Monday, July 23, 2012

Review - Dog Trots Globe - To Paris & Provence by Sheron Long

Dog Trots Globe - To Paris & Provence by Sheron Long
Released: 2011
Age Group: Young Adult or Adult
Publisher: OIC Books
Pages: 160 pages
Format: Hardback
Source: Author
Rating: 5/5
Join Chula, a 9-year-old Sheltie, as she travels from California to France.
This was a delightful and educational book told by Chula, a Shetland Sheepdog on her travels thru Paris and Provence. Not only was I entertained with Chula's funny antics but also learned words and customs about the places she ventured to in her travels. I loved the beautiful actual photo's taken on the trip and the ones of the markets and the flower fields were just breathtaking!

I was able to read the book online and on several pages there were accomnying videos of things in the story and that was really cool too! I especially loved the one with the sheep and goat street run!

At the end of the book are very detailed and awesome directions and tips on what you will need if you plan to travel abroad with your pet. I didn't know that as long as your pet carrier will fit under your seat your pet can ride with you! This was not the case for poor Chula though. Bless her heart she had to ride in the cargo and she explains that as well!

Really neat book to read whether you have plans to travel or not!

For Purchase or more information:
OIC site, Amazon, Goodreads, Barnes & Noble, Chula's Facebook Page


I received one or more of the products mentioned above for free using Tomoson.com. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.

Friday, July 20, 2012

Guest Post - Farsighted by Emlyn Chand

Alex Kosmitoras's life has never been easy. The only other student who will talk to him is the school bully, his parents are dead broke and insanely overprotective, and to complicate matters even more, he's blind. Just when he thinks he'll never have a shot at a normal life, an enticing new girl comes to their small Midwest town all the way from India. Simmi is smart, nice, and actually wants to be friends with Alex. Plus she smells like an Almond Joy bar. Sophomore year might not be so bad after all.

Unfortunately, Alex is in store for another new arrival—an unexpected and often embarrassing ability to "see" the future. Try as he may, Alex is unable to ignore his visions, especially when they suggest Simmi is in mortal danger. With the help of the mysterious psychic next door and friends who come bearing gifts of their own, Alex embarks on his journey to change the future.


Emlyn Chand - What's In A Name?


What's in a Name? Our Characters' Names Matter. Here's How I Chose Mine
By Emlyn Chand

“What's in a name? That which we call a rose by any other name would smell as sweet.”
We all know the famous Shakespeare quote, but as writers and readers, do we agree with it? Would a rose really smell quite so sweet were it to be called a stank blossom or a goon-da-dabby? And how does this apply to the characters that populate our favorite fictional worlds? Should an author assign names to her characters willy-nilly, or is more thought required?

If you ask me, thinking is always a good thing. That being said, I spent hours poring over dozens of name options for the characters in Farsighted. Each moniker was carefully chosen and lovingly assigned. Now I’d like to share the meaning behind these names in this long overdue blog post.

Alex Kosmitoras
I changed Alex’s name three times while writing Farsighted, true story! Originally, his name was Connor Roy, and he had no proud Greek heritage to speak of. Connor is the name of my best friend’s fourteen year-old niece. She was the first person to really get excited by Farsighted, and I wanted to honor her by naming the main character after her. Unfortunately, it just didn’t fit. Connor Roy means “of the wolves, red.” Not super meaningful in the scheme of things.

When I changed the character’s name, I still wanted to pay homage, and so Connor Roy became Howie O’Connor. When short for Howell, the name means “seeing clearly.” Cute, huh? When short for Howard, it means “brave.” Both definitions suit the character, but I just couldn’t get over how Howie sounds like someone with a speech impediment trying to pronounce Harry (as in the boy who lived). Seriously, say Howie three times fast. You’ll see.

So I changed the name... again. Finally, I landed on Alex, meaning “defender of the people.” That just screams good guy, doesn’t it? I decided to go Greek instead of Irish to strengthen the connection to Tieresias, the blind Theban prophet who serves as the inspiration for this novel. I wanted a meaningful last name, so I got my Google Translate on and invented the name Kosmitoras. I like how it sounds like cosmic while still being thoroughly Greek. I won’t tell you what it means, though. That’s a secret for another day.

Simran “Simmi” Kaur Shergill
The name Simran is Punjabi, just like the character. It means “meditative chanting.” If you’ve read the story, you should be having a little light bulb moment now. :-D Kaur is the surname given to female Sikhs; whereas, Singh is reserved for men. Kaur is a marker of Simmi’s religion, just like her kara bracelet and long, uncut hair. Shergill is a Punjabi last name. The Hindi word sher means lion or tiger. And what can Simmi’s mother do? Oh, that’s right, she talks to animals.

