Kathleen Boucher 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~ 


 

GENRE: Nonfiction (Juvenile) / Activity Books - Middle Grade

 ~~~~~~~~~~~~~ 

BLURB: Nine Ways to Empower Tweens #LIFESKILLS is a self-help book for tweens. Fraternal twins Emma and Elliot teach tweens practical life strategies that they've learned from their parents and teachers. These life skills include how to have more confidence when presenting in class, the importance of work ethic, a simple writing technique to help deal with anger, and more. There are exercises at the end of each chapter that tweens can use to integrate what they've learned. "Engagingly written and well-designed, NINE WAYS TO EMPOWER TWEENS #LIFESKILLS by Kathleen Boucher should be required reading for teenagers and even older readers interested in building personal strength, developing a positive mind-set and achieving goals throughout their lives." - Andrea Karen Hammer for IndieReader 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~ 

 EXCERPT: Chapter 6: The Effects of a Good Work Ethic "Never be concerned if you do more than what is expected of you. BE THE BEST YOU CAN BE FOR YOUR OWN SAKE. It's important that you live by certain principles even when no one is watching. Some of these principles are integrity, a sense of responsibility, emphasis on quality, discipline, and a sense of teamwork. We encourage you to be on time when you go to school/work. We encourage you to be dependable. If you say that you are going to do something, do it. If you feel you are unable to keep a promise, tell the right people or ask for help." 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~ 


 

AUTHOR Bio and Links: Kathleen Boucher is an award-winning children's book author, a certified lifestyle coach, a certified neurocoach, a certified stress and wellness consultant, and a registered nurse. Her mission is to inspire kids to follow their dreams. Nine Ways to Empower Tweens #LIFESKILLS gives tweens strategies that empower them. 

CONNECT WITH KATHLEEN 

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Great-kids-and-me-661472150542382/ 

Twitter: https://twitter.com/goodoutstanding 

LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/in/kathleen-boucher-7b6b0246/ 

Website: https://www.boucherbooks.com/ 

BUY LINKS AMAZON.COM: https://amazon.com/dp/0228818826 

 AMAZON.CA: 

https://amazon.ca/dp/0228818826 

 KINDLE: https://amazon.com/dp/B0821SSQ1V 

BOOKSHOP: 

https://bookshop.org/books/nine-ways-to-empower-tweens-lifeskills/9780228818823 

 INDIGO CHAPTERS: https://www.chapters.indigo.ca/en-ca/books/nine-ways-to-empower-tweens/9780228818823-item.html 

BARNES & NOBLE: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/nine-ways-to-empower-tweens-lifeskills-kathleen-boucher/1135553306 

 BOOK DEPOSITORY: https://www.bookdepository.com/Nine-Ways-Empower-Tweens-LifeSkills-Kathleen-Boucher-Sara-Chadwick-Holmes/9780228818823 

 RAKUTEN KOBO: https://www.kobo.com/ca/en/ebook/nine-ways-to-empower-tweens-lifeskills 

SMASHWORDS: https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/992720 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~  

Kathleen Boucher will be awarding a $20 Amazon or B/N GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour.

 a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tuesday, October 13, 2020

Book Blast/Giveaway - A Family For Christmas by Nola Cross

 


 

A FAMILY FOR CHRISTMAS by Nola Cross 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~ 

GENRE: Romance - Western Contemporary 

 ~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 BLURB: He never thought he’d have a real family Christmas… For the past eight years, Bill Smith has been unable to set down roots. But he never forgot the magical night he spent with an auburn-haired beauty in Last Stand, Texas. When she finally tracked him down, he was more than happy to donate a kidney to AJ, the son he never knew he had. But now that AJ is better, Bill wants more time with him and his mother. He wants a family. Annie Burleson can’t help but be grateful to this almost-stranger for saving AJ’s life. Still, she’s a little wary. AJ has already been through so much—what if Bill leaves again? And with Christmas in full swing, it’s difficult to discern which emotions are festive and which are forever. As Annie and Bill’s lives collide, their mutual love for AJ makes this more than a marriage of convenience. But is it enough to give them the family Christmas they all deserve? 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~ 

Excerpt: Her door stood ajar, and he kneed it open. Inside, her bedroom was lit by candles that glowed softly from several locations. On either side of her bed, pink light bulbs in the delicate glass lamps shed rose-colored light on turned-down bedclothes. She had prepared the room just for this moment. An invitation meant only for him. “I see what you’ve had up your sleeve here, Mrs. Smith.” He laid her on the bed. Her still-damp hair rippled out in an auburn fan on the white pillowcase. “Don’t you like it?” “I love it. What I love most is knowing you’ve been thinking about the two of us being here, about us making love.” She gave him a sly smile. “I figured we’d end up here eventually.” He ran his finger along the opening of her robe, from her breastbone to her waist. She gave a tiny gasp. “Can I unwrap you now?”   

~~~~~~~~~~~~~ 


AUTHOR Bio and Links: I remember as a small girl being fascinated with the idea that people could make up stories and the stories became books. I began writing my own stories before I even started school, and won my first writing contest at the age of nine. It’s always been my dream to be a published author. The road was a long and twisting one, but I finally made it. I’m proud to be a two-time Golden Heart finalist, and several of my stories have been Amazon best sellers. For a while I penned erotic fiction under a pseudonym. Although it was fun to explore my “darker side”, I am now answering the true call of my heart: to write bigger stories that focus on emotion, loss, spirit, and true love, stories I hope my readers will relate to and want to read more than once. Small town America is my favorite fictional setting. I’m particularly enjoying my recent foray into writing Cowboy romance. 

Link to Author Website: http://www.nolacross.com 

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Nola-Cross-Author-174971689198712 

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/NolaCross 

Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/nolacross/the-everfield-series/ 

Amazon Buy link: https://www.amazon.com/Family-Christmas-Burlesons-Texas-Book-ebook/dp/B08C736NT7/ref=sr_1_1?dchild=1&keywords=a+family+for+christmas+nola+cross&qid=1598302857&sr=8-1 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~ 

The author will be awarding a $10 Amazon/BN GC to 5 randomly drawn winners. Please use this rafflecopter code on your post: 

 a Rafflecopter giveaway