Wednesday, November 30, 2011

Review - Hunter of Shadows by Nancy Gideon

Hunter of Shadows by Nancy Gideon
Released: November 29, 2011
Publisher: Pocket Books
Age Group: Adult
Pages: 416 pages
Format: Paperback
Source: Publisher
Rating: 4/5
Author Site: Nancy Gideon
Transferring to the New Orleans Police Department, Detective Silas MacCreedy has a hidden agenda: to secure his clan’s place once again in the Shifter hierarchy. What he didn’t count on was stumbling upon a sexy assassin who could shred his best intentions and lead him into a dangerous dance that threatens to engage his heart.
Having not read any of the Moonlight Series I think I was running a bit behind on this one but still it was quick to figure out most of what I was missing as the story progressed. I really want to go back and read these from the beginning because the characters are just really awesome and strong and I want to see how it all began so to speak.

Silas..good Lord he could rescue me any day of the week! (sitting here fanning myself just thinking about it) I totally enjoyed how he and Nica met and from there on in the pages just sizzled so much I was afraid my fingers were gonna catch fire. I could just feel the passion flowing between the two whether they were sexually mauling each other or totally trying to kill one another. Really good storlines going on thru-out including mob scenes, some kick ass fight scenes and yep some breath taking sex so I dont recommend for the faint of heart.

Tuesday, November 29, 2011

Review - Three Day Town by Margaret Maron

Three Day Town by Margaret Maron
Hardcover: 288 pages
Publisher: Grand Central Publishing (November 21, 2011)
Language: English
Rate: 3/5
ISBN-10: 0446555789
ISBN-13: 978-0446555784
Author Site: Margaret Maron
Judge Deborah Knott and Sheriff's Deputy Dwight Bryant are on a train to New York, finally on a honeymoon after a year of marriage. January in New York might not be the perfect time to visit, but they'll take it. The trip is a Christmas present from Dwight's sister-in-law, who arranged for them to stay in an Upper West Side apartment for one week. While in New York, Deborah has been asked to deliver a package to Lt. Sigrid Harald of the NYPD. Sigrid offers to swing by the apartment to pick up the box, but when they reach the apartment, they discover that it is missing and the doorman has been murdered. Despite their best efforts to enjoy a blissful getaway, Deborah and Dwight soon find that they've teamed up with Sigrid and her team to catch the killer before he strikes again.

Ok I love a good mystery like the next person but I just couldn't get into this book. Let me start by saying, this was not the best mystery but certainly not the worst either. It does have potential. At first the story just drags along Deborah and Dwight are getting ready to leave to go on there honeymoon. Yeah women want to pack everything in the house ya da ya da....Men are always in a hurry....ya da ya da..... Needless to say they make there train and they make it to New York, safely if I may add.... Hooray!!!!!

I know as good as anyone else a book needs fillers but come on every time I turn around it nonsense stuff. Like what and where they ate at,shoe addict, what somebody
had on... Hum Hello!!! Snows on the ground and in New York. Which is very irradiating to me because it makes the book drag out even further..ZZZZ wake me when the blood shed begins.....

Say what!! The buildings super is dead. Found dead in Deborah and Dwight's apartment. Oh no!!! Who could have done such a thing everybody loved Phyllis oops I mean Phil. He was such a swell guy or may I say gal. Still never figured out what difference it made if he was a male or female. For me this is about when the book started to get interesting. Although I would have figured Dwight would have been more part of the story. Dwight's a deputy he could helped more with the case,even if it was out of his jurisdiction. After all the building super was killed in his apartment.

Review - Darker Angels: Book Two of the Black Sun's Daughter by M.L.N. Hanover

Darker Angels: Book Two of the Black Sun's Daughter by M.L.N. Hanover
Released: September 29, 2009
Publisher: Pocket Books
Age Group: Adult
Pages: 368 pages
Format: Paperback
Source: Publisher
Rating: 4/5
Author Site: M.L.N. Hanover
When Jayné Heller's uncle Eric died, she inherited a fortune beyond all her expectations -- and a dangerous mission in a world she never knew existed. Reining in demons and supernatural foes is a formidable task, but thankfully Jayné has vast resources and loyal allies to rely on. She'll need both to tackle a bodyswitching serial killer who's taken up residence in New Orleans, a city rich in voodoo lore and dark magic.

