Tuesday, December 1, 2020

Book Tour/Giveaway - Haunting in Old Tailem by Janice Tremayne


HAUNTING IN OLD TAILEM by Janice Tremayne 

 ~~~~~~~~~~~~~ 

 GENRE: Supernatural suspense, horror 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~  


BLURB: An Australian Ghost town. A resident demon and a local Shaman. A confrontation with evil awaits. 

Clarisse realizes that running from evil is not a bad idea until you figure out you can't hide. When some ghosts get tired of hanging around, they latch onto you. At the centre of the war on evil is a historic Church that carries dark secrets within its walls. After she meets with the local Shaman, Clarisse discovers secrets with evil consequences by digging too deep into the town’s past. When matters become complicated, she visits a circus of young performers on the outskirts of town triggering unexpected paranormal events and unleashing memories of a one-hundred-year curse. After being caught in the crossfire of a battle for evil supremacy, Clarisse confronts Little Charlie as he rallies the town's ghosts into an impeccable evil stronghold. 

Can the local Shaman and townsfolk rally in her quest to defeat the evil incarnate or will the town succumb to Little Charlie and his evil crew? 

Haunting in Old Tailem is the third book of the Haunting Clarisse Series. If you like spine-tingling, chilling, creepy and spooky supernatural thrillers, then you will love this story by 2020 USA Readers' Favorite International Book Awards Finalist in Supernatural Fiction, Janice Tremayne. Pick up your copy today and follow Clarisse through her battles with evil!

 ~~~~~~~~~~~~~ 

 Excerpt: He hung with the rope around his neck, his tongue sticking out with a red-starved oxygen face. At the same time, he was smiling as though he was only having fun. Death was a reenactment that he had become accustomed to, to the point he thought it funny; a way of horrifying others and making them pay attention. He had a young mind—innocent and conditioned to get the attention of others. Little Charlie didn’t know whether he was dead or alive; far too young to understand. As far as he was concerned, tying a loop around his neck, jumping, and choking to death made him realize he felt no pain. He could do it over and over again. 

Clarisse knew from her encounter in Hartley that Little Charlie was an attention seeker and someone who liked to cling onto you. That could explain how he had ended up in Old Tailem Town. Running away from evil might seem like a good idea at the time, but you could not hide. 

 “Come over here, Little Charlie. There is nothing to be afraid of,” she said. He replied with a cheeky grin on his boyish face. His mousy brown hair thrown from side to side, he signaled with his right index finger, waving it left to right many times. “Nuh-uh,” he mimed, his way of saying no. 

 ~~~~~~~~~~~~~ 


 AUTHOR Bio and Links: Janice Tremayne is an Amazon bestselling and award-winning ghost and supernatural writer. Janice is a finalist in the Readers' Favorite 2020 International Book Awards in Fiction-Supernatural. 

 She is an emerging Australian author who lives with her family in Melbourne. Her recent publication, Haunting in Hartley, reached number one on the Amazon kindle ranking for Occult, Supernatural, and Ghosts and Haunted Houses categories, for hot new releases and bestsellers. 

Janice is well-versed in her cultural superstitions and how they influence daily life and customs. She has developed a passion and style for writing ghost and supernatural novels for new adult readers. 

The concept of writing the Haunting Clarisse series was spawned over a cup of coffee many years ago, and she has not looked back since. Her books contain heart-thumping, bone-chilling, and thought-provoking ghost and paranormal experiences that deliver a new twist to every tale. 

www.janicetremayne.com.au 

author@janicetremayne.com 

https://www.facebook.com/hauntingclarisse 

Book Video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JCj4DGrx7VA 

Buy the series: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B08HGPL2G5 

Buy Haunting in Old Tailem: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B08B524JNW 

 ~~~~~~~~~~~~~ 

 a print copy of the book to two randomly drawn winners 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Wednesday, November 25, 2020

Book Review/Giveaway - Who Are Our Heros by Eliana Melmed

 

I am thrilled to be hosting a spot on the WHO ARE OUR HEROES? by Eliana Melmed Blog Tour hosted by Rockstar Book Tours. Check out my post and make sure to enter the giveaway!