Shapri Teak
Shapri is an alternate spelling of the name Shepry, meaning “friendly and honest mediator.” That’s a pretty cool name for someone who can talk to ghosts if you ask me. It’s also unique, just like our girl Shapri.

Miss Oleta Teak
Miss Teak, mystique. Get it? Yeah, that was a pretty obvious thing to do and kind of kitchy, but I just couldn’t help myself. Teak is an exotic wood, and both Shapri and her mother are described as smelling like nature. Oleta means “truth,” because sometimes I enjoy a bit of irony.

Dax LaFache
Dax is a super cool, underutilized name. It means “leader,” a point that will become important later in the series (cough, cough, spoiler alert). LaFache is yet again the product of Google Translate and my rampant imagination. It’s spun from the French f√Ęcher, “to make angry.” Dax is from a wealthy blue blood family in Long Island, New York. I totally see him as a sophisticated French guy. And, if you didn’t know already, yes, he has anger issues.

Brady Evans
Brady doesn’t mean anything important, technically it means “descendant Of Bradach.” I’ll be the first to admit, I chose this name simply because it sounded like a popular D-bag’s name--perfect for the school bully. I've never personally known anyone named Brady; I just went off stereotypes and my knee-jerk reaction to the name. Evans was tacked on because the two names sound good together. Evans can mean “son of Evan” or “young warrior.” Take your pick.

Greg Kosmitoras
Alex’s dad’s name is Greg. Greg is a Greek name, meaning “vigilant, watchful.” Think about it.

Susan Kosmitoras
Alex’s mother owns a floral shop. The name Susan means “lily.” It’s a cute tie in without being too overt. I could have just named her Lily or Rose or Bluebell, but I feel like I used my full kitchiness quotient when I came up with Miss Teak. Also Susan is a good, plain name consistent with the character’s upbringing in a homeschooling farm family.


Buy Now @ Amazon
Genre - Fantasy / Futuristic & Romance
Rating - PG13
More details about the author & the book


Connect with Emlyn Chand on Twitter & Facebook
Website http://www.emlynchand.com/

Thursday, July 19, 2012

Guest Post/Book Feature - Economics by Kersten L Kelly

Professional football players, corporate tobacco advertisers, volatile gasoline prices, and the Cold War all share an undetected commonality— each is an intrinsic part of economics.

Though not obvious to the naked eye, each entity shares a pattern with the others. This book helps to shed light on these mutual characteristics. It is an extensive
compilation of theories interpreted using supportive examples.

A person with a professional degree graduates from high school at age eighteen. At
an average of eight years to fully earn their education, the age they start a professional position is twenty-six. They must also factor in the debt of $150,000 that will have to be paid back for their education. If the person works the same number of hours per year and retires at the same age as a person with less than a high school diploma, the average lifetime earnings of a person with a professional degree is $3,115,080 after educational debt repayment. This is a 287 percent lifetime increase for an eight-year average investment in human capital. If that isn’t a worthwhile payout, I don’t know what is!

Economics is an enthralling science that encompasses our actions, thoughts, and emotional rationality every day in the unconscious. This book dissects economic theory into bite-size, entertaining snippets that anyone can understand and apply to their daily routines. It is a compelling depiction of history, business, pop culture, and social movements intertwined with relevant economic trends. Economics is part of daily life, and this book challenges readers to question how and why people make decisions by adding a simple twist on normalcy.


********GUEST POST********


When I first started writing as a kid, I never dreamed that I would be able to compose an entire book and actually publish it. The process seemed overwhelming and a massive undertaking, as it most definitely was. I began the writing process, and I found that I was writing little excerpts about economics that really interested me. Usually, I would encounter something in my life and think how economics played a large role in it. The majority of the time, these things seemed like they were unconnected to the naked eye. In particular, my interest in economics blossomed during my college years when I
actually started studying it for my degree.

I love economics, and I majored in it during my undergraduate work at Indiana University. As a student, many of the examples in my textbooks were irrelevant and made the subject one that many students did not enjoy. I wanted to change the negative connotations associated with the topic. I wanted to make it something that people understood and relished learning about. I want to shed light on economics as a topic for the average reader. I want them to realize that economics is not just graphs, charts, and theories. It can be applicable in almost any situation. The theories that I explain in the book are developed with multiple examples that readers can relate to. Purchasing gasoline is one of them, and education is another. It is amazing how economic theory can help to explain both.