Jayne and her posse head to New Orleans in book two of The Black Sun's Daughter Series. She has been contacted for help by one of her uncle's old aquaintances, Karen Black, an ex-FBI agent to help her rid the rider of a young girl.

The group has been working hard and fast for the past few months traveling the world to as many of Jayne's uncle's houses and storage units as possible trying to piece together his work and resources to better assist their needs and they are tired, weary, and in desperate need of some TLC/down time but instead they run headlong into this new mission with their tails dragging and their guards down to much. The action heats up almost the time they enter New Orleans and they immediately get their tails handed to them on a platter and have to regroup by the skin of their hides!

Alot happens in Darker Angels. Whether because of the exhaustion of the group or Jayne's still being wet behind the ears when it comes to leadership the group falls apart as evil trickery and secrets come to light. There are so many different types of struggles going on, friendship, evil, and treachery.

Again another wonderful story by MLN Hanover that kept me up nights until I finished it but I really missed Midian from book one and was hoping he would at least make an appearance with his sassy and quick tongue. He kept me in stitches in the first book. I still am not all that impressed with Aubrey and wonder what on earth Jayne see's in him but their relationship starts to grow as she continues digging in her heels in a profession she was tossed into and is slowly carving out her own place in. I can feel she is getting stronger and the group as a whole is learning to work together but there is still a ways to go.

Monday, November 28, 2011

Winner of Black Sun's Daughter Series

and the winner of this awesome series is.......

post #10-------Books And Beyond

Congrats to you!

Sunday, November 27, 2011

In My Mailbox (9)

Hosted by The Story Siren, In My Mailbox is a weekly meme of what goodies we got to read during the week either thru mail, library, or ect..All books are linked to Goodreads.
For Review:
Head Over Heels by Jill Shavis
The Expats by Chris Pavone
Scored by Lauren McLaughlin
Cliques, hicks, and ugly sticks by KD McCrite

Island Girls and Boys by Rachel Hawthorne

The Vampires Assisstant (First 3 Books Bind-up) by Darren Shan

Wednesday, November 23, 2011

Review-All About Stacy by Patricia Reilly Giff

All About Stacy by Patricia Reill Giff
Reading level: Ages 5 and up
Paperback: 80 pages
Publisher: Yearling (October 1, 1988)
Language: English
Rating: 3
Authors Site: Patricia Reilly Giff
ISBN-10: 0440400880
ISBN-13: 978-0440400882
Stacy can't wait to start her new class project, making an "About-Me" box. Into it will go special things that she likes. Jiwon's putting a scrap of her old baby dress in her About-Me box. Eddie's putting pictures of food in his. But Stacy can't think of one thing to put in hers.How can Stacy make her About-Me box as special as Jiwon's or Eddie's? She has to do something fast. Can she turn her box of troubles into a box of delights?

I thought this was a great book for young kids espically for those whom just starting school. This year instead of an about-me box, my son's class done a about-me bag. It's the same as the box but they had to put 5 things in a little brown paper luch bag,of things that tells about them and they could decorate there bags. I thought that was just an alsome idea for the little chaps to get to know each other and I had fun helping him fill his up. We put in all kinds of stuff, like a family photo,a toy car,his favorite DVD which is Cars lol, candy wrapper and sent in bag of candy where he could share with his class. Needless to say the little tikes enjoyed themselves not only from the candy but from learning about each other.
Everybody's special no matter what you put in a box or bag. We are all unique otherwise the world sure would be a boring place....

Tuesday, November 22, 2011

2012 Standalone Reading Challenge List

Pink Button

The Challenge
Read 15 2012 YA Standalone books (Books that are NOT part of a trilogy or ect..)between January and December 2012

For more information including a wonderful list to choose from visit our hosts at
I Like These Books and Icey Books

Here is my list. I have more than 15 listed because I had a hard time choosing right now but you only need to read 15.