 

About The Book:

Title: WHO ARE OUR HEROES?

Author: Eliana Melmed, Amy Tian (Illustrator)

Pub. Date: May 8, 2020

Publisher: Eliana Melmed

Formats: Paperback, eBook

Pages: 29

Find it:  GoodreadsAmazonKindle, TBDBookshop.org

Read for FREE on Kindle Unlimited!

 

This timely, rhyming picture book highlights the everyday heroes who make it possible for society to continue to function during this time of crisis – including diverse representations of mail carriers, teachers, grocery store workers, doctors, truck drivers, maintenance staff, and caretakers. The story ends with a reminder that when children wash their hands and follow pandemic guidelines, they themselves are heroes, too. Written from the perspective of a young child spending time indoors, the story focuses on the incredible individuals who continue to contribute their time, effort, and resources to ensure that life can continue to go on. With beautiful, hand-drawn illustrations offset with large-print text, this story is a must-read for all ages.

 

 

My Thoughts: Such a wonderful book written from a kids perspective explaining how everybody can be a hero in their own way or profession from a child to the postman truck drivers and so on. Loved the illustrations as well as the message!

 

About the Author: 

Eliana Melmed, Author

Eliana is a senior at the University of Chicago studying Public Policy with a minor in Media, Arts, and Design. She's loved reading and writing since she can remember and has journaled nightly for almost ten years! In her free time, she likes making lists in her bullet-journal and organizing things into small containers. When she's not walking backwards giving campus tours as a Junior Admissions Counselor, you can find her working as an events and student life photographer, preparing for the Moot Court oral advocacy competition, or fiddling around on the violin. She hopes that her book inspires children and adults alike to spend a little bit more time recognizing and thanking their heroes.

Website | Facebbok | Instagram | Goodreads | Amazon



Amy Tian, Illustrator

Amy is a senior at the University of Chicago studying Biology and Public Policy. She picked up a paintbrush when she was 6 years old and she hasn't looked back since. Her dream is to blend science, art, and policy together to create a more sustainable world for people and the planet. Through painting, photography, and digital design, she hopes to inspire public action to do good. Her work has been exhibited in Chicago, Michigan, and Washington D.C.

Instagram

 



Giveaway Details:

1 winner will win a signed copies of the WHO ARE OUR HEROES?, US Only.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tour Schedule:

Week One:

11/23/2020

Two Chicks on Books

Excerpt/Guest Post

11/23/2020

JaimeRockstarBookTours

Instagram Post

11/24/2020

BookHounds YA

Excerpt/Guest Post

11/24/2020

BookHounds YA

Instagram Post

11/25/2020

Gimme The Scoop Reviews

Review

11/25/2020

gimmethescoopreviews

Instagram Post

11/26/2020

booksaremagictoo

Review

11/26/2020

booksaremagictoo

Instagram Post

11/27/2020

For the Love of KidLit

Guest Post/Excerpt

11/27/2020

Little Red Reads

Review

 

Week Two:

11/30/2020

Jotted by Jena

Review

11/30/2020

@Fictitious.fox

Review

12/1/2020

The Momma Spot

Review

12/1/2020

The Momma Spot

Instagram Post

12/1/2020

Future Bookworms

Instagram Post

12/2/2020

She Just Loves Books

Review

12/2/2020

She Just Loves Books

Instagram Post

12/3/2020

Jenguerdy

Review/Instagram Stop

12/3/2020

Rajiv's Reviews

Review

12/4/2020

Nerdophiles

Review

12/4/2020

Allie_reads95

Review/Instagram Stop


Tuesday, November 24, 2020

Book Tour/Giveaway - Lovers, Players, Seducer - The Betrayal of Nicholas La Cour by J. A. Jackson

 


 

Lovers, Players, Seducer - The Betrayal of Nicholas La Cour by J. A. Jackson 

 ~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 GENRE: Romance 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~  


