Sunday, April 29, 2012

Gimme's Goodies (1)

Gimme's Goodies is my new post to present things I have received in the mail. Because of all the goings on this past week surrounding The Story Siren I have made the personal choice to not participate in IMM any longer which I didn't participate in it that much to begin with but just to give credit where it's due this was inspired by The Story Siren.

No sound on my vlog this time. Still trying to figure out how to do stuff but trying. :) I didn't have This is Not a Test on my desk at the time I recorded and I didn't do pictures for the ebooks but everything is linked to Goodreads for you to read up on them.

 The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo I won by doing some kind of survey posted on Goodreads but for the life of me can't remember what it was. (scratching head) Ascend completed my trilogy of The Trylle so can't wait to get to read those! And Oh yeaaah was very excited to pick up The Selection this week! I have just heard amazing things about it! So what kinds of goodies did you get this week? Link me below so I can come see and drool! Happy Reading All!

For Review:

E-Books (Not Shown) 

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Steig Larsson (Gift for doing Survey on Goodreads) 

Stay tuned! Starting May 1st my birthday celebration begins and will last all month long with lots of cute and/or cool stuff for you! Yep it's my birthday but you all get the presents! How cool is that? Details will be posted soon..later tonight if I can get a few minutes.

Wednesday, April 25, 2012

Book Water Spout

Found this article via a newsletter (Schaffner) and wanted to share. I found it bewildering..maybe a bit disturbing? I read this was like 5000 books joined together via tubing and mesh wire to resemble the image of a water spout shooting thru a window. Had it been anything other than books (magazines or newspapers perhaps) used I may have been awed but instead I just can't imagine using books like that not even for the sake of art. For more images and information you can visit My Modern Met's Page HERE

Waiting on Wednesday - Monument 14

"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating or books already out that we just haven't picked up yet.
This week on Waiting On Wednesday:

I am waiting on Monument 14 by Emmy Laybourne. It sounds really good!
Your mother hollers that you’re going to miss the bus. She can see it coming down the street. You don’t stop and hug her and tell her you love her. You don’t thank her for being a good, kind, patient mother. Of course not—you hurdle down the stairs and make a run for the corner.

Only, if it’s the last time you’ll ever see your mother, you sort of start to wish you’d stopped and did those things. Maybe even missed the bus.

But the bus was barreling down our street, so I ran.

Fourteen kids. One superstore. A million things that go wrong.

In Emmy Laybourne’s action-packed debut novel, six high school kids (some popular, some not), two eighth graders (one a tech genius), and six little kids trapped together in a chain superstore build a refuge for themselves inside. While outside, a series of escalating disasters, beginning with a monster hailstorm and ending with a chemical weapons spill, seems to be tearing the world—as they know it—apart.
Hardcover, 294 pages Expected publication: June 5th 2012
by Feiwel & Friends

Tuesday, April 24, 2012

Mailbox Monday (15)

Mailbox Monday is a meme started by Marcia at A Girl and Her Books and is hosted in April by Cindy at Cindy’s Love of Books.  is a weekly meme of what goodies we got to read during the week either thru mail, library, or ect... This is my catch up post for like three weeks worth of mail. I tried my hand at a vlog this week. Ya'll will have to bear with me as I learn the ins and outs of this vlogging stuff. Looks like my books are tipsy thru most of this one but it's just me trying to figure out the lighting and such. ugh Hopefully I will get better at it! So what did you get in your mailbox?


The Savage Grace by Bree Despain
The Dark Divine by Bree Despain
The Lost Saint by Bree Despain
Thanks June from Writing is a Blessing

Werewolf Smackdown by Mario Acevedo
Thanks Kayla from Bibliophiliaplease

For Review

A Rose in the Desert by Chi Emerole
I Remember Mommy's Smile by Dina Wolfman Baker
Shaman Healer Heretic by M. Terry Green
Shaman Friend Enemy by M. Terry Green
The Last Seer & the Tomb of Enoch by Ashland Menshouse
Simply Grilling by Jennifer Chandler


Born at Midnight by C.C. Hunter
Taken at Dusk by C.C. Hunter
Where She Went by Gayle Forman
If I Stay by Gayle Forman
Last Breath by Rachel Caine
Chime by Franny Billingsley
Starters by Lissa Price
Kiss of the Vampire by Cynthia Garner
The Darkest Seduction by Gena Showalter
Wanted:Undead or Alive by Kerrelyn Sparks
Midnight Enchantment by Anya Bast
The Kingdom by Amanda Stevens
The Restorer by Amanda Stevens
By a Thread by Jennifer Estep
Dead Reckoning by Charlaine Harris
Shaded Vision by Yasmine Galenorn
Witchful Thinking by H.P. Mallory
The Cabin in the Woods by Tim Lebbon
River Marked by Patricia Briggs

Guest Post/ Feature - Cemetery Street- John Zunski

John Zunski
In a world where dreams are possible and nightmares come true, can you romance a memory? James Morrison thinks so. In a snowy cemetery, James reenacts a childhood ritual unleashing an avalanche of memories. Laugh, cry and blush with James as he recounts a late 20th century American life.

Characters? Who Needs ‘em?

I was recently asked during a radio interview about characterization. If you’re reading this, you’re a fan or you’re wondering who the hell is John Zunski and why should I care? My short answer: If you like memorable characters, it might behoove you to introduce yourself to my imaginary friends. They make their residence in Cemetery Street and Shangri-La Trailer Park.