I liked the ability to argue my opinions, compile them in a written publication, and have readers be able to communicate with me via my website and through reviews. There has been nothing more rewarding than working for a year to create a publication that people can pick up and read. I like the idea that someone else can read what I wrote and discuss it with others. I wanted people to be able to learn from what I wrote, so I took the chance and created the book.

The book is a unique compilation of examples of pop culture, history, social media, business, sports, and education all explained through an economic lens. It uses current market trends and examples that can be applicable and enjoyable for anyone. It is written in a narrative non-fiction format so it flows easily and does not read similarly to a textbook. Economics is part of daily life, and this book challenges
readers to question how and why people make decisions by adding a simple twist on normalcy.


Kersten L. Kelly is a self-published author of narrative non-fiction and semi-fiction books. She grew up in Indiana, and currently works in a sales role based out of Chicago, Illinois. Kersten started writing young and graduated from Indiana University with a dual Bachelor’s Degree in Economics & Communication & Culture. She then went on to earn a Master’s in Business Administration from the Kelley School of Business at Indiana University. She has a passion for learning, teaching, and writing as well as international travel in her spare time. This book is her first piece of published work.

Link List:

The link to the website is HERE
Twitter
Facebook
Amazon
Kindle
Barnes and Noble
CreateSpace
GoodReads
BooksAMillion

Sunday, July 15, 2012

Review - Hush Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick

Hush Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick
Released: Reprint edition (May 22, 2012)
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Age Group: Young Adult
Pages: 416 pages
Format: Paperback
Source: Bought
Rating: 5/5
Author Site: Becca Fitzpatrick
For Nora Grey, romance was not part of the plan. At least, not until Patch came along. With his easy smile and probing eyes, Nora is drawn to him against her better judgment. But after a series of terrifying encounters, Nora’s not sure who to trust—she can’t decide whether she should fall into Patch’s arms or run and hide from him. And when she tries to seek some answers, she finds herself near a truth more unsettling than any feeling Patch evokes. For Nora stands amid an ancient battle between the immortal and those who have fallen—and choosing the wrong side will cost her life.
This renewed my reading spirit! I have been in a slump for months now but Hush Hush kept me thougherly entertained with all the mystery and twists! I am totally pro Patch (Love Love Love Patch)! I really didn't fall for him at first because like Nora I felt he was a bit of an "arse" and full of himself but on the other hand his mysterious nature is what held me wondering what he was up to because every since he came into Nora's life it has been turned right side up and it appears danger is on every corner....

This was a really suspenseful story because even when the truth was before me I didn't want to believe it. I never dreamed I would enjoy Hush Hush as much as I did because I am not usually into Angelish books and I suppose that is why I held off so long on starting this series but oh my gosh Patch terrified me and made me want to swoon at the same time so I can only imagine the spell Nora was under for him.

And the ending....ohhhh (clutching heart) More Patch Please. I am totally going to be diggin up the next book!

Guest Post/Book Feature - God Loves You, Chester Blue by Suzanne Anderson

What if when you most needed help, a blue bear appeared with a note from God?

One night, Miss Millie of Blossom, Ohio turns her face to the stars and asks God for help. The next day, a package arrives on her doorstep containing a blue teddy bear and a very special note.

Over the course of a year, this remarkable blue bear travels across the country, showing up just when he’s needed most.

During his journey, Chester Blue helps a young girl trying to impress her big sisters; saves a sailor caught in a terrible storm; reunites two constantly fighting brothers; helps a cowboy become a rodeo clown; and aids a father and daughter in bonding after divorce.

If you ever needed a message from God, it's here...

What are your long-term and short-term writing goals?
by Suzanne Anderson


One of the best books I’ve read on goal setting is by Debbie Macomber’s Knit Together: Discover God's Pattern for Your Life. In this short, readable book, Debbie outlines how she has used goal setting throughout her writing career to keep herself moving forward. This has been essential in times of obstacles to help her persevere, and in times of success, to raise the bar. It’s one of my all-time favorite motivational books.

What I’ve learned about goal-setting from this book and others like it are a few simple but crucial rules about effective goal setting: 1) write down your goals. It doesn’t matter whether you ever look at them again or not, but write them, get them out of your head and onto paper…this gives them a greater reality. 2) revise your goals. As you accomplish your goals, create new ones, so that you always have a sense of forward momentum and accomplishment.

With the publication of my second book, God Loves You. –Chester Blue, and my first children’s book, I find myself re-evaluating what my writing goals will be going forward. Writing Chester Blue has made me realize how much I enjoy children’s literature and wish to add it to the genres that I will continue to write in the future. Knowing how much books meant to me when I was a young girl, deeply motivates me to provide that joy for a future young reader.