BLURB: Nicholas La Cour never expected to be betrayed. Convicted of a crime he didn’t commit; it is only luck that proves his innocence. Maëlle has always had a thing for bad boy Nicholas… …and Nicholas has always had a thing for trouble. After Nicholas left her at the altar, Maëlle wasn’t sure her heart would ever heal. The wounds of the past run deep for both of them. But despite their drama-filled past, their chemistry defies logic and burns hotter than ever. As sparks fly and Maelle and Nicholas have the chance to reunite, will Nicholas sabotage their chance for happiness with his plans for revenge? Or will he finally focus on what truly matters? Can they make love grow this time around? Something both of them aren’t sure they can do… A Betrayed man, a bride left at the altar, and a plan for revenge. Dive into the complex world of Nicholas in Book III of J. A. Jackson’s Lovers, Players The Seducer series and discover if love can transform even the best-laid plans? 

 ~~~~~~~~~~~~~  

Excerpt: “So, talk to me Lacey. Tell me how you felt in that courtroom? I’m here to listen.” Lacey looked back at Maëlle’s eyes and seeing the trust staring back at her. She hadn’t meant to be so abrupt with her. She had known the feelings had always been there lurking, waiting. She hadn’t felt at ease enough to talk about them. She took a deep breath. “You are right Maëlle, maybe I do need to talk about it,” her voice softened. “Of course, you do. I’m here for you,” Maëlle pleaded. “Please talk to me Lacey.” 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~  


AUTHOR Bio and Links: J.A. Jackson is the pseudonym for an author, who loves to write deliciously sultry adult romantic, suspenseful, entertaining novels with a unique twist. She lives in an enchanted little house she calls home in the Northern California foothills. Her love for cooking and writing come from her Southern roots of Louisiana and Arkansas. She isa member of South Bay Writers Association, Yosemite Romance Writers and Romance Writers of America (RWA). 

Twitter: https://twitter.com/jerreece 

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Jerreece-Ann-Jackson/204377496289139?ref=hl 

Blog: http://jerreeceannjackson.blogspot.com 

Author Central: https://www.amazon.com/author/jajackson 

Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/jerreece1/boards/ 

Instragram; https://www.instagram.com/jerreece4559/ 

https://unsplash.com/@j_a_jackson_author 

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7515379.J_A_Jackson 

Medium: https://medium.com/@jerreecejackson 

Mailchimp: https://mailchi.mp/1be4f2939d63/author-j-a-jackson-aka-jerreece 

Linkedin: https://www.linkedin.com/in/jerreece-jackson-1657853

Instragram: https://www.instagram.com/jerreece4559/ 

Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B08DV9SL23/ 

The book will be $0.99. 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~ 

 J. A. Jackson will be awarding a $15 Amazon or Barnes and Noble GC and 8 Kindle Ebook copies of Lovers, Players, Seducer Book III The Betrayal of NicholasLa Cour to randomly drawn winners via rafflecopter during the tour.

 a Rafflecopter giveaway

Wednesday, November 18, 2020

Book Review/Giveaway - Silent Scream by Marcia Colette

 

Silent Scream by Marcia Colette 

 ~~~~~~~~~~~~~  

GENRE: YA Paranormal 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~  


BLURB: Psychokinetic teen Phaedra Thorne is back! Her life consists of balancing her high school and college courses while trying to keep the peace between her older brother Kurt and little sister Nadia. On top of that, their schizophrenic and psychokinetic mom remains locked away in the attic. Believe it or not, things are better than they have ever been. 

Those "better times" go up in flames when the only sanctuary the Thornes have ever known--their home--is burnt to the ground. With Kurt severely injured and their mother missing, Phae and Nadia have been left in the hands of the supernatural foster care system. Just as the Thorne sisters start to settle in with her temporary family, a blast from their horrific past comes to their foreboding rescue. Phae has good reason to be apprehensive about the new arrangements, considering many supernaturals want to buy the burnt out husk of a home and have taken a liking to her psychokinesis and Nadia's uncanny prowess. There's only one thing Phae can do. Find their mother.

 Having been kidnapped, assaulted, and sold to the highest bidder, Phae will have to learn how to trust other members of her estranged family, if she has any hopes of saving the immediate one she loves. ~~~~~~~~~~~~~  

Excerpt: Kurt smashed in the bedroom door just as I pulled Nadia out of bed and into my arms. We only kept the door locked out of fear that mom might sneak out of the attic at night. It wasn’t much of a barrier, but we hoped it would be enough to wake us before she tore into the room if it came to that. 

