Monday, June 30, 2014

Giveaway/Review Petbrosia Dog and Cat Food

Anybody that knows my 2 babies can see they are totally overweight and pampered as can be. So when I got the chance to try out this product I jumped at the opportunity to try to find something healthy for my doggies and get them on a better "diet" and exercise routine. I have some very very finicky dogs so the first couple of days did not go well with it. We're told to introduce the new feed to them a little at a time mixed in with their usual brand but they are so smart-alecky! They just eat around the new stuff and grab for what they are used to eating.

It's been five or six days now and there is still only a slight change in their behavior. One seems to not like it at all and wont touch it while the other one is like hey it's okay but can I still have a bit of my regular kibble please? I'm going to keep trying to slip it in here and there. Maybe I am just overly anxious and expecting too much too soon. On a side note one of our cats snuck in and when we saw her she was munching down on it like nobody's business!

Here is what our particular blend looks like:

Read on for a better understanding of what Petbrosia is and enter the giveaway to try a 3 pound bag of your choice of dog or cat food!

What is Petbrosia? Petbrosia determines the right Petbrosia diet for your dog or cat based on their breed, age, weight, food allergies, activity level, and other needs you feel should be brought to our attention. At Petbrosia, we believe that feeding your pet the very best dog food and the very best cat food begins with all-natural meats, fruits, and vegetables

What are the benefits of our NEW Grain-Free Salmon?
• Salmon is an excellent source of vitamins, essential fatty acids, and protein, and can be a great meat alternative for senior dogs and dogs with food allergies or sensitivities.
• Our Grain-Free Salmon is truly a single protein formula.
• Added L-Carnitine, helps the body utilize fat for energy while maintaining the lean muscle mass which helps reduce the overall body fat.

• Benefits of Salmon for Dogs:
• Feeding Your Chihuahua:
• Petbrosia’s dog food delivery program:
• Understanding our approach to designing the best dog food:
• Guide to switching your pet’s food:
• Dog Food Comparison:

Purchase at Petbrosia

Get $10 off your First Purchase of Petbrosia Pet Foods by entering the promotional code: BRL10

a Rafflecopter giveaway

I received one or more of the products mentioned above for free using Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.

Cover Reveal - Skye Malone - Descend

Title: Descend
Series: Awakened
Fate (Book Two)
Author: SkyeMalone
Genre: Young
Adult Paranormal Romance
Wildflower Isle
Publication Date:
August 4, 2014
Cover Designer:
Karri Klawiter (

Chloe always dreamed of visiting the ocean, and now the
ocean is the only place she has left to go. Trapped in the form of a mermaid
and on the run from the Sylphaen, her best chance for safety lies in traveling
with Zeke to his underwater home and staying under his protection there.

Leaving isn’t easy, however. Her best friend doesn’t know where she’s gone, and her family doesn’t either. She’s been forced to abandon
Noah, the boy she’s liked for years and who she’s just discovered likes her too.
She only hopes Zeke’s people will help her so she can return soon.

But when conspiracies follow her and people start to die,
safety becomes harder to find than ever. The Sylphaen are coming. They’re more
powerful than she could have imagined.

And they’re not through with Chloe yet.

Awaken by Skye Malone
Book #1 in The Awakened Fate Series

99¢ for a limited time!


About Skye Malone

Skye Malone is a fantasy and paranormal romance author,
which means she spends most of her time not-quite-convinced that the things she
imagines couldn't actually exist.

Born and raised in central Illinois, she hopes someday to
travel the world – though in the meantime she’ll take any story that whisks her
off to a place where the fantastic lives inside the everyday. She loves strong
and passionate characters, complex villains, and satisfying endings that stay
with you long after the book is done. An inveterate writer, she can’t go a day
without getting her hands on a keyboard, and can usually be found typing away
while she listens to all the adventures unfolding in her head.

Skye also writes YA urban fantasy as Megan Joel Peterson and
is the author of The Children and the Blood trilogy.

Website | Goodreads | Facebook | Twitter | Google+ | Pinterest | Tumblr



a Rafflecopter giveaway

Sunday, June 29, 2014

Rainbow Bandz

Rainbow Bandz Loom Kit consists of a hook with a base opener, a loom, 24 C-clips, 600 latex colorful rubber bands which can make up to 28 colorful & charming bracelets, and an instruction manual. It is used to create bracelets, charms, and other interesting stuff.