In my humble opinion, great characters are high octane fuel for the story engine. Without deep characters a high-performance plot will ping and knock. Not to mention, memorable characters come with their own stories. Think about your family, friends, or neighbors: the memorable ones all have great stories, or even better, they have unique if not bizarre traits. Ask Barnum and Bailey, they made a name for themselves promoting such characters.
“John, they exploited those poor folks.”

Maybe… but, let me ask you this. Who’s more interesting?

Granny A is navigating a shopping cart through crowded aisles. She’s tired, the two year-old throwing a tantrum in the candy aisle annoys her, and the inattentive parent angers her, but she says nothing and politely ambles by.

Granny B hops onto an electric shopping cart. She hangs her cane from the handle bar and pulls in front of young couple pushing a cart. “Watch where you’re going,” she snaps. She finds a crowded aisle and steers down it. “Get out of my way,” she barks grabbing her cane, threatening to poke those in front of her. “I’m in a hurry; I don’t have much time left.”

I don’t know about you, I would rather know Granny A, she’s probably a dear person and bakes great cookies, but, boring! Without question, I want to read about Granny B. I find myself wishing that if I make her age that I’ll have such gumption.

“John, that’s well and good, but Granny B isn’t believable.”

Dear reader, you haven’t shopped at my local Wal-mart.

Please help me save my sanity; help stop me from shopping at Wal-mart. How? Check out Cemetery Street. You may fall in love with my imaginary friends, and I could shop at a real grocery store.

Monday, April 23, 2012

Taste Reveal - Kate Evangelista

At Barinkoff Academy, there's only one rule: no students on campus after curfew. Phoenix McKay soon finds out why when she is left behind at sunset. A group calling themselves night students threaten to taste her flesh until she is saved by a mysterious, alluring boy. With his pale skin, dark eyes, and mesmerizing voice, Demitri is both irresistible and impenetrable. He warns her to stay away from his dangerous world of flesh eaters. Unfortunately, the gorgeous and playful Luka has other plans.

When Phoenix is caught between her physical and her emotional attraction, she becomes the keeper of a deadly secret that will rock the foundations of an ancient civilization living beneath Barinkoff Academy. Phoenix doesn’t realize until it is too late that the closer she gets to both Demitri and Luka the more she is plunging them all into a centuries old feud.

Taste Excerpt

I sat up and followed Calixta’s gaze upward. I rubbed my eyes. I didn’t know what I was seeing at first. A statue? ­My brain refused to snap together coherent thoughts. I
didn’t realize I’d fallen so close to one of the garden benches until I stared up at the boy
that sat on one. He was strikingly beautiful. His tumble of blonde hair curled just above
his sculpted cheekbones. He wore a silk shirt and a loosened cravat, like he’d become bored while dressing and decided to leave himself in disarray. His ivory skin and frozen position was what had me mistaking him for something carved from marble by Michelangelo. Then he sighed—a lonely, breathy proof of life. If I had to imagine what Lucifer looked like before he fell from heaven, the boy on the bench would certainly fulfill that image. My brain told me I had to look away, but I couldn’t.

“Luka,” Calixta said again, her voice unsure, almost nervous. It no longer contained the steel and bite she had threatened me with, which made me wonder who the boy was.

He leaned on his hands and crossed his legs, all the while keeping his eyes fixed on the night sky. His movements spoke of elegance and control. I’d encountered many people with breeding before, but his took on the air of arrogance and self­assuredness of someone used to getting what he wanted when he wanted it.

I only realized I’d been holding my breath when my lungs protested. I exhaled. My heart sputtered and restarted with a vengeance. Luka tore his gaze away from the stars and settled it on me. I’d expected pitch­black irises, like the other Night Students, but blue ice stared back at me.

“Human,” he whispered.

He reached out, and with a finger, followed an invisible trail down my cheek. I stiffened. His touch, cooler than Demitri’s, caused warm sparks to blossom on my face. He lifted his finger to his lips and licked its tip. He might as well have licked me from the way my body shivered.

Luka’s curious gaze held mine. “Leave us,” he said, but not to me.

“But—” Calixta protested like a spoiled child.

He spoke in a language I hadn’t heard before, remaining calm yet firm. The words had a rolling cadence I couldn’t quite follow, like rumbling thunder in the distance. They contained a harsh sensuality. The consonants were hard and the vowels were long and lilting.

Footsteps retreated behind me.

Luka reached out again.

It took me a minute to realize he wanted to help me up. I hesitated. He smiled. I smiled back timidly and took his hand, completely dazzled. Even with my uniform soaked from melted snow, I didn’t feel cold—all my attention was on him and the way his callused hand felt on mine. Without moving much from his seated position, he helped me stand.

“What’s your name?” he asked. He had a voice like a familiar lullaby. It filled my heart to the brim with comfort.

I swallowed and tried to stop gawking. “Phoenix.”

“The bird that rose from the ashes.” Luka bent his head and kissed the back of my hand. “It’s a pleasure meeting you.”

My cheeks warmed. My head reeled, not knowing what to think. I couldn’t understand why I felt drawn to him. And the strange connection frightened me.

From behind, someone gripped my arms and yanked me away before I could sort out the feelings Luka inspired in me. I found myself behind a towering figure yet again. Recognizing the blue­black silk for hair tied at the nape, relief washed over me. Calixta hadn’t come back to finish me off.

