Friday, June 22, 2012

Guest Post/BF - Sleeping Roses by RaShelle Workman

Sophie married into a lie.
Sick of her dangerous marriage, Sophie leaves her husband, determined to start a new life.
But her husband isn't going to let her go that easily. If he can't have her, no one can.
It's hunter versus hunted.

Praise for Sleeping Roses:

"It's strange, mysterious, and down right cool! It made me wonder if this really happened." Jek Jamison

"A suspense/thriller where nothing is as it seems." Heartsong Reviews

"From the first page to the last I was captivated by Sophie's journey as told by Ms Workman. Well crafted twists and turns kept me completely enthralled and unwilling to put it down. I found myself empathizing with the characters I closely identified with and feeling compassion, as Sophie did, for those less likable. The author's ability to express the feelings and emotions of the characters transcended the words on the pages." D. Olson

If you think you know how it ends, hold on. You have no idea.

Buy Now @ Amazon
Genre - Romantic Thriller
Rating - PG13 (Language, sensuality)
More details about the author

Connect with RaShelle Workman on: Twitter & Facebook
Check out where this author will be talking about her latest release!

********Guest Post by RaShelle-Workman********

A world without books ...

Would be like pain without joy, happiness without sorrow, love without hate. We need the bad to understand and recognize the good. A world without books (and by books I mean any kind, not just paper) would leave us unbalanced.

What do you think? Would you still feel balanced if you couldn't read a book?

Thursday, June 21, 2012

Book Tour/Guest Post - Destiny Unveiled by Laura DeLuca

Gabriella and Darron thought their magickal battle was over when they defeated the evil warlock, Richard. When her Aunt Donna seeks Gabriella's help in rescuing her catatonic daughter from the Dark Coven, Gabriella discovers that her cousin holds a power within her that would be catastrophic in the hands of the evil witches. Gabriella's coven sets out on a journey that may be their last. Along the way, they meet new allies, face devastating treachery, and battle not only the Dark Coven, but the darkness within themselves. When Gabriella finally comes face to face with the cousin she never knew existed, her true destiny is unveiled, and the fate of the mortal world is in her hands.

This is a sequel to the book Destiny. Destiny Amazon Buy link and Destiny Trailer link


Darron was on the roof of a large building, elevated dizzyingly high over the road below. Other skyscrapers bordered it, but it was by far the largest building in the general area, standing several stories higher than it's neighbors. The few cars that dotted the street below looked like insects. Above him, the moon shone full, round, and red in the night sky. It was an autumn moon, a blood moon. By the light of that moon, Darron was able to see the practiced movements of six black-cloaked figures, who swayed to the steady beat of an invisible drum. Their shapes were obscure in the pale light, and it was impossible to determine if they were men or women because the dark, hooded robes they wore hid their features from view.

There was an altar erected in the center of a circle that was outlined in black charcoal. On that altar sat the normal tools of ritual: a black tipped dagger, a silver chalice, an incense burner, and multiple black candles. Darron owned similar items. They weren't frightening in themselves. But the altar, like the people who lingered around it, was outlined by a shimmering black aura. The vibrations they relayed were no less than evil. Their presence made Darron shudder. He watched in horror, as a silent and unwelcome spectator to the forbidden rights.

Four of the cloaked figures took up the elemental corners, preparing to call the Guardians. The Guardians answered their call, unable to ignore the summons because magick can't be divided into good and evil. It's both because nature is both, harsh and devastating yet beautiful and gentle as the need arises. It was just as easy for the dark witches to harness the destructive forces of nature as it was for Darron and his coven to call upon its life giving magick. Good or evil was in the heart of its master, not in the magick that was wielded.

A fifth cloaked figure, the apparent leader of the group, stood in the center of the circle with the dagger raised high above his head. The sixth and final coven member groveled at the feet of the leader, his head lowered in acquiescence. The hood of his cloak hid his face though he was no more than a few feet away from Darron.

"Brother and sisters," the leader proclaimed, his accented voice heavy with his foreboding presence. "Tonight in the wake of the blood moon, we come together to bring a new brother into our fold. He has completed the required tasks and proven himself worthy to join us in our work."

"So mote it be!"

The four other cloaked figures cried out in perfect unison. Their hands were raised to the sky in honor of the blood moon.

The leader picked up the chalice from the altar. He followed the path of the circle to all of the elemental corners, stopping at each of the robed coven members in turn. Each offered their willing hands to their leader, palm outward. Each welcomed the point of the black edged dagger as it dug into their open palms without so much as a gasp of pain. The high priest cut a clean line down the centers of the palms of his disciples, and they all squeezed their fingers against the open wound to allow the blood to drip into the waiting chalice.

After collecting the offering from his followers, the leader returned to the center of the circle and the waiting initiate. With one quick motion, he sliced open his own palm. He held his hand over the cup, letting his blood drip slowly into the chalice, until the wound miraculously healed before Darron's startled eyes. When the chalice was full, he carried it to the eager initiate who took the cup firmly into his hands and tilted it towards his lips.

"As this blood makes you one with our flesh, so your soul follows to become one with the darkness," the English voice intoned.

As the initiate drained the last of the liquid in the chalice, his hood fell away, revealing a blonde ponytail pulled back over a pale white face, made even paler by the outline of bright red blood around his lips. Darron watched in stunned, horrified silence as his own face turned to meet his gaze. Eyes turned as black as coals stared back at Darron with a grim smile of satisfaction.

"Rise Darron," the leader commanded. And as he spoke, he lifted the hood from his head. Rise brother of the Dark Coven."

Cast for The Destiny Series

I think every writer dreams of the day they'll see their books on the big screen. Even if that did happen with Destiny, I doubt I would have much say over the casting. But it’s still fun to dream, and to pick out the cast! I have been working on my cast for Destiny since I first started writing the books back in the 90's. I've made changes as new faces have emerged, but there are a few that have stayed the same all these years. Today I thought I'd share by current picks for the main characters in Destiny & Destiny Unveiled. Some of these folks may already be too old to play
teenagers, but it’s all in good fun.

Gabrielle DiPaola - Nina Dorbrev

I have been struggling with my pick for the lead of Gabriella for years. But finally, thanks to my husband's love of the Sci Fi channel, I have made my decision. He was watching some movie about a werewolf and she was the star. Nina is exactly the way I envisioned Gabriella. She will need some colored contacts for the violet eyes, but I think Hollywood can pull it off.

Darron Zukawski-Evan Williams

Having a tween in the house has really helped with this task. I saw this guy in an episode of "Victorious" and I knew I had finally found my Darron. Looks like he has only had a few small roles, but I want to give him his big break as the male lead in Destiny.

Monte Holden - Andrew DiPalma

Believe it or not, this handsome young man is my baby cousin. He has been doing pretty well on the acting scene with some small roles in movies like "We are Marshall" and most recently, a hilarious part in an episode of "Cougar Town". He just turned thirty, so we always joke that they need to hurry up and make Destiny into a movie before he's too old to be in it. You can check out my cousin on his website ( ). Wow, an actor and a writer! Aren't we one seriously talented family?! LOL

Flora Zarfati-Heather Matarazzo

My daughter definitely had a hand in finding Heather. She loves the Princess Diaries, and Heather played Mia's best friend. While I had to stereotype such a great actress into the dorky best friend role, she is definitely fitting for that part.