The instruction manual has some pointers, tips and instructions to follow in order to come up with different desired creations – from beginner to expert level.

**Non toxic, Lead and Latex Free**

Review: Had alot of fun playing with this. My niece came over and we played for several hours on it and she did a video review from a kids eye view below so be sure to check it out. She reveals some of the cool bracelets we made.

Maybe this product was geared for kids but I had just as much fun playing with it as she did and plan on making some other cool stuff later after I take a looksie at some You Tube videos. They have a wide array of projects you can make using your Rainbow Bandz Loom! Not really just jewelry items but other cute things as well.

If your kids enjoy crafts or maybe just plain bored from being out of school this is a cool project kit to keep them busy for hours!

I received one or more of the products mentioned above for free using Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.

Friday, June 27, 2014

Lovely Lashes

Okay so I never really knew the importance of curling your lashes. I always assumed mascara would take care of everything but after using Lovely Lashes I have been proved wrong.

I have tried a pair of lash curlers way back when I was younger and it was a scary experience and they pinched my eyes and ohh it was just a dreadful time. I was just feeling a bit braver and ambitious and when I had the opportunity to give Lovely Lashes a test drive I went for it. While these still look a bit scary they really worked well after I got the hang of it. I just had to get it in my head that they weren't meant to be cozy bunnies they were a "tool" to use just as you would a make-up brush or whatever.

After a few tries I noticed a significant difference in my lashes. I was really amazed! I could not believe I was having such fun playing with my lashes! They appeared fuller and made my eyes "pop" so to speak. How have I lived without this product all these years?

Lovely Lashes are great especially for a fairly beginner like me to using eyelash curlers. They don't pinch and they have rubber grips for your fingers so they don't move around in your hand. They curl your lashes nicely no matter if you have short, medium, or long ones! And they are also backed by a 100% guarantee if you're not satisfied with them for any reason.

You can purchase Lovely Lashes on Amazon HERE

I received one or more of the products mentioned above for free using Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.

Wednesday, June 25, 2014

Ice Sphere Molds By Infernal Innovations

You get a set of 2 stackable 2.5 inch Ice Ball Molds and they are so fun and easy to use! Not only can you use these for your drinks at home but they make awesome party balls! Just fill with water and toss in a few plastic party favors or have fun with the kiddos and freeze some gummy worms/bears inside!

Make great fruity sphere's as well! Just fill with your favorite fruit juice and freeze! Then toss in a bowl of punch! The possibilities are totally to infinity and beyond! They are sure to be the talk of your get together!

I loved them and can't wait to throw a party just so I can wow my friends and family. I have used them in my Kool-Aid Pitcher and they take a while to melt so it stayed nice and cool for the kiddos. Move over ice trays there's a new kid in town!

Available on Amazon - Ice Sphere Molds By Infernal Innovations

I received one or more of the products mentioned above for free using Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.

New Trent Car Charger and Stylus

Holy Smokes I had the chance to review two very awesome products from New Trent and I am in love with them both!

I'll start with the cool car charger. It's a dual USB port high speed car charger and it will charge up your phone and tablet or even two phones at once. I travel a good bit with my hubby so this came in very handy because I was able to charge my phone and Kindle at the same time and not miss a beat hardly! We have used other car chargers before but weren't all that impressed with them. This is a must have if your a busy person or somebody that stays on the road alot. Highly recommend giving this charger a try. I doubt you'll ever want another!

Next up is one of the coolest inventions ever! Again I have tried some different versions but really like the micro fiber tip this one has as it doesn't appear to smear across my phone as some has before. The next reason I am in awe of this particular stylus is it serves a double duty! One end is a stylus and the other end is a smooth writing ink pen! How doggone cool is that! My only qualm on the stylus is what happens when your ink runs out as I see no way to refill it. But for the price it would be worth purchasing a spare so no complaints here.