Demitri’s large hand wrapped around my wrist. Unlike the night before, no calm existed in his demeanor. He trembled like a junky in need of a fix. The coiled power in his tense muscles vibrated into me.

“What are you doing here?” Demitri asked.

I didn’t know he’d spoken to me until I saw his expressionless profile. I sighed.


I flinched. The ruthless way he said my name punched all the air out of me. “You owe me answers,” I said with as much bravado as I could muster.

“I owe you nothing.” He glared. “In fact, you owe me your life.”

“I don’t think so.”

Ignoring my indignation, he faced Luka, who’d remained seated on the bench during my exchange with Demitri. “Why is she with you, Luka?”

“I wasn’t going to taste her, if that’s what you’re implying,” Luka said. “Although, she is simply delicious. I wouldn’t mind if you left us alone.”

There it was again. Taste. The word that kept coming up between these Night Students and I was connected to it in an increasingly uncomfortable way. To taste meant to sample, but what? My flesh? They had to be joking because the alternative wasn’t funny.

“The sins of the father …” Demitri left his sentence unfinished.

Luka’s smile shifted into a snarl. “Obey my command.” His chin lifted. “Kneel.”

Demitri’s stance went rigid. His grip tightened around my wrist.

Okay, weird just got weirder. Why would Luka want Demitri to kneel before him? I thought back to Eli and the others bowing to Demitri when he questioned them, but they didn’t kneel. Seriously? Were they all living on a different planet or something?

“Kneel.” Luka’s detestable smirk made his features sinister rather than angelic. The real Lucifer: a fallen angel.

Without letting go of my wrist, Demitri knelt down on one knee and bowed his head, his free hand flat at the center of his chest. “Your command has been obeyed,” he said formally.

Luka nodded once.

Demitri stood up and pulled me toward the school without telling me where we were going. Not having the time to thank Luka for saving me from Calixta, I risked a glance back. Luka smiled at me. His smile spoke of whispers, secrets, and promises to be shared on a later date.

Author Bio:

When Kate Evangelista was told she had a knack for writing stories, she did the next best thing: entered medical school. After realizing she wasn't going to be the next Doogie Howser, M.D., Kate wandered into the Literature department of her university and never looked back. Today, she is in possession of a piece of paper that says to the world she owns a Literature degree. To make matters worse, she took Master's courses in creative writing. In the end, she realized to be a writer, none of what she had mattered. What really mattered? Writing. Plain and simple, honest to God, sitting in front of her computer, writing. Today, she has four completed Young Adult novels.

Author Website
Twitter @KateEvangelista
Find Taste on Goodreads
Crescent Moon Press page for Taste

Sunday, April 22, 2012

Review - Dash & Lily's Book of Dares by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan

Dash & Lily's Book of Dares by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan
Released: October 11, 2011
Publisher: Ember
Age Group: Young Adult
Pages: 272 pages
Format: Paperback
Source: Bought
Rating: 3/5
Author Site: Rachel Cohn and David Levithan
“I’ve left some clues for you.
If you want them, turn the page.
If you don’t, put the book back on the shelf, please.”

Lily has left a red notebook full of challenges on a favorite bookstore shelf, waiting for just the right guy to come along and accept its dares. But is Dash that right guy?
This was a fun relaxed read. A brief break from my vampies and weres. My biggest regret is not reading it around Christmas but oh well it has collected dust on my shelf long enough!

I must say I don't think I have ever read anything quite like this and the idea of leaving a notebook of challenges back n forth between any two people intrigues me kinda like a scavenger hunt in some ways. With that said although it was a fun read and I loved the premise I just can't see two teenagers talking or carrying on in this way. It just feels like something more that college kids or folks a bit older would do.

The characters played well against each other with Lily being so naive and reckless to Dash's bah humbug attitude but surprisingly the only thing I could find likable about Lily was she loved books and Christmas! As a main character she just was not stand outish enough and it took the background charcters like her gay brother and her medling aunt to even make her visable for me.

All in all it was a quick, light young adult romance that would be a terrific read anytime but especially a super holiday read!

Saturday, April 21, 2012

Review - A Sliver of Shadow by Allison Pang

A Sliver of Shadow by Allison Pang
Released: February 28, 2012
Publisher: Pocket Books
Age Group: Adult
Pages: 400 pages
Format: Paperback
Source: Publisher
Rating: 5/5
Author Site: Allison Pang
Just when her new life as a TouchStone—a mortal bound to help OtherFolk cross between Faery and human worlds—seems to be settling down, Abby Sinclair is left in charge when the Protectorate, Moira, leaves for the Faery Court. And when the Protectorate’s away . . . let’s just say things spiral out of control when a spell on Abby backfires and the Faery Queen declares the Doors between their worlds officially closed.
Oh my freaking gosh! Book one (A Brush of Darkness) was wonderful but I enjoyed A Sliver of Shadow even more! We are introduced to Tresa who tries to trick Abby into becoming her touchstone and when she fails she casts a spell that backfires in a huge way causing the Faery Queen to think war had broken out and she closed the crossroads leaving many stranded and possibly dying.

So on top of taking care of Benjamin, keeping the peace amongst her suitors, running a business, and trying to make sense of being a touchstone Abby now has added this to her plate. But the fun doesn't stop here folks because Abby also begins to discover things about her past and family and let me tell you I was thrown for a loop!