Richard Hodge-David Bowie

I always knew I wanted David Bowie to play Richard. He was the right look, and even the sexy British accent. And we all know he has that dark side to him after his amazing portrayal of the Goblin King in "The Labyrinth". On a side note, Richard name was originally Gunther, but I decided to change his name after meeting one of the insurance underwriters I worked with from Lloyds of London. He wasn't an evil warlock or anything, but he did have a hot British accent.

Adelaide DiPaola - Laura Bonariggo

I grew up watching "One Life to Live" with my grandmother, and Laura played one of my
favorite characters, Cassie Carpenter. I always thought she was so beautiful when I was a little girl, so of course she would be my first pick to play the role of Gabby’s mom.

I have always been a huge fan of Kevin Sorbo ever since he was on Hercules (I know my
dorkiness is showing again), so I had to squeeze him into the cast somewhere. He's definitely too old play a teen, but I decided he'd be perfect for Gabby's dad. But maybe that's just because I want to see him in his underwear...

Linda Holden - Cassie DePaiva

Cassie is another “One Life to Live” star (I am so sad that they cancelled it). She is not only a fabulous actress and amazing singer; she's also a really nice lady. I have an aunt with Downs Syndrome who adores Cassie, and she sent her a personal letter in her own handwriting , as well as a bunch of signed photos. It will also be really cool to reunite Cassie and Laura because they played cousins on “One Life To Live”.

Donna Brown-Sarah Alexander

If you've seen “Stardust”, you might recognize Sarah Alexander as one of the three witches. I chose her to play Donna because she actually has similar features to the real Donna, and the same small, pixie like stature. I would want her to darken up her hair for the role, but aside from that, she's perfect. Donna is one of my best friends and coven sisters. She is also the one who encouraged me to make Destiny a series, so it only seemed fitting to make her a character.

Miranda Brown-Elizabeth Gillies

Miranda has an attitude from the second she comes on the scene, and Elizabeth Gillies has experience with attitude. She plays one of the characters in "Victorious" and I don't think I ever saw her smile.

Of course, there are other characters who I’d like to cast, but I didn't want to make this post go on forever. These are the main characters. Most of them are in both books, except for Donna and Miranda who make their first appearance in Destiny Unveiled. I really don't watch much television or movies, so finding suitable actors is harder than you might think.

Did you read the books? Do you like my casting choices, or do you know of someone who might
be a better fit? I'd love for others to share their casting choices for the Destiny series.

***Photos as seen on***

Author Bio:
Laura "Luna" DeLuca lives at the beautiful Jersey shore with her husband and three children. She has been writing stories for as long as she can remember. Old high school friends would tell you she was always scratching in her notebook instead of paying attention in class and the children she used to babysit for always loved to hear her scary stories at bedtime. In addition to writing fiction, Laura is also the sole author of a popular review blog called New Age Mama. She is an active member of her local pagan community, and has been studying Wicca for close to eight years. She loves writing young adult novels, because it keeps her young at heart. She is the author of three published works including Destiny, Destiny Unveiled, and Phantom, and
has several more projects in the works.

Author Links:
Site - Twitter - Facebook - Goodreads

Sunday, June 17, 2012

Guest Post/Book Feature - Jailbird by Heather Huffman

About Jailbird:

A paradoxical blend of light and dark, Jailbird is a warm and humorous tale about the power of hope.

Neena Allen has led a tough life. Born on the reservation, raped and unjustly convicted of murdering her attacker, she survives prison - barely. When an opportunity presents itself, she doesn't hesitate to escape. Presumed dead, she stumbles into a sleepy Arkansas town where she finds refuge with a kind family and glimpses the chance for a real home, a place to belong. But leading a double life isn’t easy, especially when you fall in love with the town lawyer. To complicate matters further, a tenacious reporter gets too close to the truth and Neena finds herself on the run again. With a manhunt under way and her newfound happiness at risk, Neena must face the painful memories of her past or risk losing the future she dreams of.

Should she fight for her new life or give up those she loves to keep them safe?

Dreams and Reality by Heather Huffman

I recently wrote a guest blog post talking about the fact that I had to watch my dreams come crashing down before I could see them realized. In it, I talked about how the reaction I received to my novel Jailbird forced me to reevaluate what I was willing to give up for my dreams. I chose to stick with the
stories in my heart, even if it meant giving up on my dream of being a published author.

About a year ago I was able to have both the stories and the dream, thanks to a publisher called Booktrope. That post got me to thinking about how surreal it is that I am actually living out my dreams real-time.

Still, for all the time I spent dreaming about being a published author, there were a few things I never
saw coming.

1) The readers. I could be biased, but I think I have the most amazing readers on the planet. Sure, it smarts a bit when someone reads one of my books and hates it (or me) and they aren’t gentle about sharing their opinions, but the majority of the people I’ve interacted with since becoming a writer are amazing and wonderful human beings. I wasn’t prepared for how much I would genuinely like my readers or for their outpouring of support and kindness.

2) The hours. In theory, I knew I’d spend a lot of time marketing. In theory. Even with an amazing book manager, there were times in those first few months after publication that I would be online 12+ hours a day. It’s settling down now, but it’s still a full-time job. Between answering reader mail, writing blog posts, responding to interviews, giving talks, and everything else my new career entails, there’s never a dull moment!

3) The wows. There’s no amount of daydreaming that can prepare you for the first time you see your novel sitting in the number one slot on Amazon or you find yourself collaborating on a book with one of your favorite authors. There’s something incredibly cool about reading a really good book and thinking “This person is my colleague.” Those are the wow moments.

There are days I get so busy living this new life that I forget how far I’ve come. Then there are others when I stop to pinch myself. Whatever the day, I’m glad I didn’t let someone else prescribe how my dream should look. My dreams and the stories I wanted to tell were so worth fighting for.

About Heather:
Heather was born and spent her early childhood in Florida, but now calls the beautiful state of Missouri home. Her greatest joy, aside from writing, is to hit the road with her three boys for adventures unknown. Heather is the author of Throwaway, Ties that Bind, Jailbird, Ring of Fire, Suddenly a Spy and Tumbleweed.

Connect with Heather Huffman on Twitter & Facebook
Check out where this author will be talking about her latest release!

Saturday, June 16, 2012

Review/Guest Post - Night School by Michelle Cornwell-Jordan

Night School:Vampire Hunter Bk.1(Angel) by Michelle Cornwell-Jordan
Released: March 18, 2012
Age Group: Young Adult
Pages: 56 pages
Format: Kindle
Source: Author
Rating: 4/5
Fifteen year old Dasheen Bellamy’s world is turned upside down, when she is accused of killing her father and godmother. Dasheen cannot remember the events of the night her world turns upside down, but she feels inside that she is innocent; due to lack of evidence against her and with no other family; Dasheen and her younger brother Jordan, are sent to the elusive and mysterious Ame’ Academy ; a residential school where all is not what it appears.

Kudos and my hats off to you Michelle! You have packed alot of punch and excitement into just a mere 56 pages and I could not stop reading for a minute! I am very excited to continue on with this series! The little girl that haunts Dash/Angel has me intrigued and I only wish I could have learned more about her as well as Rafael. I can't wait to find out what happened to Dash's parents and how she comes to have special powers.

I really enjoyed the technique that was used by writing the story in blog/journal type entries. It made the skipping around in the story more easier for me to follow along with and seemed to keep me wondering what was going to happen next.

I sort of figured out ahead one part that happened but I wont mention it because it's a spoiler but I am interested to see how that plays out because it's a really bad place for a couple of the characters to be in and how they will handle it.