You can purchase both the Car Charger - NT85T and Stylus - NT62B from Amazon

Be sure to check out more New Trent products on their website HERE

Chunky Spaghetti Recipe

Chunky Spaghetti

1 lb. beef
1 medium onion (sliced)
1 medium green bell pepper (sliced)
1 jar spaghetti sauce of choice
1 small can drained mushroom pieces
shredded cheese
large box of spaghetti
salt & Pepper to taste
pinch dry basil
Pinch parsley flakes

Nothing really classy here just tossed in some ingredients I had in the cupboard and sitting around.

I make my sauce first by browning my beef then I drain all but maybe a spoonful or so of the grease out of it. I then tossed in my onion and bell pepper after I sliced them into nice size slices. Let them simmer a bit until they soften up a bit in the beef. Stir around in pan good so they wont stick or burn. Lastly I dump the canned mushrooms in and stir into the other ingredients and then use my dry spices (basil, salt, pepper,parsley) and stir up real good. Once this has simmered for a few minutes and veggies has pretty much softened pour in your jar of sauce and let simmer on low while you cook your noodles.

Once noodles are done I drain most of the water but reserve maybe a half cup to a cup so my spaghetti wont get to dry. I then por the sauce mixture over onto the spaghetti noodles and toss it around real good until spaghetti is good and covered.

Put you some spaghetti in a plate and top with cheese.

Would be even more awesome had I added a spoon of sour cream and a bit of cooked chopped chicken but I didn't think of it at the moment.

Tuesday, June 24, 2014

Product Review StyloPhora Ice Ball Molds

These were so easy and fun to make! You get three balls and funnel. Just wash out, close together, and fill top using your included funnel and you're all set! Will freeze into nice round sphere's in just a matter of hours. The possibilities are endless for their uses. Matter of fact I used the first batch in my doggies water bowl and they loved it! It's been so very hot here and it worked very nicely cooling down their water for them and they seemed amazed at the balls of ice in their bowl. At first I think they may of thought mama had lost it and they barked at the balls floating in their bowl but later when they had melted down a good bit they grabbed (more like nabbed) them out and was chewing on the ice.

Can be purchased HERE from Amazon.

I received one or more of the products mentioned above for free using Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.

Sunday, June 22, 2014

TLC Voxbox Review

A couple of weeks ago I was so excited to receive my first Voxbox from Influenster! It was the TLC one and it had some awesome goodies in it! I did an unboxing on Youtube so feel free to check that video out below.

*The box included a coupon for a free Full Sized Box of Breyers Gelato valued between $4.49-$5.99 I picked up the Tiramisu Flavor and didn't really like the flavor of it but they have another 3 flavors to choose from and I think I would enjoy the Vanilla Caramel one but at the time our store was out of that flavor so I will be trying that one later. The ice cream itself was smooth and light it was just the flavor I had that I was not pleased with. Have a "Date Night" with Breyers Gelato on the menu!

*Neosporin to go ($4.97-$7.50)- I Loved this product! It is small enough to fit in my purse or pocket and is wonderful to have handy for those ut-ho booboo's I always manage to get and never have anything handy to spray on them! One of my favorite products in the box and a must have for any First Aid Kit!

*Ivory Bar Soap ($3.99 / 10 Pack)- Another awesome full sized product in our box! Not only gentle for your skin but did you know Ivory soap can be used in many other different ways? Check my Pinterest Board HERE for some neat idea's and uses!

*Avon Anew Reversalist Express Wrinkle Smoother ($30) - This is a cream to powder skin perfector that is so neat! So cool to my face going on and I have noticed quite a difference in the past few days that I have been using it! My face feels softer and less crinkly. I love the mirror on top and it's so awesome how this compact opens! You slide it instead of flipping it open.

*Puffs to go (49 cents per single pack) - These were the Puffs with Lotion and ohhh boy can my poor nose tell the difference! I can't use anything else on my nose anymore! Great size for tossing in my purse especially during allergy season!

*Shell Fuel Rewards Network Card (Free to sign up) - This card is great for saving at the pump and you can even add your participating grocers card like Bi-Lo to it and save even more at the pump and it helps a good bit because gas is totally at an all time high!

I received these products complimentary for testing purposes from Influenster.

Friday, June 20, 2014

Tour - When You Are Mine by Kennedy Ryan

Forever is a heartbeat away . . .