I feel like A Brush of Darkness kinda just introduced us to a few of the key players in this awesome story but A Sliver of Shadow tossed us right into the action and doesn't give us a moment to catch our breath before tossing more upon us! I am practically bouncing off the walls in wait for A Trace of Moonlight which will be out in October. Oh boy oh boy oh boy that sounds like a long time away! More Phin please!

Review - The Weepers: The Other Life by Susanne Winnacker

The Weepers: The Other Life by Susanne Winnacker
Released: February 1st 2012
Publisher: Usborne
Age Group: Young Adult
Pages: 315 pages
Source: NetGalley
Rating: 4/5
Author Site: Susanne Winnacker
Sherry has lived with her family in a bunker for more than three years. Her grandfather's body has been in the freezer for the last six months, her parents are at each other's throats and two minutes ago, they ran out of food. Sherry and her father must leave the safety of the bunker. What they find is an empty Los Angeles, destroyed by bombs and haunted by Weepers - savage humans infected with a rabies virus.
I am a zombie freak so this book grabbed me from the get go and I hated to put it down until I finished it! I was totally impressed with Sherry and how she stepped up to the plate when times got hard in the bunker and her mom just couldn't "take it". Sherry pretty much in my thoughts was the strongest member in her entire family. Even her father in some aspects.

Once it was decided to venture out of the bunker when they ran out of food it was Sherry who needed to go with her father to find food and see what was going on in the world above. It didn't take long for them to run into trouble and get separated. Luckily she was rescued by and later allied up with Joshua who taught her how to fight and protect herself and her family against The Weepers.

I can't imagine being holed up in a bunker for three hours with my family much less three years! Oh my gosh, we'd be done killed one another so no worries on the zombies! Can't imagine having to feed a family of six or seven on a single can of soup either. This story will really drive the nail home on the what ifs. I am here to tell you I am not ready or prepared for any Zombie Rising or Apocalypse.

Review - I Remember Mommy's Smile by Dina Wolfman Baker

I Remember Mommy's Smile by Dina Wolfman Baker
Released: April 30, 2012
Publisher: Baker's Dozen Press
Age Group: Children's
Pages: 45 pages
Format: Paperback
Source: Author
Rating: 5/5
Sometimes it can be difficult to know how to talk with a child about the illness or death of a parent. I Remember Mommy s Smile offers parents and other caregivers an opportunity to open the door to dialogue.

I Remember Mommy's Smile is a wonderful book based on the author's own experiences as a child to help children deal with family or loved ones who have cancer and/or other diseases and possibly die from. It lets them understand that it's okay to express your feelings and it's okay to be angry, sad, and mad. It's just all a part of the grieving process that we as adults sometimes find difficult to explain to children. Heck it's hard for us to explain to ourself much less a little one!

The book touches on what it's like to have a sick family member living at home and having to care for them. It goes over times when the loved one is so sick why they can't play and do things with us they once did. And it ultimately ends in the loved ones death and how it's okay to not want to feel better and how it takes time to pick the pieces back up and go on with your own life and that you will always have your loved one in your heart.

I can't even imagine a child having to go thru this but obviously it happens every day someplace in the world. As an adult it is hard to go thru the motions having a sick loved one and knowing things are not going to get any better and then when they die how devasting we feel but just having to imagie a small child having to deal with this just breaks my heart even more.

Friday, April 20, 2012

Review - Masque of the Red Death by Bethany Griffin

Masque of the Red Death by Bethany Griffin
Released: April 24, 2012
Publisher: Greenwillow Books
Age Group: Young Adult
Pages: 336 pages
Format: Paperback
Source: BookTour/Southern
Rating: 3/5
Author Site: Bethany Griffin
Everything is in ruins.

A devastating plague has decimated the population, and those who are left live in fear of catching it as the city crumbles around them.

So what does Araby Worth have to live for?

Nights in the Debauchery Club, beautiful dresses, glittery makeup . . . and tantalizing ways to forget it all.

But in the depths of the club—in the depths of her own despair—Araby will find more than oblivion. She will find Will, the terribly handsome proprietor of the club, and Elliott, the wickedly smart aristocrat. Neither is what he seems. Both have secrets. Everyone does.

And Araby may find not just something to live for, but something to fight for—no matter what it costs her.
Two word description: Dark and Mysterious

Araby and her friend April live with their families in the high end section of the city where it's thought the plagues can't reach but for Araby that has not always been the case. She, unlike April, knows what it's like to be poor and struggling so when she meets Will who works at the club she and April frequent and discovers he has two younger siblings he is trying to raise on his own in a really bad part of town her heart aches for him.

Araby denies herself to feel love because of the guilt she has over the death of her brother but she has a heart of gold and wants to help others so badly even when it puts herself and her family at risk. Though I love her character she is quite annoying as well for taking some of the risks she took on just a whim. There is alot of betrayal and mystery going on in the story which kept me interested to a certain point but it just didn't turn out to be the story I was hoping it was gonna be. Don't get me wrong..I really enjoyed reading it but think it was just one of those books that I got soooo hyped up over and it just turned into a meh read for me.