The Catastrophic History of You and Me by Jess Rothenberg
Someone Else's Life by Katie Dale
Struck by Jennifer Bosworth
Don't Breathe a Word by Holly Cupala
Reunited by Hilary Weisman Graham
Cursed by Jennifer L. Armentrout
All These Lives by Sarah Wylie
Torn by Cat Clarke
Touched by Cyn Balog
The Other Life by Susanne Winnacker
Try Not to Breathe by Jennifer R. Hubbard
The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight by Jennifer E. Smith
When the Sea is Rising Red by Cat Hellisen
Ten by Gretchen McNeil
Isla and the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins
For Darkness Shows the Stars by Diana Peterfreund
Partials by Dan Wells
Alice in Zombieland by Gena Showalter
This Is Not a Test by Courtney Summers
The Vicious Deep by Zoraida Córdova
Tilt by Ellen Hopkins
Gone, Gone, Gone by Hannah Moskowitz
Edgling by Jordan Deen
Fated by Sarah Alderson
Faery Tales and Nightmares by Melissa Marr
Unraveling Isobel by Eileen Cook
Lovetorn by Kavita Daswani
Enchanted by Alethea Kontis

Monday, November 21, 2011

Review - Unclean Spirits: Book One of the Black Sun's Daughter by M.L.N. Hanover

Unclean Spirits: Book One of the Black Sun's Daughter by M.L.N. Hanover
Released: July 28, 2009
Publisher: Pocket Books
Age Group: Adult
Pages: 400 pages
Format: Paperback
Source: Publisher
Rating: 4/5
Author Site: M.L.N. Hanover
Jayné Heller thinks of herself as a realist, until she discovers reality isn't quite what she thought it was. When her uncle Eric is murdered, Jayné travels to Denver to settle his estate, only to learn that it's all hers -- and vaster than she ever imagined. And along with properties across the world and an inexhaustible fortune, Eric left her a legacy of a different kind: his unfinished business with a cabal of wizards known as the Invisible College.

Led by the ruthless Randolph Coin, the Invisible College harnesses demon spirits for their own ends of power and domination. Jayné finds it difficult to believe magic and demons can even exist, let alone be responsible for the death of her uncle. But Coin sees Eric's heir as a threat to be eliminated by any means -- magical or mundane -- so Jayné had better start believing in something to save her own life.
Unclean Spirits was action packed..always had something happening to keep me on my toes! It was a pageturner that I had trouble putting down and found myself waking up at night to read just a few more pages. Jayne is basically a loner with no friends, boyfriend, nor any family left that wants anything to do with her. She's sort of the black sheep because she wouldn't follow her father's rules. I felt kind of sorry for her not so much for the obvious reasons but because she just seems to have hit bottom in her life and needs something to hold onto..something to call hers and maybe even a shoulder to lean on. I could relate to that.

I loved Midian! He is sassy mouthed and funny at the same time and I just really enjoyed his two sense worth not to mention he could cook and boy I do think highly of men who know their way around a kitchen!

Aubrey was an okay character but I'm just not all that into him. He's just not tough enough for me and he seems more like a suit man whereas I am all about the jeans and leather and kick ass urban hero type. Maybe he will harden up in later books..I dunno but I just am not feeling him as Jayne's lover or sidekick.

Jayne is just getting her feet wet in book one and still not totally sure if this will be a one time thing with her by killing the thing that killed her uncle or if she resumes his work where he left off and help others with a supernatural crisis.

Sunday, November 20, 2011

Review- Island Girls and Boys by Rachel Hawthorne

Island Girls and Boys by Rachel Hawthorne

Released: June 1, 2005
Publisher: HarperTeen
Age Group: Young Adult
Format: paperback
Source: Bought
Rating: 4/5
Author Site: Rachel Hawthorne

Date: July 4
Rental type: 2-person sailboat
Rented by: Jen Taylor and Dylan Nelson
Rental time: 8:15 p.m.
Destination: Out to sea!
Life jackets: 2
Time back: ??? Don't wait up!

Fresh out of High School these 3 BFF's plan to spend there summer on a remote island before they say there goodbyes and head off to different colleges at the end of the summer.. Jennifer got them all summer jobs at the Coastal Campground Resorts to help pay there share of the uittilies and grocery costs while staying in her grandparents house.