********Guest post********

Character Interview: Dasheen Bellamy (Angel) Night School: Vampire Hunter.

Interview by Michelle Cornwell-Jordan

I have conducted interviews and now it’s my turn in the hot seat! I am to be interviewed now, that my book Night School: Vampire Hunter is on tour… I will say I am nervous by all of this! So to help me out, Angel, from Night School Vampire Hunter says she will show me how it’s done:) So, why don’t we go see what she has to say! Thanks all for joining us:)


Me: Angel, I am so glad that you are joining me and helping me out today:)

Angel: Oh, no problem:)

Me: I wanted to first start with the question, how does it feel to have an entire book written about
you and your experiences? Now that the book’s going on tour, that will be even more eyes on

Angel: It was weird at first, so many people talking about well… I don’t know my life. I mean…
I was just trying to keep myself and my brother alive, (you know…Vamps can be hazardous…);
trying to be a normal kid, when all of a sudden, I have an audience! But its okay, everyone has
been pretty cool, so I’m getting used to it.

Me: I can only imagine…wow...okay, next question…Have you always known that you were
this phenomenal, wicked, Vamp Hunter, and that with your special essence, it’s believed, you
are destined to change the human and supernatural world forever!..(Um, take your time with that

Angel: Okay, wow…you just put that one right out there huh? Um, no… I didn’t know that I was
to be the key in some type of apocalyptic, battle with mankind…thought I was just a normal kid
that had luck that sucks…But the perks are awesome!…now that I am trained, I’m getting faster
and stronger and learning more moves…I can even take on Ismet..

Me: For our readers, now who is Ismet again? And also how do you get along with the other

Angel: Ismet is one kick butt Jinn (Genie), she’s not from some bottle that crosses her arms
and blinks on command; She is from an old race of beings that evolved from Fire…they are the
protectors of the Divide…

Me: The Divide?

Angel: Yep, I just learned about all of this too…the Divide is the barrier between the
supernatural world (unseen to us) and ours. Ismet was one of the greatest warriors amongst her

Me: How did she end up at Ame’ Academy? There must have been a great threat to warrant such
a fighter to be here???

Angel: It was. Me.

Me: Oh…okay…well, how about my second question, do you get along with the other girls? I
believe you all have made somewhat of a team, correct?

Angel: We’re a team now, but at first…I wasn’t sure… I’ve always liked Elin (she’s half
Vampire/half Human) the sweetest kid you’ll ever meet, unless you threatened someone she
loves…then wow, she’s scary…and I already told you about Ismet, I have much respect for her
mad skills:)

Me: And?

Angel: (Sigh)…and yep, there’s Belladonna, a stuck up Natural- Born Vamp that I am surprised
I haven’t staked yet!

Me: Is it the fact you’re a Hunter and she’s a Vampire? Even though, the Natural-Born Vamps
pose no threat to Humans?

Angel: No, it’s from the fact she’s a snob, and always trying to give me a makeover!

Me: Lol….well, I’m sure ALL of you make a great team, you are really cleaning up Kincaid
Texas:)…but aren’t you’re leaving out someone….Rafael? What IS your relationship with him?

Angel:O-o-o-kay…didn’t think you would bring HIM up! Well, he’s just RAF…he’s my
friend...He sort of just showed up at Ame, and well that’s when things got really weird! Then
things got really bad…dark, and when I didn’t think I had anyone, well Raf was there…

Me: Alright:) What is Rafael? His mad skills?:)

Angel: Um, I rather not say…he just is…:)

Me: Fair enough, thanks for the interview!

Angel: See, not so bad right? Even though, you threw in some tough questions!

Me: Lol, well, you’re a good sport! I guess will wrap this up…see you around Ame’ Academy:)

Angel: Yep, me and all the other creatures of the night!:) Lol!

Michelle Cornwell-Jordan is a book lover, with YA paranormal adventures as her favorite genre, although she can be a glutton for any young adult title.

Michelle’s other love is writing, Michelle has been writing about as long as she has been a bibliophile! Losing herself in a fantasy world that she or others have created is how she loves spending her spare time...

One last thing about Michelle, she believes that she has her own secret powers:)

Buy Now @ Amazon
Genre - Young Adult
Rating - PG

Connect with Michelle Cornwell-Jordan
on Twitter & GoodReads
Check out where this author will be talking about her latest release!

Cover Reveal - When Silver Moons Rise by KaSonndra Leigh

Young Adult Dystopian Fantasy
Title: When Silver Moons Rise (The Lost Immortals Book #2)
Author: KaSonndra Leigh
Date to be Published: 11/2012

Facing an unstable future, Chela Prizeon leaves Castle Hayne and crosses over to enemy
territory in pursuit of Faris--the boy of royal blood who is cursed by a bitter rival. But soon
Chela learns that he has been taken deep into the treacherous frozen prisons--a majestic, but
deadly place where people enter and are never seen again. To find the boy she loves and his
lost sister, Chela must join forces with one of her greatest enemies. And even though she pulls
strength from the good in her powers, she finds herself drawn to the dark side's temptation as
Narrated from both Chela's and Faris's point of view, this enchanting sequel to When Copper
Suns Fall will take them on a voyage into unknown lands, where the dark, twisted, and
revengeful wait to make this their most dangerous journey ever.

When Silver Moons Rise Excerpt (The Lost Immortals #2)

By KaSonndra Leigh


The shackles tightened on my wrists and ankles, digging deep in my flesh. Dark magic eased its way through to my skin. I sucked my breath and held it, waiting for the fiery feeling to pass. Curse it. I could hardly move, let alone think. A small band of light eased in through the windows above me, giving the metal chamber a touch of softness.

"I ask you again, Faris Toulan. Is this girl worth your life? Your immortality? Or what's left of it anyway," Olivia hissed into my ear, a sneer on her face. I stayed silent, refusing to give in. She grasped my chin and forced me to look at her face.

I glanced deep in her empty eyes, and said: "Yes. Chela is everything to me. She’s all that you could never be. Your tricks can't remove what I feel for her."

Dark eyes glared at me. Her harsh laugh ripped through my soul. The kindness she showed me earlier disappeared at once. I didn't care. All I hoped for, all I ached for was a chance to see Chela again. I promised to return as the protector she needed me to be. I refused to go back as the thing she was cursed to destroy. That would only hurt her more than I had already done. I intended to keep my word.

"I do hope you understand what you've agreed to do," Olivia said in a low, but deadly voice, her breath on my ear, her cold fingers stroking my face. "By the time I’m done with you, there won't be any other name you'll call except mine. Because that's how long you'll beg for mercy."

She moved closer to my face and kissed my lips. I wanted to gag. Inside, I was already screaming. But her torture, or whatever she planned for me, was nothing compared to facing a life without Chela. By thinking of her face, her laugh, even the way she sometimes annoyed me, I could handle anything Olivia did.

Hell most definitely existed. I was about to experience it in full force.

And then I heard Chela call my name…


In my dream, I felt his suffering as if it were my own. Every burn, each tingle, the agonizing way he screamed from inside that awful dark chamber. Lying in my bed, I thought of the kiss we shared the last time I saw him. My eyes flew open as I grasped at the air around me, reaching for him, but finding emptiness instead. And then the tears fell, and kept falling.

My mind was shutting down one cell at a time. Even breathing took effort. It was as if my lungs were a balloon, and his breath was magical helium; something that only the luckiest girl could find…and lose.

"Faris." I called his name out loud, hoping with all my faith that he heard me. Was it possible for us to connect even with so much distance between us? I had to try. If he can hear me, then our link will pull him through whatever they were doing to him.