Thursday, April 19, 2012

Guest Post/ Feature - Wishbone - Brooklyn Hudson

Wishbone by Brooklyn Hudson
325 pages
Published February 21st 2012 by Vivid Dreams Press

A Manhattan power couple survive a tragedy and attempt a fresh start only to be plagued by unexplained and disastrous careful what you wish for. At the age of nine, growing up in the French countryside, Julien Grenier witnessed the brutal murder of his grandfather. Now, at forty-five, he continues to be plagued by horrific nightmares and reenactments of that tragic event. Living a successful though austere lifestyle on the Upper East Side of Manhattan, Julien has recreated himself, building emotional walls that even his young wife cannot penetrate. Though somewhat moody, Julien is a good man with a heart of gold, and a great sense of loyalty and responsibility; enabling his wife, Rachael, to turn a blind eye to his tightly-kept secrets. Rachael is thirty-two years old; an art dealer and playful free spirit, but after a home invasion assault leaves her emotionally unstable and destroys their care-free and content world, they relocate to a safer environment with the hope of a fresh start. Kings Hollow is a quaint town, nestled in the serene Catskill Mountains of upstate New York. At first, their new home appears to be the miracle they prayed for, until a traditional children's game begins to destroy their bliss; Rachael is no longer herself and Julien is experiencing a string of bad luck and unfortunate accidents. At the center of it all is seventeen-year-old Sarah, a part-time caretaker on the property. Can Julien and Rachael escape the nightmare of Kings Hollow...or is this just Wishful thinking?

Writing to me is …
By Brooklyn Hudson

Lifesaving and cathartic. Don’t get me wrong…I love life, but if I may generalize, the world is a pretty disappointing place. You watch the news and it’s so dismal. The things humans do to each other and to nature, and the horror stories I can tell you of my years in animal rescue and rehab…man, that took its toll on me and my generalized opinions of human beings. When I write, I get to escape reality.

If I were asked …
A reader or a writer, which would you rather be? If I can only be one then definitely a writer. My brain would explode if I couldn’t do this.

Fame or fortune, which would you prefer? Fame. Fortune is really good and I hope I can have both, but fame means I’ve touched very large numbers with my writing and that’s the goal.

What are the challenges you face as a writer in your genre? Well, probably the biggest challenge is the exceptionally talented competition. You’re writing is held up against authors like Steven King and Dean Koontz – that’s huge.

About Brooklyn Hudson:

Born in Staten Island, New York to a traditional Italian-American household, Ms. Hudson was bitten by the entertainment bug by age five, performing in musicals and attending The Trogan School of Music throughout most of her youth. By the age of sixteen she was already booking talent at a prominent New York City comedy club and shortly after began promoting rock music events in Los Angeles. A leather-clad rocker at heart, she rubbed elbows and worked with 80's music legends and hair-band icons, at the same time, consistently honing her skill for writing fiction.

The Queen of Replica-Rock, Brooklyn has managed some of the greatest tribute rock bands in the world and recently wrote, produced, and directed The Springsteen Experience which had its run in Las Vegas and continues to tour. It was during her time in Vegas when she realized that no amount of success from other entertainment avenues would bring her the contentment she found writing.

Now writing full-time, Brooklyn lives in Los Angeles with her adopted dog Christopher and cat Meadow (perhaps the Sopranos come to mind). She recently adopted a teenage daughter who is attending Syracuse University, pre-med. She continues to arrange tour dates for The Springsteen Experience, but the majority of her time is spent writing and content at the keyboard.

Wednesday, April 18, 2012

Waiting on Wednesday (6)

"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating or books already out that we just haven't picked up yet.
This week on Waiting On Wednesday:

Holly cow this sounds awesome but sadly wont be out until July 24, 2012 from Harperteen. I want it now it sounds soo good!

There’s something strange and deadly loose in Philadelphia…

Eleanor Fitt has a lot to worry about. Her brother has gone missing, her family has fallen on hard times, and her mother is determined to marry her off to any rich young man who walks by. But this is nothing compared to what she’s just read in the newspaper—

The Dead are rising in Philadelphia.

And then, in a frightening attack, a zombie delivers a letter to Eleanor…from her brother.

Whoever is controlling the Dead army has taken her brother as well. If Eleanor is going to find him, she’ll have to venture into the lab of the notorious Spirit-Hunters, who protect the city from supernatural forces. But as Eleanor spends more time with the Spirit-Hunters, including their maddeningly stubborn yet handsome inventor, Daniel, the situation becomes dire. And now, not only is her reputation on the line, but her very life may hang in the balance.

Monday, April 16, 2012

Review - Nice Girls Don't Have Fangs by Molly Harper

Nice Girls Don't Have Fangs by Molly Harper
Released: March 31, 2009
Publisher: Pocket Star
Age Group: Adult
Pages: 384 pages
Format: Paperback
Source: Publisher
Rating: 3/5
Author Site: Molly Harper
Maybe it was the Shenanigans gift certificate that put her over the edge. When children's librarian and self-professed nice girl Jane Jameson is fired by her beastly boss and handed twenty-five dollars in potato skins instead of a severance check, she goes on a bender that's sure to become Half Moon Hollow legend. Jane is now the latest recipient of a gift basket from the Newly Undead Welcoming Committee, and her life-after-lifestyle is taking some getting used to.
Even though I really enjoyed reading it, I could only bring myself to give Nice Girls Don't Have Fangs 3/5 stars because while the story was laugh out loud funny it seemed to lack much originality or depth. Jane basically gets turned into a vampire after a freak hunting accident and we follow her as she tries to deal with her "undead life".