I started reading this book and couldn't put it down! I got so caught up in the characters and there little tantrums. I can't say that I like one more than the other because they all have a quality that I can relate to in my younger and now self. Jennifer is a take charge kind of gal and like me I have to have things a certain way. I defiantly don't like changes of any sorts. Amy is more tender hearted and brings in all types of strays(cat,dogs,oh and um mm guys) and always in the middle of Jen's and Chell's squabbles. I feel for Amy because I know what it's like to have to keep the peace. I do it all the time with my youngsters...and Miss Chelsea; what a total drama queen, but she gets it honestly. She's the baby in her family and yes I'm the baby in mine. I had my moments and I still do lol. Anyhow Chelsea has a boyfriend (Noah one of the unexpected things) and she ends up spending all her time with him during their summer of independence. Jen doesn't approve of Noah staying with them and not partaking in his share of the costs. I have to agree I would be hot too but soon Jen finds something to take her mind off the matter at hand altogether when none other than a sexy blue eyed boy named Dylan comes into her life. Dylan's just a passerby also looking to have a good time before he goes off into the army. Unexpected things start to happen between Jen and Dylan. One he will be leaving soon and two they starting to fall in love with each other. What will the out come be???? Will Dylan stay with Jen until he has to go or will he just pack up and leave her heart broken??? Well whatever the outcome it's one summer they all will never forget.....

Jennifer, Amy, and Chelsea learns a valuable lesson during their time spent living together. They all learn that living together is not as easy as they expected it to be. It's not easy living on your own and they found that out real quick..Can there friendship withstand all the unexpected changes that's coming on the horizon???

Saturday, November 19, 2011

Review- Pie In The Sky by Lois Ehlert

Reading level: Ages 3 and up
Hardcover: 40 pages
Publisher: Harcourt Children's Books (April 1, 2004)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0152165843
ISBN-13: 978-0152165840
Authors Site: Lois Ehlert
Do pies grow on trees? Join a father and child as they watch over their backyard cherry tree--and all the colorful living things surrounding it--throughout the seasons. At the end of the summer, they harvest the cherries together and make a delicious pie for the whole family to enjoy.
This stunning new book from bestselling author Lois Ehlert features color concepts, backyard natural history, vibrant collage illustrations, and, best of all, a recipe for making cherry pie. Yum!

Okay seems like Lois Ehlert is becoming one of my children's favorite authors. Every time we go to the library one of them checks out a book by her. lol... Not that I'm complaining! I'm really glad they enjoy her books as much as they do. I think Ehlert is a great children's author and I love her books as much as the kiddies do. They are fun and easy for the kids to read.

Pie in the sky is great for those of all ages. It shows the innocents of a child on how they think and learn. As grown ups we often forget the pricelessness of being a youngster ourselves. I'll never forget that my sister wanted to be an apple tree when she grew up. Well she's all grown up but I still don't see any apples hanging from her. LMAO Sorry issy you knows I love ya but that was just to darn funny.... All those crazy questions we asked our parents growing up and you know a child just knows everything or so they seem to think they do. Like in this story the little boy thinks pies is going to grow from the cherry tree. Everyday the boy looks at the tree and sees different shapes and colors on the tree, all types of insects and birds but never any pie. An one day when the cherries ripened his daddy finally says lets make a pie.

Review-Every-Day Dress-Up by Selina Alko

Reading level: Ages 5 and up
Hardcover: 32 pages
Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers (October 11, 2011)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0375860924
ISBN-13: 978-0375860928
Authors Website: Selina Alko
It's no secret that little girls love playing dress up, but the little girl in this book ditches her princess duds in favor of costumes inspired by great women in history.

What an fun adorable book I just loved everything about it. Besides playing ordinary everyday princess dress up. This little girl spices up her wardrobe every day of the week! She dresses up as a different famous woman in history. For example; Amelia Earhart, the First Lady of the US, and many more that I haven't even heard of. I found that Every-Day Dress-Up is very educational and fun all at the same time. Your child not only learns the days of the week, but also learns about history of different famous women and on how to be creative in learning; not to mention the illusturations are fun and unique. I highly recommend this book....

