Wednesday, July 1, 2020

Book Review - Someone Else's Secret by Julia Spiro

Someone Else's SecretSomeone Else's Secret by Julia Spiro

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Synopsis: 
 
Here’s the thing about secrets: they change shape over time, become blurry with memory, until the truth is nearly lost.

2009. Lindsey and Georgie have high hopes for their summer on Martha’s Vineyard. In the wake of the recession, ambitious college graduate Lindsey accepts a job as a nanny for an influential family who may help her land a position in Boston’s exclusive art world. Georgie, the eldest child in that family, is nearly fifteen and eager to find herself, dreaming of independence and yearning for first love.

Over the course of that formative summer, the two young women develop a close bond. Then, one night by the lighthouse, a shocking act occurs that ensnares them both in the throes of a terrible secret. Their budding friendship is shattered, and neither one can speak of what happened that night for ten long years.

Until now. Lindsey and Georgie must confront the past after all this time. Their quest for justice will require costly sacrifices, but it also might give them the closure they need to move on. All they know for sure is that when the truth is revealed, their lives will be forever changed once again.

From a fresh voice in fiction, this poignant and timely novel explores the strength and nuance of female friendship, the cost of ambition, and the courage it takes to speak the truth.


My Thoughts: Let me begin by saying this is truly a good story but it is very slow on the takeoff. When I say slow I mean very slow! Almost like nothing really starts picking up until well over halfway into the book! I actually couldn't stand any, not one single character, until that point.

Lindsey irritated me more than any of the rest though with her shallowness. I formed a strong dislike to her at her college graduation when she kept acting so ashamed of her hard working parents being there when all the other students parents were so rich and privelged like persons. I mean really them folks gave her life and abundant love and bent over backwards so she could accomplish going to that prestigious college and all in the first place and her act like that? She was just so whiny and poor me ain't got no job for the summer and I'm gonna have to move back home with my parents and then gets offered this nanny position with an upscale family at Martha's Vineyard and it's like she's been slapped in the face because it wasn't the type job she wanted!

Georgie the oldest child in that family is just getting to that age of exploration of new things, and wanting to make her own money, and falling in love for the first time and so on and is embarrassed for folks to know she has a nanny but her and Lindsey do eventually form a nice relationship until something so earth shattering happens that leaves them not speaking to one another for ten years which is the point the story really kicks off and I didn't want to put the book down.

*I was provided a copy of this story in exchange for an honest review.



View all my reviews

Book Tour - A Sprinkling of Murder by Daryl Wood Gerber


Sprinkling Of Murder (A Fairy Garden Mystery)
by Daryl Wood Gerber

About A Sprinkling of Murder


Sprinkling Of Murder (A Fairy Garden Mystery)
Cozy Mystery
1st in Series
Publisher: Kensington (June 30, 2020)
Paperback: 304 pages
ISBN-10: 1496726340
ISBN-13: 978-1496726346
Kindle ASIN: B07W8Y4D6R

Fairy garden store owner Courtney Kelly believes in inviting magic into your life. But when uninvited trouble enters her shop, she’ll need more than a sprinkling of her imagination to solve a murder . . .

Since childhood, Courtney has loved fairies. After her mother died when she was ten, she lost touch with that feeling of magic. A year ago, at age twenty-nine, she rediscovered it when she left her father's landscaping business to spread her wings and start a fairy garden business and teashop in beautiful Carmel, California. At Open Your Imagination, she teaches garden design and sells everything from fairy figurines to tinkling wind chimes and trickling fountains. Now she's starting a book club tea.

But the light of the magical world she's created inside her shop is darkened one night when she discovers neighboring dog-grooming business owner Mick Watkins dead beside a fountain. To make matters worse, the police suspect Courtney of the crime. To clear her name and find the real killer, Courtney will have to wing it. But she’s about to get a little help from an unexpected new friend . . .

About Daryl Wood Gerber


Agatha Award-winning author Daryl Wood Gerber writes the nationally bestselling Cookbook Nook Mysteries as well as the French Bistro Mysteries. In June 2020, her new series, the Fairy Garden Mysteries debuts. As Avery Aames, she pens the popular Cheese Shop Mysteries. Daryl also writes the Aspen Adams novels of suspense as well as stand-alone suspense. Fun tidbit: as an actress, Daryl appeared in “Murder, She Wrote.” She loves to cook, garden, and read, and she has a frisky Goldendoodle named Sparky who keeps her in line!