I can't just sit around and wait to hear news about his death. I had to do something.

"Chela. Can I come in?" My best friend, Alexa, stood in the doorway to my room.

I didn't even hear her open it. She walked over to the edge of the bed and sat down. Her kind eyes filled me with warmth after so many cold nightmares had left me shivering.

"Baby, you've been in this room almost a week. Jalen and I miss you. Come back to us." She stroked my hair and laced her fingers with mine. Those small gestures were just enough to make me sit up and bury my face in her shoulders. "You got snot on my school uniform. Well, at least that's a start." I pulled back, glancing at Alexa's face as she studied her shirt. Looking up at me, she wrinkled her nose.

"Eew, gross," we both said at the same time. And then we both burst out laughing, covering our mouths as we giggled. She was right. Smiling was a good start. And then I heard a boy's voice speak in my mind.

"Chela, I heard you. By the lights, I heard you," Faris said.

Author Bio:

KaSonndra Leigh was born in Charlotte, North Carolina. She now lives
in the City of Alchemy and Medicine, North Carolina. She likes to
write about people doing fantastical things in magical worlds. Her two
sons have made her promise to write a boy book next.

She holds the MFA in creative writing, and loves to play CLUE,
Monopoly (the Indiana Jones version), and Pandora's Box (good writer's
block therapy). She lives in an L-shaped house with a garden dedicated
to her grandmother. It has a secret library complete with fairies,
Venetian plastered walls, and a desk made out of clear blue glass.

Twitter: @kasonndraleigh

Thursday, June 14, 2012

Product Review - Anytime Adult Men Costumes

Halloween is not as far off as ya think...Have you began thinking up what costumes you will be in need of this year? I recently jumped at the chance to review a costume for Anytime Costumes.

I chose the pictured one above from their costumes for men section. It pretty much reminds me of the popular one worn in the Scream movies (which I LOVED). It comes with the black bodice, belt, and mask. Pair that up with a plastic knife and some gloves and shazam; you have one creepy figure BUT I also found that with a little creativity you could easily lose the mask, grab a witch hat, striped socks, black shoes, and green make-up and bada boo bada bing you would have one bewitched witch! This particular costume is totally versatile!

I loved the fabric the bodice was made of because it was very stretchy and will be cool to wear and not roast you however I don't think I could wear the mask "all" the time. I would have to keep taking it off and putting it on because you can see really good things straight in front of you but nothing from the side without turning completely around. Totally would not recommend driving with the mask on.

I received one or more of the products mentioned above for free using Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.

Guest Post/Book Feature - Patchwork of Me by Gregory Allen

A product of the foster care system, Sara Butler spends her early thirties hiding from her past while striving for a normal life with her small group of quirky friends in Arizona. Seeking treatment for an invisible rash and abnormal dreams, her therapist helps her unlock a heinous past that she is unsure she wants to open. To patch her life back together, she realizes she must travel across country to Maine to confront that past in order to plan for a future.

What readers have said

"Allen weaves an intricate tapestry of characters, successfully transporting the reader into his world...a compelling read." - Joanne Huspek Blogcritics

"A page-turning, thought provoking, and addictive tale. Allen's vivid characters are rich and real and thoroughly enjoyable." - Spencer Seidel Author of Dead of Wynter

"It's Allen's wisdom and insight - the hopeful message that it is up to us to shape our life and our future - that truly makes this book special. With Patchwork of Me, Greg Allen has made my short list of favorite authors!" - Terri Giuliano Long Author of In Leah's Wake

"It's a kaleidoscope of unexpected twists and turns, emotional and psychological. It's soul-searching; self-discovering, humorous and romantic!" - Arthur Wooten Author of Leftovers

"This book is for anyone who treasures friendship, asks big questions, looks for the truth, or simply enjoys a great story." - Pamela Milam, MA, LPC Author & Columnist

Gregory Allen - Writing Can Involve Memories
By Gregory Allen

People often ask where the ideas for my stories come from. Like many authors: it is combination of things. A vivid imagination (that I've had since I was a child and making up stories). A current event or historical moment that I would like to twist and turn into my own take on what happened. Or sometimes - it is a memory deep in my mind. A memory that blossoms and grows into a full-fledge movie playing on a constant loop and I know I need to get it down on paper.

Memories obviously played a vital part in my writing when I penned a quasi-memoir on my older brother who had passed away. The easy way would have been for me to simply tell his story. But as an author, I never like the easy way. So I chose to write it in 1st person as he was on his dying bed. I recalled stories he and I had shared with each growing up. Blurred memories came into focus and I tried desperately to put myself into his shoes and recall it from his point of view. And in writing that story, I worked through my own demons I had held inside with my feelings towards that brother.

Writing fiction is very different because you are not attempting to tell the truth of an actual event...and yet memories sometimes play a part in that writing as well. My characters may adopt a story shared with me as a child or something I experienced...and may have locked inside. So I relive it and then I change it up so it feels organic to the character in the book. And yet, there is something still therapeutic in that moment that I was able to release that memory into the world and no longer keep it in.

That is part of my own joy of writing. Not only telling stories that hopefully people will enjoy and relate to, but my own personal journey writing it. We live with our characters for such a long time and it truly is like taking a trip with them as we write. Sometimes I get to the point of forgetting where I may have placed a memory into my writing and truly start to think it was simply something my characters have gone through. I suppose in a way that makes me a little 'off' to some: but I'm completely fine with living in that warped reality.

Memories are different for everyone, even when recalling the same event. (Just ask a sibling about something from your childhood and you’ll see what I mean.) So a major event that might have affected the entire country could be used by a character in a book and made much more personal in how it affects that particular character. And one of my personal favorites is how the author or character’s memory causes the reader to think back on a time in their own life. The power of memory can take on a life of its own when used in writing.

Are you thinking of something from your childhood right now?

Buy Now @ Amazon
Genre - Contemporary Women's Fiction
Rating - PG13
More details about the author

Connect with Gregory Allen on Twitter & Facebook
Check out where this author will be talking about his latest release!

Wednesday, June 13, 2012

Review - The Amazing Adventure of Paddy Platypus by Tom de Paolo

The Amazing Adventure of Paddy Platypus by Tom de Paolo
Released: March 27, 2012
Publisher: CreateSpace
Age Group: Childrens
Pages: 76 pages
Format: Paperback
Source: Author
Rating: 5/5
This is a really cute story about a platypus who gains instant fame for being a ferociously fast swimmer. Paddy doesn't really welcome the fame though and would much rather stay home and swim in his "own" swimming spots over the hustle and bustle of the big swim competitions forced on him by Sir Hugh.

My kids and I enjoyed learning about the platypus which we didn't know anything about or how they lived and the book streamlines with our little girls reading level because it is a chapter book and she is just now getting on that school level where these are a must read. The cartoon illustrations kept our younger child interested in the story as well.

kudos to what Paddy did at the end of the story! I think that is exactly what I woud have done as well!

Tuesday, June 12, 2012

Review - Shaman, Healer, Heretic by M. Terry Green

Shaman, Healer, Heretic by M. Terry Green
Released: January 19, 2011
Publisher: M. Terry Green
Age Group: Adult
Pages: 336 pages
Format: Paperback
Source: Author
Rating: 4/5
Author Site: M. Terry Green
Even for a techno-shaman, a kachina in the bedroom isn't exactly part of the drill. When Olivia Lawson wakes to find one towering over her, she panics. A Hopi god visiting the real world isn't just wrong; it's impossible. Or is it?