Thursday, November 17, 2011

Review - The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin

The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin
Released: September 27, 2011
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books For Young Readers
Age Group: Young Adult
Pages: 464 pages
Format: Hardback
Source: Bought
Rating: 4/5
Author Site: Michelle Hodkin
Mara Dyer doesn't believe life can get any stranger than waking up in a hospital with no memory of how she got there. It can.
She believes there must be more to the accident she can't remember that killed her friends and left her strangely unharmed. There is.
She doesn't believe that after everything she's been through, she can fall in love. She's wrong.

Despite the mixed reviews I have read I really found myself enjoying this one in the begining but about three quarters in I think is where I started losing it and where I must agree it has some meh parts in it that I'm not too sure I understand the point of like the thing with the bugs at the zoo. I'm like what was that?

I'm not sure how to explain it but it was like okay here Mara is lost three classmates in a horrible accident, moved to a new school, made a friend, fell in love, maybe she's a bit pyschotic but she seems to be coping with it and so on in the biggest potion of the story and then almost right at the end all heck starts breaking loose which is fine but by the end of the story I am left feeling like I have more questions than answers!

Now that my quirks are listed let me tell you what I loved! NOAH! Noah is a smooth talking hottie and rich to boot and he loves Dogs which is a huge plus for me! Mara is a wonderful character as well. I love how even though she is missing her friend and still trying to piece things together, and maybe a bit pyschotic that she still has spunk and speaks her mind and is not some weakling.

As much as I absolutely adore my vampire, were, and other similar stories I was refreshed by the uniqueness of this one and can't wait to see where the next book takes us because oh yea the clifhanger is like a season finale to your favorite tv show! I kept flipping pages and crying NOOOOOO this can't be it! Not now don't cut me off now!

Monday, November 14, 2011

Review - 13 Little Blue Envelopes by Maureen Johnson

13 Little Blue Envelopes by Maureen Johnson
Released: September 26, 2006
Publisher: HarperTeen
Age Group: Adult
Pages: 368 pages
Format: Paperback
Source: Bought
Rating: 5/5
Author Site: Maureen Johnson
When Ginny receives thirteen little blue envelopes and instructions to buy a plane ticket to London, she knows something exciting is going to happen. What Ginny doesn't know is that she will have the adventure of her life and it will change her in more ways than one.
This book was so fabulous I don't even know how to begin my review! I can't imagine being given a set of envelopes and sent out to foreign lands like Ginny's aunt did her. I'm not sure I could do it which is why I think I enjoyed this book so much is because I got to galavant along with Ginny and not have to endure the fright factor. With that said I still found myself comparing my younger self to her and coming to the conclusion we were not so different actually. Neither of us had really done much traveling away from home, both sorta shy, and both seeking adventure.

I feel like Ginny really needed to go on this adventure even against her family's wishes because she needed to find herself and come out of her shell. Her aunt realized how Ginny was so much like her and would probably have never taken a step like this without a push and she would have missed out on so many things...maybe even the love of her life!

Keith ohh I loved him and was so happy when he and Ginny were together but totally hated what he done at Mari's even if he did have good intentions! His friends kinda had me rolling my eyes though. They were far to childish.

I have book two waiting and cant wait to see what happens next!

Sunday, November 13, 2011

Review - Fallen by Traci L. Slatton

Fallen by Traci L. Slatton
Released: July 27, 2011
Publisher: Telemachus Press, LLC
Age Group: Adult
Pages: 242 pages
Format: Paperback
Source: Publisher
Rating: 5/5
Author Site: Traci L. Slatton
When the world ends, all that is left is love....

As chaos descends on a crippled Earth, survivors are tormented by strange psychic gifts. In this time of apocalyptic despair, love is put to the test. One woman with mysterious healing power guides seven children to safety. Charismatic Arthur offers her a haven. Slowly Emma falls for him. But at the moment of their sweetest love, his devastating secret is revealed, and they are lost to each other. Will Emma stay with him?
Oh my God! This book was soooo so good! The first few sentences draw you in and take you on an emotional roller coaster ride and just when you think it's okay to uncover your eyes or quit screaming it takes off again!