Jane was okay but she just wasn't "emotional" enough for me? I can't think of a better word for what I am trying to say right now but like I would still be freaking out if I had found out I was now a vampire and had to begin drinking blood and rearranging different aspects of my life and she did get a "little" excited at first but it was like she succomed to it to easily and the romance if you can call it that between her and Gabriel was just kinda weird. It was rushed and well it just wasn't realistic for me. It was like an on again off again type of relationship where one moment was sorta hot and the next was like oh no we can't be together.

But like I said it was still funny. I especially loved the scene where her best friend found out she was a vampire and I loved the fact that Jane was a librarian! I love reading stories that have libraries, bookstores, and ect... in them. The ending left lots of promise for the next book so I plan on continuing on with this series.

Friday, April 13, 2012

Guest Post and Book Feature - Cora Parks

Reduce Your IRS Tax Penalties by Cora Parks
File Size: 37 KB
Print Length: 25 pages
Sold by: Amazon Digital Services
How To Pay the IRS When You're Broke gives you various options to make payments to the IRS and the costs associated with them. Remember, if you do nothing, things will only get worse.

Connect with Cora Parks on
Twitter, Website, Blog

Worth The Wait

As a blogger and author, my specialty is taxation. However, even though it is five days before “T” day, I don’t want to bore any of you with tales of taxes. Instead, I will try to talk about something that your readers might be interested in.
Has anyone found themselves at a profound crossroads in their life? Wishing they could go back to the past that seems more and more comforting that the harsh reality of the present. Knowing what you want to do with your life but haven’t a clue as to the steps to take on along the way to your next life?
Does life seem infinitely unbearable under the strain of your thoughts and massive inactivity? If so, welcome to the next of the best of your life.
For the last few years, I have worked as an employee of a large firm. My sense of identity had been formed as a result of being an employee. I am no longer with the firm. As a result, I feel discombobulated and out of sorts. I did not realize until now that everything, my sense of self, how I communicated with people, was tied up in my job. I know that it seems silly to define yourself in terms of a job but I have done just that. Ideally, I want to define myself by how many lives I touch or how many people I help.
I am currently a work in progress, starting over from square one. I don’t know today what the future holds for me, but I trust that it will be a future that’s worth the wait.

About Cora:
Cora Parks is a lifelong Atlantan whose vision is to bring proactive tax counsel and personal responsibility to the masses in the area of taxation. She has published seven books on taxation topics, including How To Pay The IRS When You Are Broke, Your IRS Refund, and Reduce Your IRS Tax Penalties.

Thursday, April 12, 2012

Review - Blood Born by Jamie Manning

Blood Born by Jamie Manning
Released: April 24, 2012
Publisher: Pendrell Publishing
Age Group: Young Adult
Pages: 324 pages
Format: ARC Paperback
Source: DAC Tour
Rating: 4/5
Author Site: Jamie Manning
Waking up in a coffin hungry for blood is only the beginning for sixteen-year-old Ava Blue. When Chance Caldon, the hottie who dug her up, tells her that she s half vampire, Ava s world really turns upside down.
How could I not love a book that opens with a girl waking up in a coffin? I can't is the correct answer! Blood Born was an amazing story with lots of secrets and interesting characters to keep one captivated. It was so easy to fall in love with Ava and Chance and just know they were meant to be a couple even if they both tried to deny it. I guess the only thing that kinda bugged me a bit other than the fact that I can't have Chance for myself was the overprotectiveness of him towards Ava. I just didn't understand why he felt so deeply about that until almost the end of the story but the ending was super exciting and I will be on pins and needles until I find out how it plays out. The last few chapters were like being on a rollercoaster ride and left me screaming for more!

Wednesday, April 11, 2012

Review - Miraculous Mechanisms by Lissa Evans

Horten's Miraculous Mechanisms by Lissa Evans
Publisher: Sterling Children's Books
Age Group: Middle Grade
Released: April 3, 2012
Format: Hardcover
Pages: 272 Pages
Source: Publisher
Rating: 5/5
As if being small for his age and also having S. Horten as his name isn't bad enough, now 10-year-old Stuart is forced to move far away from all his friends. But on his very first day in his new home, Stuart's swept up in an extraordinary adventure.
This was a thrilling and fun mystery. Stuart was an awesome character with his own little agenda and a trio of irritating neighbors. At first I didn't really like the nosy lil girls because I felt they were just out and out rude to Stuart not even trying to befriend him before they published a "newspaper" article on him and his family but I did finally warm up to April when she became Stuart's partner in crime. Boy did he need help to because things just got so wild and way to much for one small child to deal with!

I look forward to reading more adventures with Stuart and hopefully the other two sisters will join in the fun and not be so obnoxious. I would like to get to know them better.

Tuesday, April 10, 2012

Waiting on Wednesday (5)

"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating or books already out that we just haven't picked up yet.
This week on Waiting On Wednesday:

I think I may be on some type of Mermaid/man kick here lately but look at all the beautiful books and awesome sounding synopsis's that are coming out right now as we head into summer! I can't wait! I can't wait! I can't wait!

Breathless by Cole Gibsen

Obituary-reading emo girl Edith Small is broken - the end result of forcing herself inside a mold that doesn't fit. All she wants is to conform to her strict sergeant stepfather's rules long enough to make it to graduation day.

But a boat accident threatens to unravel the life Edith has worked so hard to keep. After waking up in a hospital with a lacerated shoulder, Edith fakes amnesia. Because admitting she received her injuries from a blue-haired girl who breathes underwater is all the reason Sir needs to send Edith on the first bus to military school.