Shaman, Healer, Heretic was a new interesting concept to urban fantasy or for me at least because it was my first story about shamans and such. It actually opens with a visit from a kachina which I was like what the heck is that? I thought it was some kind of insect. (silly me) It was new to me but spooked me the more I read of it. I started this book at night and when I read about Livvy waking to having one in her room I put the book down until the next day. LOL

Livvy is of course a shaman and she helps people spiritually via a pair of "specialty" goggles by traveling to the spirit underworld but things are amiss and people are dying and getting sick and shamans are being blamed. Livvy must go against the rules and team up with other shamans to try to figure out what is going on and quick but obviously we know things are not gonna be that easy and that is all I am gonna say except I want a pair of those goggles and I enjoyed the story and really hope to see more authors exploring and venturing out into areas of ancient myths and legends like this. It was just a fresh experience and nice change of pace away from my vamps and otherwordly creatures of the night!

Zombie Candy by Frederick Lee Brooke Tour/Giveaway

As part of this special promotional extravaganza sponsored by Novel Publicity, the price of the Zombie Candy eBook edition is just 99 cents this week. What’s more, by purchasing this fantastic book at an incredibly low price, you can enter to win many awesome prizes. The prizes include $550 in Amazon gift cards, a Kindle Fire, and 5 autographed copies of the book.

All the info you need to win one of these amazing prizes is RIGHT HERE. Remember, winning is as easy as clicking a button or leaving a blog comment–easy to enter; easy to win!

To win the prizes:
Purchase your copy of Zombie Candy for just 99 cents

Enter the Rafflecopter contest on Novel Publicity

Visit today’s featured social media event (Listed near bottom)

About the book: Weaving elements of mystery, horror and romance in a hilarious romp that starts in Chicago and ends in a quaint medieval town in sun-drenched Tuscany, Zombie Candy is a genre-hopping knee-slapper of a novel. Get it on Amazon.

About the author: Frederick Lee Brooke has worked as an English teacher, language school manager and small business owner and has travelled extensively in Tuscany, the setting of part of Zombie Candy. Visit Fred on his website, Twitter, Facebook, or GoodReads.


They sit at long tables under grape arbors. Heavy bunches of grapes hang from the vines. An eight-piece dance band in white tuxes and black bow ties plays tunes from every decade. Heavy silver dessert forks and coffee spoons rest untouched on the linen tablecloth. She can’t eat another bite. All the glasses, at least, she has used: white wine, red wine, water.
A light breeze comes up. It feels heavenly on her face. With nightfall, the heat has gone out of the air. The heat must be trapped in these old stone walls — the walls of the farmhouse, the walls surrounding the vineyard. The aroma of fresh herbs floats from a nearby garden, rosemary, and mint, she thinks as she watches people dancing. The bride, her beautiful white dress with the daring silk bodice; the groom’s parents, a man with close-cropped gray hair and a red rose in his lapel, and his wife in a shimmering blue dress that looks specially made by an Italian designer.
She keeps one eye on the young man in the navy suit with the green silk tie. He looks like something Michelangelo might have sculpted, then breathed life into. This young man knows everyone here, and has danced every dance for the last hour. But he’s dancing with both older and younger women, probably cousins, friends, the mothers of cousins and friends. She has no idea who he is.
She feels outclassed in her red silk dress from Bloomingdale’s. She had worn the same dress at a wedding in June in Chicago. No one here has ever seen it. If there are any more weddings this fall, she will just have to go shopping in Siena or even Florence, that’s all there is to it.
“May I have this dance?”
Like a vision, Michelangelo man stands beside her. Has somebody cast a magic spell here? How did he sneak up on her like that? She didn’t even notice the song had ended. Or that another one had started.
“I’m not much of a dancer.”
“We’ll see.” He tugs her hand.
“Really, you don’t have to.” He obviously feels a duty to make sure every woman in the place gets at least one dance.
“Of course I don’t have to. I’ve danced with all the women I was obligated to dance with. Now I want to dance with you.”
She doesn’t need more arm-twisting than this. He leads her to the dance floor. The band is playing a quiet song from the 1940s, she thinks, something familiar. Grape arbors surround the dance floor and fill the air with sweet perfume. He turns and puts one hand around her waist. “My name is Giancarlo,” he says, switching to Italian.
“Candace,” she says. “I’ve been here for three weeks. I can’t believe I’m at this beautiful wedding.”
“Your Italian is marvelous.”
Your lips are marvelous, she thinks. Your curly hair, the color of black coffee, and your handsome chiseled face are marvelous too. But you can’t say such things to a man you’ve never met before. Not in Tuscany. At least not before the end of the first dance. He glides around the floor, leading her with slight shifts in his weight, slight pressure with his hands. Her feet know where to go, just as her mouth knows how to form the words.
“We don’t have weddings like this in Chicago. The food … the music … the grapes.”
“My uncle’s house is nice,” Giancarlo agrees. “But I am sorry for Lucia. She has married a playboy. I do not think they will be happy.”
“They certainly look happy.”
Giancarlo makes a face. “I should not talk about the details. I know him. I’ve known him all my life, and he will never change. I tried to talk to my cousin, but she is in love and blind. What can we do?”
Giancarlo’s smile, Candace realizes, has a hypnotizing effect. Thank God a fast dance is starting, the Bee Gees. He makes no attempt to bring her back to the table, merely releases his hold on her waist.
“You are a beautiful dancer,” he says when the Bee Gees song ends. The band takes a break. Everyone is leaving the dance floor. Her heart sinks. Somehow she has managed to cling to him for two dances, something no woman before her had managed. Now he will bring her back to her table, his duty done. He will go back to his people.
“Thank you for the lovely dances.”
“Come, let’s get some fresh air. I’ll show you around,” Giancarlo says. And the really amazing thing is he doesn’t let go of her hand.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

The Ferryman & the Flame Book Blast/Giveaway

Flame of Surrender (The Ferryman & the Flame Book 1)

Kaliel and Krishani weren't meant to meet or fall in love but they did. Krishani’s dreams of death lead him to a fate he’s terrified of - becoming the next Ferryman. His only refuge is Kaliel, the peculiar girl that swims with merfolk and talks to trees. Kaliel has a secret of her own. She’s the Amethyst Flame, one of nine apocalyptic weapons. The Valtanyana will destroy everything on Avristar to get to her. Kaliel has to choose: face them, hide or unleash the Flame.

How far would you go to save everything you ever loved?

Flame of Justice Book 2(coming October 2012)

The last thing Kaliel told Krishani to do was go to the Lands of Men and forget her. Krishani escapes to the Lands of Men where he meets his ancestor, Tulsen. He’s clear: if Krishani doesn’t accept that he’s a Ferryman, he’ll become what they Ferrymen fight—a Vulture. Filled with grief, Krishani sets out on a quest to find the Flames before the Valtanyana take them. When Krishani comes face to face with the enemies that ravaged Avristar, he challenges them. He knows he doesn’t have a chance, but it’s his last stand before he gives in and becomes a Vulture.

How far would you go to destroy yourself?