Emma is a woman who has been separated from her husband and older daughter, been thru heck and saw so much pain and suffering from the mists that have taken over and killed most everything in their path. Strange things are happening because of the mists...the ones who have survived them are either going insane or have heightened abilities like Emma who has discovered she has a healing power in her hands since they came that she had not had before and one of the girls who she has taken under her wing has developed a sort of psychic ability and can fortell things that are to come.

They eventually meet Arthur and his men and Emma begs him to take her and the orphaned children she has taken into her care back to his camp so that they may have security and a sense of safety away from the rogues who so often abuse and torture the weak. He says his camp is all men and no place for a woman and children but she offers him a trade he cant refuse though he tries...It begins as a "business arrangement" but turns into so much more than either expected especially since they both had secrets they were not sharing.

This was just such a wonderful story that at times made me laugh, other times made me wonder what in heck I would do in Emma's shoes, and yes there was sadness in parts as well but I'll let you find those parts for yourself.

The only thing that I really hate about Fallen is how it ended. This is book one of a trilogy that ended like a soap opera on a Friday afternoon with a cliff hanger leaving me wanting more.

In My Mailbox (8)

Hosted by The Story Siren, In My Mailbox is a weekly meme of what goodies we got to read during the week either thru mail, library, or ect..

This week was kinda slow. Don't even think we got mail but one day the entire week and ugh bills bills bills! On Friday the UPS truck showed up and made me smile though with the following series! (Thanks Simon & Schuster!)

The Black Sun's Daughter Series by M.L.N. Hanover
Unclean Spirits
Darker Angels
Vicious Grace
Killing Rites

I also have a giveaway going on for this entire series thanks to the wonderful folks at Simon & Schuster and you can enter that HERE

Wednesday, November 9, 2011

Know Me Better! (1)

1)-If you were stranded on a desert island what 3 things would you want with you?
My family including my poochies, a huge trunk of books, and a good supply of Sprite!

2)-What is one book everyone should read?
The Bible of course but other than that I cant fathom going thru life and never have read The Cat in The Hat by Dr Seuss

3)-If you could have any superpower what would you choose?
Mind Control

4)-Harry Potter or Twilight?
Harry Potter because Bella gets on my nerves.

5)-Gum or Breath Mints?
I actually used to have an addiction to breath spray! My hubby would tease me because every few minutes he would hear me squirting it in my mouth but of those two I would say Gum so I can pop bubbles!

Don't forget to enter my Giveaway to win the entire 4 book set of The Black Sun's Daughter HERE

Giveaway: Black Sun's Daughter Series

To celebrate the release of the 4th book, Killing Rites, of the Black Sun's Daughter Series, Simon and Schuster has graciously offered up a complete set (books 1-4) to one lucky follower of this blog! Look at these gorgeous covers!

In a world where magic walks and demons ride, you can't always play by the rules.

Jayné Heller thinks of herself as a realist, until she discovers reality isn't quite what she thought it was. When her uncle Eric is murdered, Jayné travels to Denver to settle his estate, only to learn that it's all hers -- and vaster than she ever imagined. And along with properties across the world and an inexhaustible fortune, Eric left her a legacy of a different kind: his unfinished business with a cabal of wizards known as the Invisible College.

Led by the ruthless Randolph Coin, the Invisible College harnesses demon spirits for their own ends of power and domination. Jayné finds it difficult to believe magic and demons can even exist, let alone be responsible for the death of her uncle. But Coin sees Eric's heir as a threat to be eliminated by any means -- magical or mundane -- so Jayné had better start believing in something to save her own life.

Aided in her mission by a group of unlikely companions -- Aubrey, Eric's devastatingly attractive assistant; Ex, a former Jesuit with a lethal agenda; Midian, a two-hundred-year-old man who claims to be under a curse from Randolph Coin himself; and Chogyi Jake, a self-styled Buddhist with mystical abilities -- Jayné finds that her new reality is not only unexpected, but often unexplainable. And if she hopes to survive, she'll have to learn the new rules fast -- or break them completely....

Giveaway ends at midnight Eastern time on November 24,2011 and winner will be announced on Black Friday, November 25, 2011 Giveaway is US only and NO PO Boxes allowed! Prize will be shipped from publisher. (Thank you Simon and Schuster!)