Safe at home, Edith struggles to put the nightmare behind her. But the mysterious creatures that live in the ocean aren't about to let her forget.

After meeting Bastin - a strange boy with silver hair and black eyes - on a secluded dock, Edith learns about the war raging undersea to end human existence. A war that Edith, unwittingly, has become the key to winning.

In a world where death is an ever-present shadow and motives are as dark as the bottom of the ocean, Edith must decide if her life is worth risking for a love that can't survive past the shore.

The Vicious Deep by Zoraida Córdova

When an unnatural riptide sweeps lifeguard Tristan Hart out to sea for three days and then dumps him back on the shore of Coney Island, it’s the start of the Sea Court claiming its own. Suddenly, Tristan’s girlfriend dramas and swimming championship seem like distant worries as he discovers the truth: he’s a Merman. Now Tristan must fight for his life, the lives of his friends, and his humanity (if he still wants it), while competing in a race for a throne as ancient as the gods.

Seductive, duplicitous, and with an agenda of their own, these are not the mermaids you know.

Teaser Tuesday - A Sliver of Shadow by Allison Pang

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by Miz B at Should Be Reading.
Anyone can play along! Just do the following:
Grab your current read
Open to a random page
Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
Share the title and author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers.

My Teaser:
"Hows Phin?"

"He's fine." A flutter of amusement tinged the prince's voice. "I've got him in your backpack. He insisted on taking a pair of your panties as a security blanket."

I rolled my eyes. "Guess he's earned it." Although how someone earned the right to roll around in my underwear I couldn't say, but he'd been through quite a bit, so I figured I'd give him a pass. Just this once.

A Sliver of Shadow by Allison Pang

Just when her new life as a TouchStone — a mortal bound to help OtherFolk cross between Faery and human worlds — seems to be settling down, Abby Sinclair is left in charge when the Protectorate, Moira, leaves for the Faery Court. And when the Protectorate’s away…let’s just say things spiral out of control when a spell on Abby backfires and the Faery Queen declares the Doors between their worlds officially closed.

The results are disastrous for both sides: OtherFolk trapped in the mortal world are beginning to fade, while Faerie is on the brink of war with the daemons of Hell. Along with her brooding elven prince Talivar and sexy incubus Brystion, Abby ventures to the CrossRoads in an attempt to override the Queen’s magic. But nothing in this beautiful, dangerous realm will compare to the discoveries she’s making about her past, her destiny, and what she will sacrifice for those she loves.

Friday, April 6, 2012

Review - The Soulkeepers by G.P. Ching

The Soulkeepers by G.P. Ching
Released: March 21, 2011
Publisher: DarkSide Publishing
Age Group: Young Adult
Pages: 310 pages
Format: ebook
Source: Kindle
Rating: 2/5
Author Site: G.P. Ching
When fifteen-year-old Jacob Lau is pulled from the crumpled remains of his mother's car, no one can explain why he was driving or why the police can't find his mother's body. A beautiful and mysterious neighbor offers to use her unique abilities to help him find his mom. But in exchange she requires Jacob to train as a Soulkeeper, a protector of human souls. He agrees to her demands, desperate for any clue to the mystery of his mother's disappearance. But soon Jacob finds himself trapped in a web of half-truths, and questions her motives for helping him.

Sadly I had a hard time with The Soulkeepers. I really don't know if it was the religious parts or what but I can say I would have found it a bit more enjoyable if they had not been thrown in. I just don't think I needed to know every few chapters who believed what and who didn't. I just felt like it should have been mentioned in the synopsis somehow but instead when I read the above synopsis I had no clue about all the religious parts inside.

There were some other parts in the story that I really didn't get or see why they mattered either like what difference did it make if his mom was Chinese or why did the grandfather stipulate in his will that the family business could only be passed to a male heir when he knew nothing of Jacob and only knew his other child had a daughter? I also had a hard time wondering why Uncle John seemed to welcome Jacob with open arms but it was his wife and daughter who dissed Jacob?

Other than that Jacob's character was very fleshed out and it was interesting following him thru his many life changes and obstacles to find his mom and even fall in love. This was just not the book for me it would seem and I just don't see me continuing with the series.

Wednesday, April 4, 2012

March Wrap-Up and April TBR 2012

These are what I managed to read and review in March 2012. Not as many as I would have hoped but still not bad however according to my GoodReads I am still running a tad behind! Grrr Hopefully I will be able to get up to par in April! I have linked my reviews for March and once I have read one in April I will put a line on it. Be sure to post and let me know how you did this past month and what's on your April TBR!