Kerris Moreton knows how to make things work. Bounced from foster home to foster home as a kid, she adapted; when opportunity arose, she thrived. Now, about to open her own business and accept a marriage proposal, Kerris is ready to build the life she's always wanted. The only thing missing? A passionate connection with her would-be fiancé, Cam. Kerris wants to believe that sparks are overrated-until Walsh Bennett lights her up like the Fourth of July.

. . . but what about love?

As one of the East Coast's most eligible bachelors, Walsh enjoys financial independence, fulfilling work with his family's nonprofit, and plenty of female attention. But lately he's been distracted by the one woman he can't have. Lovely to look at and even sweeter to know, Kerris is the soul mate Walsh never thought he would find. The problem is, his best friend found her first . . .


About Kennedy Ryan:

Kennedy Ryan grew up in North Carolina, but loves living in Atlanta with her husband (tall – check, dark – check – handsome – check), and her handful of a son. Though she knew, like writers often do, that she was supposed to tell stories, the road to fulfillment has been paved with “some of everything” jobs that kept her family eating and living indoors. With her degree in Journalism from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (Go Tar Heels!), she has focused on writing for non-profit organizations and even doing some non-fiction ghost writing. Only in the last few years did she start telling stories again.

In addition to being a devoted wife and mom, she’s also a passionate advocate for families living with Autism. Her son was diagnosed at the age of two, and she has made it her mission to help as many families as possible find the resources and services they need. 25% of her royalties will go toward her national charitable partner Talk About Curing Autism and Myles-A-Part, her foundation serving Georgia families.


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Product Review - Speed Cable Jump Rope - King Athletic

10 foot adjustable speed rope.

I have not jumped rope in many years but wanted to get back into it so wanted to try this speed cable. I was pleasantly surprised how durable and easy to use and adjust to fit me it was. I was totally excited I could adjust it as I have not been able to do that with any rope in the past. I loved the handles. They just feel so good almost like an extension of ones hand and the shape made them easy to hold onto. These are totally affordable and well worth using for your workouts or just everyday play or use.


1. Place your jump rope on the ground and stand on the midpoint of the rope
3. Grasp the handles and pull them to your chest while standing on the rope
4. The top of the handles should reach about 6 inches below the collar bone near your underarms (not as high as the collar bone or as low as the upper abs…If in doubt, go a bit too long and shorten the rope a bit as you get more experienced)
5. To adjust the length use the screw clamp fastener locates at the ends of the rope and cut off the excess rope at new fastener position.

Available at Amazon

I received one or more of the products mentioned above for free using Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.

Litter Genie Product Review

I was provided this sample kit by Crowdtap for an honest review.

I was so excited to get to try out the Litter Genie! Thank you Crowdtap! I have a grown cat and a couple of kittens and sometimes it gets really hectic trying to keep the litterbox as "clean" as one would like to but with the amazing Litter Genie it simplifies things a great deal because everytime you walk by if Mr Kitty has dropped a deuce it's really quick and easy to grab the poopy scooper,lift the lid and dispose of that stinky stuff. Then pull out the odor lock protector and your all set! Then go about your day with carefree ease knowing your litterbox isn't overflowing.

It sure beats tossing that waste outside or having it sitting in your trash can smelling the house up especially when it's so affordable and easy to use! Love my kitties but not their litterbox! I highly recommend this to anybody who has at least 2 cats in the house because one can make a big "stink" but oh my gosh two or more...


Midsummer’s Eve Giveaway Hop

I will be giving away a $10 Amazon Gift Card.
This Giveaway is International!

Be sure to visit all the participants for more chances to win some awesome prizes!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Thursday, June 19, 2014

Series Highlight - Undone By Love by Kristina Cook

Hey Historical Romance lovers!

We have a treat for you! Author Kristina Cook has recently released the first two books in her UNDONE BY LOVE series! 

Today we highlight the series and bring it to spotlight. 

UNLACED (Undone by Love, #1)

From nationally bestselling author Kristina Cook comes an award-winning historical romance set in Regency England--first time in digital!