Book praise:

"Rhiannon Paille is the J.R.R. Tolkien of today's young adult generation. She's a visionary with a phenomenal talent for words, and I just can't tell you how much I love her!" - Bookish Blog

"Rhiannon Paille creates a unique and beautiful world that will draw you in and make you remember what it was like to be young, innocent, and full of wonder." - Cory Putnam Oakes, author of The Veil

"I totally and completely lost myself in this book." - One a Day YA

About Rhiannon Paille:

I was never a normal girl. My life was an urban fantasy wrapped in a paranormal romance and served with a side of horror. To escape my everyday weirdness I began writing fantasy. I studied at U of Sedona and MIMT, obtaining a PhD in Metaphysical Science and Parapsychology. I'm married to a chef/comic book shop owner and I have a fondness for architecture. I'm all about the good things in life. Boys, books, friends, music, road trips, ice cream. You know, the essentials. I read too much, write YA fantasy, and burn cookies. I frequent twitter and facebook, but if you really want to get to know me you should visit my site:


Giveaway Details:
$100 Gift Card
Terms and conditions:

Open to anyone who can legally enter, receive and use an Gift Code. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent's permission. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way affiliated with Amazon, Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Sunday, June 10, 2012

Guest Post/Book Feature - Saving Mary by Deidre Havrelock

Today I have Deidre Havrelock and her book Saving Mary on the blog and if you’re a fan of supernatural fiction then you will be captivated by this true story about a spiritually sensitive girl and the path that led to her possession. Part one of a two-part series, Saving Mary is the story of a modern-day Mary Magdalene—the woman from whom Jesus cast out seven demons.
Deidre Daily is drawn to anything seemingly spiritual, desperately seeking a spiritual existence. But inside this vibrant girl hides a terrified child who sincerely believes she has married the devil. Through a series of spiritual encounters her fear turns into reality, and she ends up possessed.

Deidre’s fascinating memoir relays her story from childhood to adolescence: invisible eyes leering at her from the corner of her bedroom, horrible nightmares tormenting her, and her desperate attempt to find God—only to end up possessed. It is a candid account of possession from a first-person perspective. This dark memoir brings to light an intricate world of deceitful spirits hell-bent on manipulating and damaging an innocent girl’s life, not only through her dreams, but also through seemingly every-day encounters.

Travel with Deidre into the mysterious world of spirits, ghosts and demons. Awaken yourself to a world that isn’t supposed to exist; a world that’s as intriguing as it is sinister. And then emerge as a new person—invigorated, aware and intent on living in the light. Saving Mary; Not just another story about a girl and her exorcist.

Watch for book two, Saving Mary: The Deliverance

Buy Now @ Amazon
Genre - Paranormal, Non-Fiction
Rating - PG13
More details about the author
Connect with Deidre Havrelock on Facebook
Check out where this author will be talking about her latest release!

What are the challenges you face as a writer in your genre?
By Deidre Havrelock

I think for memoir writers, the challenge is marketing. Memoir is said to be the least read genre. In fact, I was once told, “No one wants to read about ‘you.’ They want to read a story about something.” Which is true. So marketing a book about ‘me’ has to be done in the context of sub-genre. In other words, I can’t just write a memoir (unless I’m famous). I have to write a horror, a spiritual journey, a paranormal romance. I have to find my audience outside the realm of memoir. In my case, I’ve written a true story about a little girl who gets possessed. It’s a spiritual journey. And whether we realize it or not, we’re all on spiritual journeys.

Another difficulty with memoir…is the remembering. When I started out, I first wrote down every seemingly important memory; then, much later, I spoke with friends who were in the book—this helped me realize that I got a lot of it right. (I also had a few details wrong.) I had great conversations with friends mentioned in the book, learning about their spiritual journeys and their spiritual problems. (Let’s just say I’m not the only kid in the book who had spirits following her around!) When writing a memoir, you can get caught up in worrying about your memory, but you just have to trust it and do your best. Think of my book like, “This is what being me was like…these are the events that impacted me the most.”

Friday, June 8, 2012

Review - Expecting by Lula Belle

Expecting by Lula Belle
Released: November 17, 2011
Publisher: Creative License Press
Age Group: Young Adult
Pages: 272 pages
Format: Kindle
Source: Author
Rating: 3/5
Author Site: Lula Belle
Sheila Martin has always known how to take care of herself and what she wants out of life. But with a hyper-religious, controlling mother and a browbeaten, emotionally distant father, Sheila’s desire to become an international pop star (just like Lady Gaga) is the exact opposite of what her parents want for her. One night, Sheila lies to her parents so she can go to a party where something terrible happens to her with consequences that will change her life—and theirs—forever.
OKay so I have struggled with an approach to review this book because I don't want to make it controversial politically or pro-choice ect... I am not a very political person so I will just go ahead and admit that all the pages and chatter fiction or not was simply boring to me in those regards and I did find myself skimming those parts but I do understand why some of them needed to be mentioned for the stories sake.

Now on to the rest of the story. Sheila gets raped at the party and is forced by her mother to go thru with the pregnancy because she is against abortion. Sheila is only 14 years old and now preggers with a rape baby as she calls it and miserable because she desperatley wants to have an abortion.

The story is told by Sheila sort of like thru a diary about her day to day progress and how she is feeling towards the rape baby, her mom, and later about other young pregnant girls and stuff.

Once I skimmed the political stuff the overall story was actually pretty good!

Book Feature/Guest Post - The Boston 395 by Jason Derr

Before the economic downturn, James Scottsdale did all the right things: he went to school and studied the right things, he had all the right friends, he had the love of a good woman and the support of his family. And then the economic crisis began and his secure life was suddenly not so secure.

Now, age 25, he lives on his mother’s couch, in debt and brokenhearted. All of that changes when The Boston 395 train line appears in his living room. The Boston 395 is like no train you have ever seen. Each stop exits into James’ life, revealing truths he would rather not deal with. Guided by The Conductor and populated by a colorful cast of characters, The Boston 395 will take James - and the reader - to places they never expected.

Ebooks will be the death of us all.

Do you like my title there. Was it alarmist enough for you? I hope so. I hope it got the hairs on the back of your neck up.

Because its a lie. History shows us that new technologies bring about new possibilities. These new possibiles by their nature challange the old stand bys. Things cannot stay the same.

So it is with the ebook. Traditional publishing - the big 6 - will find its dominance challenged by this new technology. The indie author will find his or her way into a market newly excited by a revolution of the book. The book, who would of thunk it.

This is why I chose to be an indie author: things are changing and I want to be in the thick of it.

THE BOSTON 395 is a novella, sitting in the literary arena of magical realism/fantasy. The book follows its own rules and weaves an interesting world for the reader to get lost in, and to wrestle with.

Buy Now @ Amazon
Genre - Magic Realism / Fantasy
Rating - PG13

Connect with Jason Derr on Twitter & Facebook
Check out where this author will be talking about his latest release!

Thursday, June 7, 2012

Gimme's Blogger Love Shout Outs - James

For this Shout Out I have James from Book Chic Club answering a few interview questions. He was one of the first book blogs I ran across when I began blogging and I really enjoy his site. He shares a wealth of info on books & blogging and occasionally he will even post some really cute pictures of his adorable cats. Pop over and check out James blog. You wont be disappointed. Thank you James for taking time to answer my questions.

1--Will you share a photo of at least one of the following...your bookcase, your desk, your favorite reading spot.

I've attached a photo of two of my bookcases and the surrounding madness (plus some of my music collection). I did a bit of cleaning to make it look more presentable, but it still needs lots of work. I'm gonna have to devote an afternoon to organizing everything. There are two piles though on the floor of finished copies that will be donated to my library, so those will be out of my hair soon enough!

2--In Twitter Style tell us about yourself.