Author Links

WEBSITE: http://www.darylwoodgerber.com

FACEBOOK: http://facebook.com/darylwoodgerber

TWITTER: http://twitter.com/darylwoodgerber

BOOKBUB: http://bookbub.com/authors/daryl-wood-gerber

YOUTUBE: http://youtube.com/woodgerb1

INSTAGRAM: http://instagram.com/darylwoodgerber

PINTEREST: http://pinterest.com/darylwoodgerber

GOODREADS: http://goodreads.com/darylwoodgerber



AMAZON: http://bit.ly/Daryl_Wood_Gerber_page

Purchase Links - Amazon - B&N -

a Rafflecopter giveaway


TOUR PARTICIPANTS

June 29 – Celticlady's Reviews – SPOTLIGHT

June 29 – The Cozy Pages – REVIEW

June 29 – Angel's Guilty Pleasures – SPOTLIGHT

June 29 – Books a Plenty Book Reviews – REVIEW, GUEST POST

June 29 – Literary Gold – SPOTLIGHT

June 30 - Mysteries with Character – AUTHOR INTERVIEW

June 30 - I'm All About Books – SPOTLIGHT

June 30 - Cozy Up With Kathy – REVIEW, RECIPE

June 30 - A Chick Who Reads – REVIEW

June 30 - Moonlight Rendezvous – REVIEW, GUEST POST

July 1 – Hearts & Scribbles – SPOTLIGHT

July 1 – Brooke Blogs – REVIEW

July 1 – The Avid Reader – REVIEW

July 1 – Gimme The Scoop Reviews – SPOTLIGHT

July 2 – MJB Reviewers – REVIEW

July 2 – Sneaky the Library Cat's Blog – CHARACTER INTERVIEW

July 2 – This Is My Truth Now – REVIEW

July 2 – Christy's Cozy Corners – REVIEW

July 2 – The Book's the Thing – REVIEW

July 3 – Sapphyria's Books – REVIEW

July 3 – Melina's Book Blog – REVIEW

July 3 – A Holland Reads – REVIEW

July 3 – Ascroft, eh? – AUTHOR INTERVIEW

July 3 – The Self-Rescue Princess – CHARACTER INTERVIEW


Have you signed up to be a Tour Host?




Tuesday, June 30, 2020

Book Review - Her Last Flight by Beatriz Williams

Her Last FlightHer Last Flight by Beatriz Williams
Release Date June 30, 2020

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Synopsis: In 1947, photographer and war correspondent Janey Everett arrives at a remote surfing village on the Hawaiian island of Kauai to research a planned biography of forgotten aviation pioneer Sam Mallory, who joined the loyalist forces in the Spanish Civil War and never returned. Obsessed with Sam’s fate, Janey has tracked down Irene Lindquist, the owner of a local island-hopping airline, whom she believes might actually be the legendary Irene Foster, Mallory’s onetime student and flying partner. Foster’s disappearance during a round-the-world flight in 1937 remains one of the world’s greatest unsolved mysteries.

At first, the flinty Mrs. Lindquist denies any connection to Foster. But Janey informs her that the wreck of Sam Mallory’s airplane has recently been discovered in a Spanish desert, and piece by piece, the details of Foster’s extraordinary life emerge: from the beginnings of her flying career in Southern California, to her complicated, passionate relationship with Mallory, to the collapse of her marriage to her aggressive career manager, the publishing scion George Morrow.

As Irene spins her tale to its searing conclusion, Janey’s past gathers its own power. The duel between the two women takes a heart stopping turn. To whom does Mallory rightfully belong? Can we ever come to terms with the loss of those we love, and the lives we might have lived?


My Thoughts: Wow is an understatement to the magnificence of this story! This was so far away from my normal reading genre and I loved it! I didn't have high hopes going in because of this not being my norm but found that I actually enjoyed learning about the planes and flying and it did bring back memories of when I was younger how I used to dream of being in the Air Force so I could jump from planes. I tend of dreaming of things closer to land now a days!

The characters were well chiseled out and I loved how the story kept jumping between the two ladies and their snarkiness and dual timelines. It was put together remarkably and wasn't confusing as I would have thought. I read in awe of the story behind Sam Mallory's life and disappearance and hated for it to come to a close!

A story of love, loss, flight, and so much more!

I was given a copy in exchange for an honest review.



View all my reviews

Wednesday, June 24, 2020

Book Review - Mason's Gray by Geri Goodwin

Mason's GrayMason's Gray by Geri' Goodwin

My rating: 5 of 5 stars


Synopsis: Impossible To Resist...
Rock Icon, Brody Mason, steers clear from commitment at all costs. When an unforeseen accident draws him to the new neighbor, Morgan Gray, he finds her impossible to resist. His stubborn attitude and playboy ways will not be enough to keep the barriers from faltering.
Two strangers, two completely different lives meld together. Fate or coincidence? Either way, love found them when they weren't looking for it.



My Thoughts: I can't believe this was a debut! So so good!

A quick, short, and really fun read that I gobbled up in one sitting! I think I really related better to Mason's Gray than a good many other romance stories because the main characters were older folks, empty nesters so to speak, who weren't even really looking for romance but it sort of landed in their laps once their paths crossed.

This story was full of comedy and intimate moments lurking on the pages and was a joy to read with one of my most favorite moments being when Morgan's children came to visit and realized by accident not only was their mother dating but whom it was she had been dating! It was already a fun read but once all the kids, hers and his, were tossed in, it was a whole new kind of fun!

*I was provided a copy for an honest review.