All Lucy Abbington wants is to get through her first London season without losing sight of her true ambition—gaining some informal training in veterinary arts so that she can retire peacefully to the countryside with her beloved horses. Instead, she’s caught up in a whirlwind of balls, marriage proposals, and ton intrigues. Worse, she finds herself irresistibly drawn to her sponsors’ maddening neighbor, Henry Ashton, the Marquess of Mandeville. The handsome, arrogant, sometimes infuriating Mandeville stokes a passionate fire within her that won’t be denied, no matter the consequence.

Deep, emotional scars secretly plague Henry, Lord Mandeville. As a result, he’s avoided romantic entanglements at all costs. Only, now he needs a wife—someone from a wealthy, powerful family to further his political aspirations. Instead, he finds himself all but obsessed with the beautiful but unconventional Lucy Abbington—a woman whose passions and wit stir desires he’d rather ignore. And yet…she might just be the one woman who can heal his wounded heart.

Lucy and Henry’s heads say no, but their hearts say yes. Will they find themselves undone by love?


UNDRESSED (Undone by Love, #2) --now available!

In the course of a day, Colin Rosemoor has managed to lose everything—his reputation, his standing in society, his club affiliation, and the affections of the woman he’d planned to marry. But when Colin enlists the help of his friend, Hugh Ballard, to help him win back his lady—and his honor—a chance meeting with Hugh’s long-lost sister changes everything.

Brenna Maclachlan is perfectly satisfied living on the highlan estate in Scotland ​where she was raised. She spends her days managing the manor, her nights gazing at the stars in her observatory. But when an English earl and his wife appear on her doorstep and convince her that she’s really their daughter, Brenna finds herself whisked off to London where she’s completely out of her element. While most of the ton finds Brenna’s independent streak and headstrong manner wholly unacceptable, Colin finds her refreshing…and irresistible.

With Colin’s sister Jane playing matchmaker, the pair find themselves drawn to one another, unable to resist their growing attraction. Will secrets, lies, and circumstances keep them apart, or will they find themselves undone by love?



Kristina Cook is the author of more than a dozen books for adults and teens, ranging from historical and NASCAR romance to paranormal and contemporary young adult fiction (also writing as Kristi Astor and Kristi Cook). When she’s not writing a book or reading a book, she’s probably online somewhere, talking about a book. Kristina lives in New York City with her husband and two daughters, but in the summer months escapes with them to sunny Miami, where she lounges on the beach and teaches creative writing classes at Miami-Dade College.

Tuesday, June 17, 2014

Hanging With My Niece

When possible I enjoy so much spending time with my niece and nephew. In this video my niece and I talk about anything under the sun from school and cats to Kidz Bop and Chinese Food. We just have loads of fun together and I am blessed to have her in my life.

Book Highlight - Full Moon by Jordan Deen

Title: Full Moon

Author: Jordan Deen

Series: The Crescent #3

Genre: Young Adult, Paranormal

You know her story. You know her painful initiation into the werewolf world and you’ve seen her struggle to find the truth.

Now, Lacey Quinn is ready for the war to be over. Are you?

Lacey has been used, lied to and cheated out of the only thing she ever wanted: independence. Struggling with her newfound knowledge of being pack leader, Alex coming back into her life and the kidnapping of Lily’s mate—Matt—Lacey is faced with one of the biggest decisions of her life: fight or flight. While she knows running from the war will risk many lives, but staying means she would never have the life she wants and quite possibly never know a world without werewolves, witches and war.

Sometimes doing the right thing isn’t always the first or most obvious choice. Lacey Quinn is about to challenge what everyone thinks is the right thing to do. Unfortunately for her, most will not agree with her decision or the painful outcome.

Sometimes, love means death.



Just please stop…, I said one last time as the ribbons encircled my wrists and my ankles and started pulling in opposite directions. There would be no end to the suffering until there was an end to me. The only way to stop the pain was to let myself go. To let it overtake me and to be one with the pain. I released the tension in each of my muscles and loosened my balled up fists. If I was going to die now, it would be on my own terms. As soon as the realization had registered in my mind, the onyx prisoner twisted onto itself and around me to squeeze my stomach and my ribs. It was determined to kill me and to make me suffer while it was doing it. I couldn’t fight back. I wouldn’t fight back. It was futile. I remained limp and it seemed to only further anger my captor.