To make sure it's 140 characters, I went to Twitter and wrote this: "James is an adult who loves YA. He's been reviewing for almost 5 years now. He also enjoys writing, sleeping, watching TV and kissing boys." Done in 139 characters!

3--Share one of the biggest blogging myths you have discovered since you started blogging. (For example...its easy, not time consuming, ect...)

I'm gonna steal one of your examples and go with "it's easy" (which also ties into "not time consuming"). I can tell you that it's not easy. It is fun though, which makes the hard work worthwhile. People just seem to think that it's just lazing about, enjoying a book (or not enjoying), and then putting random thoughts up on the internet. When I am reading, I am enjoying the story but I'm also thinking about it critically so it's not just pleasure reading. Then I have to put my thoughts into some coherent style to be posted. Aside from reading, there's also working on blog layouts, connecting with authors and publishers and building relationships, coming up with interview questions and guest post ideas. Blogging is a job pretty much and I wish I were paid for it. Anyone can be a book blogger, but it takes hard work and dedication to be a GREAT book blogger.

4--One of my favorite books so far this year has been Starters by Lissa Price. If you decided to rent your body out what is the biggest fear you would have of what the renter would use your body for?

Kissing girls. LOL. But seriously, I probably wouldn't want them doing felonies and stuff like that. I don't wanna come back and find myself in prison or on the run from the law. Though I'm sure there's restrictions on things like that in Starters, which I've yet to read though it's in my TBR pile!

5--Do you have a special system for shelfing your books? Please share. (For you shelf them by author, alphabetically, by color, ect..)

Mostly, no. I think when I'm somewhere more permanent and have lots of real bookshelves, I'd go by author. But for now, books are just kinda everywhere. I do organize my ARCs by date though so I know what's coming up.

6--Choose an answer.

Mexican or Chinese? Chinese (though I really enjoy my mom's tortillas)
Book or Movie? Book
Flowers or Candy? Candy DUH!
Car or Pick-up? Car
Pink or Purple? Hmmmm... I'll go with purple.
Fantasy or Horror? Fantasy (I am way too easily scared, but I do watch the occasional scary movie)
Hot Weather or Cold? Cold because a) no bugs around and b) I can cuddle up with a cute guy for warmth. :D

7--You have been placed in charge of my birthday cake. What kind of cake will I be having? (Feel free to share recipe)

No recipe here. I am not a cook, so most likely you'd get a store bought cake. Not sure if you'd like it or not, but I'd probably get Coldstone's Cookies n Creamery ( It is absolutely delicious!

8--So it's my birthday and you want to give me a book as a gift. What book would you give me and why?

A signed copy of Starters by Lissa Price because you loved the book so much! Honestly though, I have no idea. I'd probably just get you a gift card, or bring you with me to the store and have you pick whatever. I'm not good at gifts for anyone!

9--Any advice or inspiration for newbie bloggers?

Just keep working on your blog and making it the best it can be. Keep your mind open to new ideas and stay attentive to what your readers like, but don't let them boss you around. It's still your blog and you have final say on what you do or don't post. Use social networking like Twitter and get in touch with other bloggers, authors and publishers. Leave thoughtful comments on blog posts you like from other bloggers and they'll check out your blog. But most of all, have fun! If things become too much, take a break from it all and just relax until you're ready again. If your followers are true, they'll still be there when you get back.

Book Feature - Feeding the Urge by Jeffrey Kosh

Feeding the Urge by Jeffrey Kosh
Released: January 31, 2012

The book is intended for a mature adult audience as it contains scenes of violence and strong language.​​
With his job as Assistant Medical Examiner for the County Morgue, Dr. Axel J. Hyde has all the right tools at his disposal to feed his Rider's urge. Traumatized at the age of ten by a pedophile, his soul has developed a hate for rapists, stalkers, and other people who 'live on other's fear'. Yet, it is the urging spirit a real creature from the Beyond, or it is just a mental construct of his subconscious? The novel tells his story, of the compromises he had to deal with to keep living among people he doesn't really understand. Unable to feel, or even to grasp normal human behavior, Axel simulates it.

Cheri Ridge had to be dead by now. Assaulted by a band of ruthless criminals, the young Cherokee dancer had no other choice but to accept a pact with an ancient spirit of Native American legends. She survived at the cost of her own soul. Now, she lives only for revenge; hunting down and killing all those responsible for her 'death'.

The paths of these two disturbed individuals are going to merge when Cheri comes hunting her tormentors inside Hyde's killing ground.

Buy Now @ Amazon
Genre - Horror
Rating - R

Connect with Jeffrey Kosh on Twitter & Facebook & his Blog

Wednesday, June 6, 2012

Product Review/Giveaway - Potty Cover

Product Description:

PottyCover is a disposable toilet seat cover for children that covers the sides and the front of the toilet, to keep away germs at public rest-rooms. It is made of non-woven fabric coated with a layer of plastic, creating a waterproof barrier between the toilet and the child.
I recently tried Potty Cover covers ( and not only were they pretty (polka dotted) to look at but they fit so much better than the thin paper things you find in most public restrooms. I try so hard to avoid using public restrooms because they are usually always so nasty and it just horrifies me of the germs but sometimes emergencies happen especially if you have children or are traveling. I also notice that even if they offer the paper toilet covers they are usually out of them and you have to play "squat" over the commode.

With Potty Covers brand they are much thicker, have a plastic like bottom to prevent anything from soaking thru, and even have an added front flap to protect you from having to touch the front of the commode and they actually stay on place far better than those paper things! Not to mention they come in small individual packaging so they are easy to toss in your purse or even carry in your pocket! I really loved them and recommend them to anybody that has to use a public bathroom!

A pack (6) of PottyCover sells for $5.99 and it is available on Amazon, Ebay, all Buy Buy Baby stores around the country and at select Bed Bath & Beyond stores.

Description from product flyer.

I received one or more of the products mentioned above for free using Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.


Potty Cover is letting me giveaway to one lucky blog follower a package of potty covers!
Open to US and Canada only. Giveaway ends June 11.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tuesday, June 5, 2012

Product Review - Skillet's Fennel & Black Pepper Bacon Spread

I was recently given the opportunity to try out Skillet's Fennel & Black Pepper Bacon Spread. It's a spread they make using Niman Ranch bacon, onions, balsamic, and other spices and it is USDA approved.

I must admit I was not very impressed with the way it looked. I don't mean the packaging. I adored the cute jar it was in but the product itself was really oily and unappealing. The smell was amazing though! It smelled like hot sausages and in fact made my mouth begin watering.

I decided to try it on several different items to see how I liked it so I only made tiny slider sandwiches and pieces of steamed veggies for the taste test. I made a cheesebuger, chicken finger, and BBQ sliders and used steamed broccoli, cabbage halves, and celery. It has a very bold taste and quickly overpowered the taste of my burger and chicken sandwich but was a nice touch on the BBQ slider and again as a dip it gave a nice new flavor to my cabbage but I really didn't like it on the celery or broccoli.

In conclusion I really just didn't like this particular flavor but they have several others that may not be as bold tasting so I would totally not be against trying another flavor.

For more information it is available at or contact

I received one or more of the products mentioned above for free using Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.

Book Blast - Reunited by Hilary Weisman Graham

Reunited by Hilary Weisman Graham
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Pub Date: June 12, 2012
Description of book: 1 Concert. 2,000 Miles. 3 Ex-Best Friends.
Award: Winner of the 2011 SCBWI Book Launch Award

Book Summary:

Alice, Summer, and Tiernan are ex-best friends. Back in middle school, the three girls were inseparable. They were also the number one fans of the rock band Level3. But when the band broke up, so did their friendship. Summer ran with the popular crowd, Tiernan was a rebellious wild-child, and Alice spent high school with her nose buried in books.