Find Your Copy Here

View all my reviews

Tuesday, June 23, 2020

Audio Book Tour - Edgar Audio Book by David Beem




EDGER – audio book 
by David Beem

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

GENRE: Comedy, Action/Adventure

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

BLURB:

Meet Edger (Ed-jer), a twenty-six-year-old gadget retail dork destined to become the world’s first superhero! His superpower: the ability to channel the Collective Unconscious, a psychic network connecting the living and the dead. In his arsenal are the skills of Bruce Lee, the strength of Samson, the wisdom of the ages...and the dancing chops of Michael Jackson—including that one twisty foot move, crotch grab, and fedora tilt. But there's a catch... Like every psychic super power to get administered through a hypodermic needle, this one comes with a prick. Someone seems to have misplaced the booster necessary for stabilizing his superpower. Without it, Edger has three days before his brain turns to pudding. Join our Dork of Destiny as he overcomes the world’s greatest butt, two rival Cluck-n-Pray gangs, an evil cow, a Green Bay Defensive Tackle, rifle-toting assassins—and a pair of stoners who inadvertently create the world’s first supervillain after a wild night on Twitter!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Excerpt

Water and glass shower the dance floor. Needle scratches vinyl. Hattori Hanzo seizes control of my body and I land with the grace of a ninja. Mary, who has no dead ninja in her head, thuds with the grace of a turkey carcass dropped from the Level Two parapet of Westfield Horton Plaza.

“Kill them!” someone yells.

“Don’t kill them!” I yell back, figuring that’s got to be worth a try.

Panic ensues. Screaming people run and duck for cover. Shots are fired. A bullet ricochets off a larger-than-life phosphorescent wallpaper image of Caleb’s crotch. I seize control of my body from Hanzo, grab Mary, and drag her behind a nearby couch.

More gunfire.

I chance a peek. Real life Caleb Montana is near the front door, exchanging shots with two Nostradamus agents behind a life-sized statue of Caleb in his quarterback uniform, one arm cocked back preparing to pass the football, and the other stretched out in front, pointing.

I round on Mary, who flings her wet hair back like a Sports Illustrated swimsuit model. Water sprays my visor.

“Cut me loose.”

“Right, right,” I say, feeling around on my utility belt. Jeez, I’ve never tried to locate anything without someone helping me from the Collective Unconscious. There are a lot of things here. I pull a tiny ball out—it grows into a switchblade-shaped object. Seems promising. I flick it on. Blue flame blows out from the end.

“Holy crap!”

“Come on, quit fooling round.”

“Don’t rush me! Do you have any idea how stressful this is?”

“Come on,” she says, her voice husky.

“There’s like, fifty thousand things on this belt, and they all look the same.”

“Just calm down.”

“You never see Batman having this problem is all I’m saying.”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~


 From The Author: 





Beginnings:
Books that Start with a Bang!
By David Beem

The Cow in the Porn Store. The Russian Hooker. Mission Unfathomable. These are three prologue titles pulled from my action comedy trilogy, Edger, Edger Lives, and Edger Forever.
Have I got a thing for crude humor? No, not especially. You could say I’ve got a thing for arresting beginnings. Things memorable. Things with implicit questions.
Why is there a cow in a porn store?
Who is the Russian hooker?
What is the unfathomable mission?
Good writing is built on suspense, and suspense is built on implicit questions. (And, conveniently for the writer, implicit questions also have a way of getting pages turned.)
Edger begins with the curious presence of a cow grazing in the middle of the El Cerrito Adult Emporium. What it’s doing there is the question, but the scene also poses other implicit questions. There’s the man in diving flippers crashing over the lingerie rack in Aisle Two before firing a dart into the cow’s butt… There’s the thief in Aisle Ten getting away with a blowup sex doll… There’s the terrified owner of the store second-guessing his decision to stock those DVDs titled: Graze Anatomy, Bovine Beauties, and I Think I’m in Love with Moo…
Of course, how these elements tie together (and how they supply the book’s through line) is the reason we read. Arresting openers must arrest, after all. Rope readers in from wherever they are, whatever they’ve been doing, and pause their lives long enough to figure out just a little bit more of what’s going on in your story. Oftentimes this means thwarting expectations. The Cow in the Porn store is a reworking of the classic “wrong place, wrong time” trope. In Edger Forever, readers will recognize the classic Mission Impossible “dangling on a wire in a vault” trope—but the thwarted expectations are found in the who. (Two stoners “as fully baked as a golden baklava placed on the center rack at 350 degrees for forty to forty-five minutes.” What are they doing there? What are the stealing? Why are they stealing it?)
There a zillion ways to write great, arresting openers. What are some of your all-time favorites? Are you an author? What tips do you have for other authors? Sound off in the comments below!


~~~~~~~~~~~~~
AUTHOR Bio and Links:

David Beem loves superhero movies, taekwondo, and flossing. He lives in Djibouti with his family and crippling self-doubt. To help actualize David’s inner confidence, visit his website and buy all the stuff: www.davidbeem.com

Amazon author page: https://www.amazon.com/David-Beem/e/B005M4NEYI/

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

David Beem will be awarding a $10 Amazon or BN GC to one randomly drawn commenter via Rafflecopter.


a Rafflecopter giveaway