            The next thing I knew, I was upside down and the ground was racing quickly towards my face. The shackles around my wrist were released and I was again screaming for my freedom. My arms flailed and hopes for developing an ability to fly rushed through my mind. If only I could fly… then my head hit the ground.


 Jordan Deen is an Award-Winning Young Adult and New Adult Author from East St. Louis, Illinois. Her debut novel, THE CRESCENT was a 2010 Reader's Favorite Award Winner. Her second novel, HALF MOON released in 2011. BREAKING LAUREN is her third novel and was a finalist in the Texas Literary Awards. The sequel, LOSING LAUREN will be released on 12/5/2013.

She can usually be found curled up in her favorite chair with a book or her laptop. She is the proud mother of one crazy little boy and an even crazier teacup Yorkie.

Jordan is Indie published, as well as traditionally published with Black Rose Writing.

'Life is about the journey...'


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Monday, June 16, 2014

Poise Micro-Liners Review/Sample

I recently was sent a complimentary sample of the new Poise Mico-liners for review from Crowdtap for an honest review.

A lot of women can relate to this post because either they themselves suffer from light bladder leakage or have a friend or loved one who does. Sometimes it's brought on by something as simple as sneezing or laughing and it can make us feel embarrassed or dirty.

I sometimes hate to leave home to go out to eat or shopping which is things I LOVE to do because I am afraid I will have an "accident". I can totally understand how it can put a damper on a woman's life for sure!

While trying the Poise Micro-Liners I really found them to be a wonderful panty liner with great absorbency. My biggest issue was I wish they were a bit bigger (They are very small in size!)or had wings on them to make me feel better protected but other than that I would recommend them to anybody who suffers from light bladder leakage.

To grab a free sample go HERE

Book Highlight/Giveaway - Gone by Anna Bloom

Title: Gone

Author: Anna Bloom

Genre: Mature YA (intended for readers ages 16-19)

Publication: July 28th, 2014

Rebecca Walters harbours a dark secret, and as the fifty-three bangles she wears on her wrists as a self-imposed sentence of guilt remind her, she can’t even begin to consider moving on. Not after what happened on that night six months ago… a night which she can’t remember and yet managed to change her life forever.

When Rebecca comes across Joshua Adams, man equally haunted by past tragedies, on a moonlit beach, both of their lives are destined to change forever, and when the girl made out of the sun meets the boy made out of the moon and sea, anything can happen… but will the knowledge of their murky pasts bring them together or drive them apart?

Will Rebecca finally be able to claim her freedom? Will she stay and fight to be the girl she found on the sandy beaches of Cornwall or is she destined to keep running and hiding from a past that won’t stay Gone? One thing’s for certain: either way, nothing will ever be the same again.

Keep your eye out for the official COVER REVEAL on June 27th! If you would like to take part in the reveal, you can sign up HERE!