March Wrap-Up
Hex Hall by Rachel Hawkins
Fallen By Lauren Kate
Starters by Lissa Price
The Eternal Child by David Wasserman
Me and My Manny - M.A. MacAfee
Mini Weapons of Mass Destruction 2 - John Austin
It's a Big World Little Pig by Kristi Yamaguchi
The Good Ghouls' Guide to Getting Even by Julie Kenner
Artemis Fowl by Eoin Colfer

April TBR

This is Not a Test by Courtney Summers
Nice Girls Don't Have Fangs by Molly Harper
Nice Girls Don't Date Dead Men by Molly Harper
Nice Girls Don't Live Forever by Molly Harper
Nice Girls Don't Bite Their Neighbors by Molly Harper
A Brush of Darkness by Allison Pang
A Sliver of Shadow by Allison Pang

Grave Mercy by Robin LaFevers
Wander Dust by Michelle Warren
Masque of the Red Death by Bethany Griffin
The Weepers by Susanne Winnacker
Blood Born by Jamie Manning

Tempest by Julie Cross
Innocent Darkness by Suzanne Lazear
Shaman, Healer, Heretic by Terry Green
Shaman, Friend, Enemy by Terry Green
Miraculous Mechanisms by Lissa Evans
A Kiss In Time by Alex Flinn
One For The Money by Janet Evanovich
Thoughtless by Jacqueline Gardner
The Soulkeepers by G.P. Ching
Triple Shot by Sandra Balzo
Deadish by Naomi Kramer
I Remember Mommy's Smile by Dina Wolfman Baker
Panty Raid at Zombie High by Rusty Fischer
The Immortal Rules by Julie Kagawa

Review - One For The Money by Janet Evanovich

One For The Money by Janet Evanovich
Released: (November 22, 2011
Publisher: St. Martin's Griffin
Age Group: Adult
Pages: 352 pages
Format: Paperback
Source: Bought
Rating: 5/5
Author Site: Janet Evanovich
Welcome to Trenton, New Jersey, home to wiseguys, average Joes, and Stephanie Plum, who sports a big attitude and even bigger money problems (since losing her job as a lingerie buyer for a department store). Stephanie needs cash--fast--but times are tough, and soon she's forced to turn to the last resort of the truly desperate: family.

I read this one a long time ago but over the years I had forgotten how much I loved it and when the movie came out I just had to reread it and hopefully continue on with the rest of the series this time. What can I say except this was a freaking laugh out loud book that kept me in stitches the entire time I was reading it even when Stephanie got herself into some of the gosh awfullest predicaments it was totally fun reading how she wiggled out of them! It's just one of those books/series that I could read over and over and still find funny every time!

Morelli was my next favorite character with his Jersey kind of "charm" and bad boy attitude. I felt worse for him than I did Stephanie because bless his heart he was a cop on the run not only from his fellow officers for shooting an unarmed man but the bad guys as well, and bounty hunters including Stephanie who had no clue what the heck she was doing as a bounty hunter but she could sure keep Morelli on his toes rescuing her if nothing else all the while still trying to prove his innocence and not get caught or killed in the process!

As always I highly recommend reading the book before watching the movie! The book is usually always better for sure!

Monday, April 2, 2012

Review - Grave Mercy by Robin LaFevers

Grave Mercy by Robin LaFevers
Released: April 3, 2012
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Books for Children
Age Group: Young Adult
Pages: 560 pages
Format: Paperback
Source: NetGalley
Rating: 5/5
Author Site: Robin LaFevers
Why be the sheep, when you can be the wolf?

Seventeen-year-old Ismae escapes from the brutality of an arranged marriage into the sanctuary of the convent of St. Mortain, where the sisters still serve the gods of old. Here she learns that the god of Death Himself has blessed her with dangerous gifts—and a violent destiny. If she chooses to stay at the convent, she will be trained as an assassin and serve as a handmaiden to Death. To claim her new life, she must destroy the lives of others.
Oh my gosh! I don't even know where to begin! Let me just start by saying I am not a huge fan of historical fiction but OMG Grave Mercy just rocked my socks off! It was freaking Amazing! I never ever thought I would enjoy this book as much as I did!

Ismae was just such a character it was easy to feel for her and understand her and feel such compassion for her. She was never wanted and her mother tried to abort her but Ismae lived in shame with the scars from that and with hatred from her father and everybody else but as bad as she had it growing up it just made her stronger for what lay ahead for her.

The writing just flowed from the pages as Ismae is swept away into her new world to embrace a life as a nun assassin and tap into powers she never realized before. I loved Ismae's cunning as she was molded into her work for Mortain (the God of death) and how once she was sent out to do his bidding she soon realized that even though she didn't trust men easily that surely it was not right to just mark them for death so casually.

Loved Loved Loved Grave Mercy!!!!

Review - A Brush of Darkness by Allison Pang

A Brush of Darkness by Allison Pang
Released: January 25, 2011
Publisher: Pocket Books
Age Group: Adult
Pages: 242 pages
Format: Paperback
Source: Publisher
Rating: 4/5
Author Site: Allison Pang
Six months ago, Abby Sinclair was struggling to pick up the pieces of her shattered life. Now, she has an enchanted iPod, a miniature unicorn living in her underwear drawer, and a magical marketplace to manage.
AWesome Debut! I knew this was gonna be a wild and wicked read from the first sentence which is from our heroine describing what she is smelling. "Cat piss and cabbages." No further details there I will just let your mind wander! Seriously there is barely a dull moment in the entire book and it is filled to the brim with all kinds of otherworld folks from angels and daemons to fae and unicorns. I have always dreamed of unicorns but I am not so sure Phineas and I would get along as he is the size of a small dog and loves plundering in womens underwear!

The plot is pretty basic as plots go...there are missing people, a mystery to solve, a sexy incubus naturally needing... ahem some loving while helping solve said mystery but Allison writes in a way that even though the plot is basic her characters came to life for me and they were funny and sassy and Brystion was just all out yummy. The ending wasn't all that huge of a cliffhanger but enough to encourage me to pick up the next book and ladies and gents I am off to do that now!