Short-term Goals: In the next twelve months…I want to re-write and self-publish the rest my unpublished ‘back list’, which includes five children’s books and two women’s novels.

Long-term Goals: I’ve got the beginnings of a romance-foodie three book series I’d like to write next. And beyond that distant horizon (let’s say the next 12 – 36 months) I’d love to try my hand at historical romance since I’ve become such a big fan of the genre.

Most of all, the ultimate achievement of all of these goals is to find readers who enjoy my work enough to keep reading each book that I produce. Which is exactly the other side of every writer’s coin….we come to this avocation because we feel a burning desire to share a story, or perform on the written page. But like any performance, an author finds their sweetest satisfaction in discovering that their story is enjoyed and shared by an audience of readers. And like any other performer, we are only as good as our last entrance onto the stage!



Buy Now @ Amazon
Genre - Religious / Historical Fiction
Rating - PG
More details about the author


Connect with Suzanne Anderson on
Twitter & Facebook & Pinterest
Check out where this author will be talking about her latest release!


Saturday, July 14, 2012

Product Review - Noxicare

Noxicare Natural Pain Relief is a breakthrough natural, patented pain relief formula that is a proprietary combination of 7 of the world’s most potent natural pain relievers that quickly and effectively alleviate inflammation, muscle aches and nerve pain—with NO known side effects and without a prescription.
I tried Noxicare on my knees mostly because when I sit for long periods of time or if I am first getting out of bed each day it's hard for me to get going because of the aches in that joint area. I am prone to have inflammation problems there and my ankles more than anyplace else and I was surprised at how lotion like the cream was going on. It wasn't pasty or greasy like alot of rub ons I have used in the past. I enjoyed the fact that it had very little if any smell to it as well because I hate when folks can "smell" what your wearing time you step in a room! As for easing my pains, yes it did get me up and moving around but the effect just was not long lasting enough. I would totally recommend Noxicare for anybody with minor aches/pains!

Noxicare has given me permission to have a giveaway of their product!


I received one or more of the products mentioned above for free using Tomoson.com. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.

Tuesday, July 10, 2012

Empty Net by Toni Aleo

Contemporary Sports Romance
Title: Empty Net (Assassins #3)
Author: Toni Aleo
Date to be Published: 9/10/12

Synopsis:
Definition of an Empty Net: When a team pulls the goalie for an extra attacker, desperately seeking a goal.

Audrey Parker was in a horrible place.
She hated her job, her sister was getting married and moving out, but worst of all, she was in love with a total
jerk. No matter what she did, every guy she met hurt her. All she wanted was her happily ever after. Her Prince
Charming. Her Lucas Brooks! She didn’t know how to change her life but she knew she needed too.
Feeling like she was about to hit rock bottom, Audrey wakes up next to Tate Odder.

Tate Odder had lost everything.
After being brought up from the Assassins’ farm team, the Florida Rays to the Nashville Assassins, Tate hopes
he’ll forget everything he has lost. He doesn’t. Each day gets harder to live in a place he doesn’t know. Even being
the first rookie goalie to shut out an opposing team three times during the Lord Stanly Cup Finals, he still felt
empty. With the loss of his parents and sister still heavy on his heart, Tate isn’t sure how to live like everything is
okay.

But when he wakes up beside Audrey Parker, things start to change. She turns his life upside down with her
kooky sense of humor and her bright clothing. She is intelligent and beautiful, and for once, he doesn’t feel
empty.

Will Audrey be the person to fill the holes in Tate’s heart, making him whole again?
Or will another player ruin everything, leaving him feeling forever like an empty net?

Author Bio:
I am a wife, mother, and hopeless romantic.
I have been told I have anger issues, but I think it’s cause of my intense love for hockey!

I am the biggest Shea Weber fan ever, and can be found during hockey season with my nose pressed against the Bridgestone Arena’s glass, watching my Nashville Predators play!

When my nose isn’t pressed against the glass, I enjoy going to my husband and son’s hockey games, my daughters dance competition, hanging with my best friends, taking pictures, and reading the latest romance novel.
I love things that sparkle, I love the color pink, and did I mention I love hockey?
Website
Facebook
Twitter: tonilovesweber6


Links to Buy (Will Be Available Upon Release)

Get the first 2 books in the series
Amazon
Barnes and Noble

Thursday, July 5, 2012

Summer Reads Giveaway Hop


Hosted by I Am A Reader Not A Writer and Rex Robot Reviews


My Giveaway is International as long as Book Depository will ship to you! Be sure to visit all the stops for more chances to win!


a Rafflecopter giveaway