down the lane from the pub I decide to take a detour to the beach. The light is
fading but the glimmer of light from the sun setting on the horizon is just
enough that I can make my way down the path without landing on my face.
spend a lot of time on the beach at night. This isn’t like the beach in Newquay
which is filled with drunks attempting to get it on under the cover of
darkness. Our quiet beach in St Agnes is perfect for a solitary ten minutes. If
I go home now I know Aunt May will be twitching around me like she has the last
half a year, ever since my life ended at the end of one drunken night. She
doesn’t know what to say to help my get out of the ‘phase’ I’m going through.
Six months in, I think we can rule out the chance of it being a phase. This is
just me. I’m a guy without a plan. Aunt May tries, but having her wandering
around wringing her hands, asking me every three minutes if I’m hungry and need
some food is not a relaxing way to spend an evening.
don’t know what people want. Do they expect that one day I will wake up and
suddenly be over the fact that I carelessly lost my girlfriend one night?
I walk down onto the beach I keep thinking of Faye’s words. “Bridge Cottage.”
“Painting.” “Mum and Dad.” They hammer inside my head.
I know everyone is
waiting for me, for some resolution. They want to know that I’ve let go of the
past, and that if I can do it, they all can too. But I can’t. I want them to,
but I can’t do it myself. I can’t even acknowledge to myself what happened. I can’t
even think about it or let the thought enter my mind.
 Small steps, that’s what a counselor told me a
few months ago. “Just take small steps, Josh, and everything will work out.”
Today I have picked up a paint brush and drunk a pint of cider. That’s got to
be two small steps in the right direction. I’m not sure what direction those
things are taking me in, but it’s heading somewhere at least.
As I tread over the dark
sand I can see someone sitting on my rock. That’s just plain rude. Everyone
knows it’s mine.
Edging myself closer, I
slip off my flip flops and sink my toes into the cool sand as I walk down the
beach and try to get close enough to investigate without being seen.
It’s her.
My feet come to a
grinding halt.
I want to move in the
opposite direction but my damn legs won’t listen. Instead I stand there,
looming behind her on the sand, like an axe murderer.
“I can see your
silhouette in the sand.”
“What are you doing?” On
my rock?
“Thinking. What are you
“Thinking too.”
“That’s nice.
“Yes it is.”
I stand there like an
idiot working out what to say next. “Nice bangles.”
Thanks. They make me walk like a percusssion instrument.
“Why so many?”
of your business, dreadlock boy.”
you’re a charmer aren’t you?”
was sitting here first. You’re the one with the stalking, stealth-like sand
my rock.” It’s my rock? It’s my rock? Really. . .?
does not say anything. Let’s be realistic there is not much to say to that
comment. She just sits there looking out to the sea, and I stand there my feet
sunk into the cool sand.
like your dreadlocks," she says after an age has passed.
They're a lifestyle choice.”
turns to look at me and for a moment, just one brief moment my mind swirls with
colours. The make-up is gone and the waning sun illuminates her skin. She look
different. So different. A better different.
should walk away. I don’t talk to holiday makers unless I’m taking their money
in the shop.
I don’t.
I fold my legs and sit on the sand, my fingers automatically picking up a
splinter of driftwood as I cast my eyes up at the sun and then I start to draw.
do you have a name girl with the bangles?” I’m trying to remember what the
young girl who was with her in the shop called her yesterday. Becca? Something
like that?”
to me with a frown on her face she bites her lower lip. Jeez, I only asked her
frown and the angry glare instantly make me recall her name. “Bex.” I answer
for her. The frown deepens.
one calls me that, only my sister.”
I don’t know what else to call you?” I prompt. Her feistiness is rather
amusing, it’s actually doing a good job of distracting me from the usual shit I
try to keep out of my head.
Her top lip curls a
little in distaste at my goading. She really doesn’t want to tell me her name.
Who doesn’t want people to know their name? My eyes flick over her with a
little more interest. She is rather pretty. Hot, Dan would call it. But I would
go with pretty. Pretty is a more delicate sounding word, easy to pair with the
freckles and flame hair.
Oh good god. I’ve
realized what I am doing? I’m looking at another girl. I try and turn myself
away from her a little. She must register the motion because she speaks, her
voice low like she is sharing a secret.
“Rebecca.” She clears
her throat. “My name is Rebecca.”
Something about her low
tone makes me cast my eyes back over her. Well not exactly willingly, my eyes
just won’t damn behave themselves and head straight back to the smooth sunlit
She looks nervous, her
fingers brushing over her overload of bangles.
“Does Rebecca have a
second name?” My feet do this bizarre thing where they scoot over the sand
towards her toes.
“What no surname? So you
are Rebecca No Name?”
She scowls further. “Yes.
I am Rebecca No Name.”
Her tone and the death
stare she lays on me make me do something I am not expecting in the least. I
laugh. Fucking loud. I laugh like I never stopped.
“Well Rebecca No Name. I
am Joshua Adams, it’s a pleasure to meet you and your bangles.”
I lean forward and shake
her hand my fingers grazing against hers, sand rolls between our connected
Rebecca No Name digs her
toes into the sand, burying them deep. “Walters. It’s Rebecca Walters.”
“Bex Walters, now that
has a nice ring to it.”
“It’s Rebecca Walters.”
She spits her name out like it burns her lips to say it.
“Okay, okay.”
“So Rebecca Walters
where are you on holiday from?”
Seriously. It’s like
talking to a wall. I don’t even know why I am still sitting here. This makes an
evening with Aunt May look like a social highlight.
I get up and start to
brush the sand from my legs.
The girl with attitude
stares up at me from the ground and I hesitate. “London. I come from London,
and I’m not on holiday. My family have moved into Bridge Cottage.”
Just like that the air
gushes out of my lungs. The girl with the attitude and the wrong clothes and
the frown lives in the house that I was fully expecting to move into one day.
The cottage I expected to grow old in.
I sit back on the sand
with a bump.
“I am leaving though, in
two weeks.” Her gaze is on the sea as she speaks. “Two weeks. I’ve just got to
get through two weeks.” She repeats almost to herself.
weeks of what?
“Who are you running
Rebecca, Bex, the girl with
the attitude turns to me, her eyes hidden in the shadows of the dipping sun.