“Take her.” I tried to hand my frightened little sister off to him. “I’ll get mom.” 

 “No.” Shaking his head, he grabbed my elbow and guided both of us out the broken door. “You two get out of here. I’m going after mom.” 

 “You’re insane.” I coughed as the smoke thickened. Tears burned my eyes. Crackling came from overhead like the roof was on fire. “You don’t have your powers anymore. Mine may be out of control, but at least, they have the twisted tendency to work in my favor.” 

 “Look around you, Phae. The last thing we need is anything else out of control. Now, get Nadia out of here!” He shoved me toward the stairs before taking off toward the attic trapdoor. 

More cursing went through my brain, but he was right. I had to get our little sister out. I patted her back as she coughed and cried against my shoulder. 

Instead of fleeing, I went back into the room and found my satchel and my purse in the chair where I had left them. 

 ~~~~~~~~~~~~~ 

My Thoughts:   This was a strange but highly enjoyable story. I quickly became immersed in the characters and the awesome world built around them.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 AUTHOR Bio and Links: I'm Marcia Colette and I love to write urban fantasy, YA, horror, and paranormal romance. Since I was never a voracious reader until later in life, I try to write stories that I like to read, and for readers who don't have a lot of time in their busy lives. 

 My first published novel started with Half Breed (formerly known as Stripped) and my fantasy life took off from there. My next novel was a paranormal romance entitled Unstable Environment and I also released Bittersweet (YA), Hazardous Environment (Paranormal Romance), The Spider Inside Her (Urban Fantasy), and Deadlier by the Dozen (Urban Fantasy). I have sold several short stories and novellas to Mocha Memoirs Press and I continued my Alexa York series with Purple Sword Publications. 

 When I'm not reading or writing, I live my best life in the real world as an IT Manager and enjoy getting into trouble with my manga-loving daughter. I can't draw, so she's out of luck with that one. However, I always write a little piece of her into each of my characters. And before I forget, I also write science fiction under another pen name. 

Links Website: www.marciacolette.com 

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/marciacolette

Twitter: https://twitter.com/marciacolette 

Blog: https://marciacolette.wordpress.com/ 

My books on Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B08K7NPYMN 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~ 

 Marcia Colette will be awarding a $15 Amazon/BN GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour. 

RAFFLECOPTER: a Rafflecopter giveaway

Book Tour/Giveaway - The Buddha and the Bee by Cory Mortensen


The Buddha and the Bee: Biking through America's Forgotten Roadways on a Journey of Discovery by Cory Mortensen 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~  

GENRE: Memoir 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~  


BLURB: Life-Changing Journey... ...

But this is NOT a typical blah-blah-blah memoir 

Planning is for sissies. A solo bike ride across the country will be filled with sunshine, lollipops, rainbows, and 80 degree temps every day, right? Not so much. The Great Plains, Rocky Mountains, an alkaline desert, and the Sierra Nevadas lay miles and days ahead. Disappointment with unrealized potential, and the thirst for what’s next drew farther away in the rotating wide-angle shockproof convex rear-view mirror. 

 "I will ride my bike down a never-ending ribbon of asphalt wearing a backpack." 

 Cory Mortensen began his bike ride across the United States from Chaska, Minnesota, to Truckee, California, without a route, a timeline, or proper equipment. Along the way, he gained more than technical skills required for a ride that would test every fiber of his physical being and mental toughness. Ride along as he meets “unusual” characters, dangerous animals, and sweet little old ladies with a serious vendetta for strangers in their town. 

Humor ■ Insight ■ Adventure ■ Gratitude ■ Peace 

 From long stretches of road ending in a vanishing point at the distant horizon, to stunning vistas, terrifying close calls, grueling conditions, failed equipment, and joyous milestones he stayed the course and gained an appreciation for the beauty of the land, the genius of engineering and marvel of nature. 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~  

Excerpt: 

CHAPTER 7 DAY SEVEN AUGUST 28, 2001 

 Today’s Ride: Ogallala, Nebraska - Sterling, Colorado Today’s Distance: 90 Miles 

Though the Oregon Trail Motel didn’t offer breakfast, it did have coffee and a stack of foam cups in the front office. 

 I wasn’t that hungry, still pretty bloated from the beer, noodles, and MSG I had for dinner. 

Hanging around the motel sipping cups of watered-down coffee, watching as the sun rose over the dusty town, bustling with early morning activity, I waited for the coffee to do its trick before checking out. 

When nature called, I preferred a bathroom with an abundant amount of toilet paper over squatting behind a tree. I waited on the curb outside my door. 

Perhaps a conversation regarding bowel movements wasn’t classy this early in the morning, but real nonetheless. When you found yourself reading a book about someone biking cross-country, you might otherwise ask yourself: Where did they go to the bathroom whilst out on the open road? 

If the sudden need to shit arose on the road, you could only hope there was a bush, tree, or berm to hide behind. The other option was to keep walking as far away from the road as you could until you were out of sight, or at least blurry. Of course, without the proper equipment (toilet paper), things could get messy. You might find yourself sacrificing a sock. Personally, I had a dresser drawer of mismatched cycling socks at home. 

Public options, if you were lucky enough to be in a town or city when things started moving, were:

 Restaurants: Now, I would stay clear of anything fancier than a Cracker Barrel. The best were fast food joints, as the bathrooms were typically really clean and out of sight of the counter (so you could get in and out without running into an employee). 

Truck Stops: If you came across one of those truck stop fortresses like a BP or Bosselman, take it. Nobody would give you two looks, even if you were dressed in Lycra. The bathrooms were surprisingly clean, and there was typically an abundance of stalls. 

Gas Stations: You knew you were in trouble when you asked the attendant for a key and he said the bathroom was outside around back. Check to see if there was any toilet paper in the room before starting. You might find rust stains on the sink and toilets surrounded by a lake of urine. The whole process would become an exercise in squatting. By no means did you want to make any sort of physical contact with anything in that room. Lift the seat with your shoe, flush the toilet with a hand wrapped liberally with a paper towel. It was probably best to find a tree. 

So, you could see why I opted to wait before I left Ogallala.