Now, just as the girls are about to graduate, Level3 announces a one-time-only reunion show. Even though the concert’s 2000 miles away, Alice buys three tickets on impulse. And as it turns out, Summer and Tiernan have their own reasons for wanting to get out of town. But on the long drive cross-country, the girls hit more than a few bumps in the road. Will their friendship get an encore or is the show really over?


Hilary Weisman Graham's debut is a fun, bubbly and heartwarming coming-of-age story of friendship, love, and ultimately, finding yourself and being true to who you are --- no matter what. It's one of those books that has a little bit of everything, for everyone... one of my favorite YA Contemporary reads of 2012 so far! ~The Teen Book Guru

What an amazingly written book! Graham has done the very difficult job of capturing the distinct voices of three very different girls. ~Author Katie McGarry

This book has it all: wit, great prose, lots of true-to-life teenage angst, rock stars, and a terrific plot. I can't wait to see the movie version! ~Author Lee Harrington

The ultimate road-trip, friendship ride! Made me want to hop into the car with some of my friends and head cross-country. Alice, Summer, and Tiernan are unique, well-developed, and likable characters. I enjoy this book a lot. ~Author Colleen Clayton


Hilary Weisman Graham is a screenwriter, Emmy-nominated TV producer, filmmaker, and the author of Reunited (Simon & Schuster – June 12, 2012), her debut young adult novel.

In 2007, Hilary was selected as a contestant on the Mark Burnett/Steven Spielberg-produced reality series On the Lot: The Search for America’s Next Great Director. Out of a pool of 12,000 submissions, Hilary made it onto the show as one of the eighteen finalists and stayed in the competition until only nine contestants remained, making her the longest-standing female director.

Among Hilary’s many film-related honors, her personal favorite happened on On the Lot, when Carrie Fisher (best-selling author/screenwriter/Princess Leia) watched one of Hilary’s short films, looked her in the eye, and said, “I am jealous of your writing.”

Hilary lives in rural New Hampshire with her husband and son, but still manages to do business Hollywood and is currently at work on a screenplay for The Disney Channel.

Related LINKS:
Author Page (Simon & Schuster)
Level3’s website

You can order REUNITED here:
Barnes and Noble


Giveaway Details:
$50 Gift Card
Ends 6/12/12

Open to anyone who can legally enter, receive and use an Gift Code. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent's permission. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Review - This Is Not a Test by Courtney Summers

This Is Not a Test by Courtney Summers
Released: June 19, 2012
Publisher: St. Martin's Griffin
Age Group: Young Adult
Pages: 336 pages
Format: ARC
Source: Tour/Southern Bloggers
Rating: 5/5
Author Site: Courtney Summers
It’s the end of the world. Six students have taken cover in Cortege High but shelter is little comfort when the dead outside won’t stop pounding on the doors. One bite is all it takes to kill a person and bring them back as a monstrous version of their former self. To Sloane Price, that doesn’t sound so bad. Six months ago, her world collapsed and since then, she’s failed to find a reason to keep going.
2 words- Super Amazing
This is Not a Test unleashed so many different emotions in me. It found hidey holes inside me that made me feel each of the characters which usually doesn't happen for me. I usually can relate in some way or form to one maybe two characters in a story but this one was told in such a way that I felt as though I was taking on each of their identities one by one as the story unfolded.

This is NOT your ordinary zombie fiction. If you go into the story looking for a nice erratic zombie tale full of blood and gore and all that then you are going to really be let down. This is a tale of survival yes but it's much deeper than that. It involves despair before the zombies ever come into the picture and then leads up to survival, letting go, and eventually forgivness. There were times I was so angry and others I felt so sad I almost wanted to cry. My emotions were just all over the place reading this. I realized that there were things much worse than zombies to fear!

Monday, June 4, 2012

Review - A Quest for Good Manners by Karin Lefranc

A Quest for Good Manners by Karin Lefranc
Released: June 1, 2011
Publisher: Beluga Press
Age Group: Children's
Pages: 32 pages
Format: Hardback
Source: Author
Rating: 5/5
Author Site: Karin Lefranc
Ohh this was a wonderful book to help children understand the importance of good manners! Rosalind and her pet dragon, Sparkler have dreadful manners and the queen sends them on a quest to find good manners or else! Very cute story and easy for a child to understand as well as having beautiful illustrations both girl and boy will enjoy!

My kids are badly in need of more stories such as this because there manners can surely be improved upon. Kids are growing up way to fast now-a-days and manners and pleasantries are getting lost by the wayside. Kids today get away with murder compared to the way things were when I was a kid!

Review - Xor: The Shape of Darkness by Moshe Sipper

Xor: The Shape of Darkness by Moshe Sipper
Released: March 24, 2012
Publisher: CreateSpace
Age Group: Young Adult
Pages: 296 pages
Format: Paperback
Source: Author
Rating: 3/5
Author Site: Moshe Sipper
On his twelfth birthday Lewis Nash comes home from school to find that his house has blown up to smithereens, killing his father. Having lost his mother in an accident four years earlier, Lewis realizes he is now an orphan — but he has no time to dwell on it. The moment he gets off the school bus a fearsome wolf-man tries to grab him. The boy is saved in the nick of time by Master Long, who reveals to him that he’s a Shaper from a place called Xor, which is being devoured by the Realm Pirates.
The preface and beginning lured me in quickly with lots of promise of a whirlwind of a tale but after my initial excitement, sadly the magic wore off for me. I was onboard up until the point that all the world building and training took place but it was just too descriptive for me and where I began to lose interest.

Lewis had been whisked away to Xor after coming home to find his adoptive parents home blown up and his father perished and told he now was the only person who could save this strange new world and his birth parents but nobody knew how to really train him so basically time was running out and the blind was leading the blind so to speak and Lewis's sadness over losing his adoptive parents was really interferring with what training he was getting but gosh I can't imagine having to save a planet and family I knew nothing about when my own world had just come crashing down around me either!

The story in itself was a good one and I do recommend to middle graders or anybody who loves fantasy to read it but I think it lacked the action I was craving and in need of.

Sunday, June 3, 2012

Gimme's Goodies (5)

Gimme's Goodies is my post to present things I have received in the mail for the week. For how it began and why you may visit my Initial Beginning Post of Gimme's Goodies.

This week I am linking up with the following
Stacking the Shelveshosted by the awesome Tynga
The Sunday Post hosted by Kimba
Showcase Sunday hosted by Vicky

Now on to what Gimme got this week! Books are not linked to Goodreads this week. Was in a hurry but be sure to link below so I can come see what you got this week! Happy Reading!

For Review:
Embracing You, Embracing Me by Michell Bellon
Bizzy Bee & the Flowers by Jill Warren
A Quest For Good Manners by Karin Lefranc

Fade Out by Rachel Caine
Darkfever by Karen Marie Moning
Bite Me by Melissa Francis
Kill for Me by Karen Rose

Sweet Evil by Wendy Higgins
Bumped by Megan McCafferty
Obsidian by Jennifer l Armentrout
Drink Slay Love by Sarah Beth Durst
Hush Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick
Deadly Descendant by Jenna Black
Kiss of Pride by Sandra Hill
Devilishly Hot by Kathy Love
Seeker of Shadows by Nancy Gideon