       And that I just don’t know how to answer, so I don’t. I pick my stick back up and start
to draw some more.

Anna Bloom is a contemporary romance writer who writes about life as it happens. Combining a busy schedule of looking after two small children whilst working in a local school and completing The Uni Files series she also spends a lot of time imagining kissing hot guys – all in the name of her art.

                  Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads  

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Saturday, June 14, 2014

Mail Rant

I don't know where this actually happened at but I was so upset when I got it! It looks like somebody got hungry and chewed it up! There was supposed to have been a sample product for me to review inside but alas all I got was this ripped envelope and a postcard saying thanks for posting a review once you've had time to try our product. Well doesn't look like that will be happening sadly as I have nothing to sample. GRRRRRR

I contacted the company and hopefully they can resend but still irks me when you be so excited to try something new and you get chewed up mail! I don't know which would be worse...getting a chewed package like I got or not getting anything at all and having to wonder where it's at?

Has this ever happened to any of you? I know things are beyond the powers that be sometimes but still a bit dissapointed. :( Oh well no use crying over the spilled milk eh? LOL

Thursday, June 12, 2014

Tuesday, June 10, 2014

Blitz/Giveaway - BREAKING AWAY by Toni Aleo

Title: Breaking Away

Author: Toni Aleo

Series: Assassins #5

Genre: Adult Contemporary Romance

Publication: June 10, 2014

BREAKING AWAY is a story of loss, healing, and love… where unexpected turns and heartache lead to passion.

To Nashville Assassins’ leading scoring center Phillip Anderson, playing hockey has always been easy… as natural as breathing. His life is no different. That’s until his world is turned upside down by the death of his sister. While mourning his loss, Phillip has to find a way to make his very angry sixteen-year-old niece, Claire, happy. Now, as her guardian, he discovers the only thing that seems to heal her lonely heart is dance class. But what he didn’t count on was the attraction he’d feel towards her drop-dead sexy dance teacher.

For Reese Allen, dancing has always been part of her soul. After having her heart broken in New York, she comes home with the determination to make her dance studio one of the best in Tennessee and succeeds. When she sees Claire dance for the first time, she knows the girl is bound for greatness and takes the troubled teen under her wing. Using dance as therapy, she suddenly finds herself bound to the young woman… and her hot-as-sin uncle.

However, Phillip and Reese are happy in their single lives. It’s simple. They do what they want, who they want, and how they want, but from the moment they meet, the attraction is undeniable. Soon, they are more than willing to spend just one night tangled in the sheets. But, one night turns into two, and two turns into three, until they find themselves in a repeated dance of “One Last Time” that has the potential to be something more… if only Reese and Claire allow it.

Can Phillip find a way to thaw the hearts of both the women in his life, or will he be forever trying to break them away from their pasts?

Monday, June 9, 2014

Voortman Vanilla Wafers

We have always loved the vanilla sugar wafers that Little Debbie used to put out but they have been discontinued for a while now and we have searched and searched for a similar replacement for them but until now no others really came close to the taste we loved and enjoyed from the Little Debbie Brand.

We had never tried this brand of cookies before so on a whim while shopping at Wal-mart last night we decided to pick up a package and was pleasantly surprised how close they came to the texture and flavor of the Little Debbie ones that we liked! We grabbed a cup of milk and sat there and had eaten the entire package like little piggies before we knew it!

I know they have other flavors and even offer a sugar free package but we are partial to the vanilla ones. We will totally be purchasing many more packages of these! I actually hope the hubs brings some more home after work! LOL