 ~~~~~~~~~~~~~


 

AUTHOR Bio and Links: Cory Mortensen has ridden his collection of bicycles over a million miles of asphalt, dirt, mud, and backroads. In addition to the cross-country journey detailed in this book, he has traveled to over fifty-five countries, cycled from Minneapolis to Colorado solo to raise money for children born with congenital heart defects. He’s completed sixteen marathons on five continents, and survived three days of running with the bulls in Spain. 

Cory is a certified Advanced PADI diver, and has enjoyed taking in life under the waves in locations all over the world. In 2003, he took time off from roaming, and accidentally started and built a company which he sold in 2013. That same year he married his best friend and explored the state of Texas for two years. The couple sold everything they owned, jumped on a plane to Ecuador and volunteered, trekked, and explored South America for sixteen months before returning to Phoenix, Arizona, where he works as a consultant and is soon to be a bestselling author. 

 The Buddha and the Bee is his first memoir in which he shares how a two month leave of absence redefined his life’s trajectory of sitting behind a desk and his decision to break society’s chains so he could live life on his terms. 

Website: www.TheBuddhaAndTheBee.com 

Twitter: www.twitter.com/BuddhaAndTheBee 

Facebook: www.facebook.com/CoryMortensenAuthor 

Instagram: www.instagram.com/CoryMortensenAuthor/ 

Buy the book links Amazon Hardcover: https://www.amazon.com/Buddha-Bee-Cory-Mortensen/dp/1735498114 

 Paperback: https://www.amazon.com/dp/1735498122 

 Kindle: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B08FLLBBP9 

Indiebound Hardcover: https://www.indiebound.org/book/9781735498119 

Paperback: https://www.indiebound.org/book/9781735498126 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~ 

One randomly chosen winner via rafflecopter will win a $50 Amazon/BN.com gift card. 

 a Rafflecopter giveaway