Mandatory Entry: You must be a follower of this blog and answer this question in a comment below along with your email address so I can contact you if you win!
Question: What is your most anticipated new release in 2012?

Extra Entries:(1 point each- Put them in separate comments along with your email address)
+1 Follow me on Twitter
+1 Follow me on Tumblr
+1 Tweet this giveaway (Post link Please) (You may do this once per day)

Tuesday, November 8, 2011

Review - Wondrous Strange by Lesley Livingston

Wondrous Strange by Lesley Livingston
Released: September 22, 2009
Publisher: HarperTeen
Age Group: Young Adult
Pages: 352 pages
Format: Paperback
Source: Bought
Rating: 5/5
Author Site: Lesley Livingston
When Kelley moves to New York to pursue her dreams of theatrical success, she expects that her only encounters with mythical beings will be confined to the stage, in the Avalon Grande Theatre's production of A Midsummer Night's Dream. All of that changes when she meets Sonny Flannery, who introduces Kelley to a world she never knew existed. A member of Auberon's Janus Guard, he patrols the portal (in Central Park) between the human and faerie worlds on the few dangerous nights when it opens and members of the Unseelie Court can pass into the mortal realm. He is strangely drawn to Kelley, and as he gets to know her, he begins to suspect that there is more to her history than either of them know. Through encounters with sirens, hellhounds, and kelpies, Kelley and Sonny are drawn irrevocably into a battle among the Fey.

Wondrous Strange was simply an Awesome story of a modern day magical version of Romeo and Juliet. Sonny and Kelley have become two of my all time favorite characters and they took me on a rollercoaster ride; well scratch that they took me on a carousel ride that was fun and magical and heartbreaking and frightning all at the same time.

I am very anxious to continue this series and find out more about the relationship and history of Kelley's father and her mother. I really loathe her father at this point but have mixed feelings on her mother. Does either of them care about her at all or is she just a pawn in a power struggle? One thing is for certain...I learned a valuable lesson thru Sonny's mistake; always make doggone sure when making a deal with a magical creature that you have all your facts verified and laid out on the table leaving no loopholes for later chaos!

If you have not read this series yet...What Are You Waiting For? Go! Read! It!

Saturday, November 5, 2011

In My Mailbox (7)

Hosted by The Story Siren, In My Mailbox is a weekly meme of what goodies we got to read during the week either thru mail, library, or ect..I haven't made an IMM in a coupla weeks so this is like 2 weeks worth of goodies.

Awake at Dawn by CC Hunter from Author
The Last Little Blue Envelope by Maureen Johnson from Jen Ryland
The Veil by Cory Putnam Oakes (signed) from Author/Goodreads
The Time In Between by Maria Duenas from Atria Books

For Review:
Stomp Out The Bullying by Angel McGowan
Hunter of Shadows by Nancy Gideon
Mini Weapons of Mass Destruction 2 by John Austin
Fallen by Traci L. Slatton
The Blacksmiths Daughter by Arley Cole
The Next Thing I knew by John Corwin
Pyxis by KC Neal
Heaven is For Real by Todd Burpo
The Belonging by Eric Del Carlo

Paperback Swap:
Complete Chronicles of Narnia by CS Lewis
From Dead to Worse by Charlaine Harris
Dead and Gone by Charlaine Harris
All Together Dead by Charlaine Harris

Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl

Friday, November 4, 2011

Spooktacular Giveaway Hop Winner

and the winner is... Post 148-----Dominique

Thank you to all who entered. Winner has been emailed. I wish I could give all of you a gift but never fear if you didn't win this go round I have more holiday giveaways to come as well as a special follower giveaway. Have a great weekend!

Friday Follow (9)

Welcome to Follow Friday hosted by Parajunkee and AlisonCanRead

This weeks Featured Bloggers
Sky Ink & The Magic Attic

This weeks question:
Q.Today's Question is something new, an activity. We want to see what you look like! Take a pic with you and your current read! Too shy? Boo! Just post a fun pic you want to share.

A. I dont take good photo's especially of myself but here goes with my read of the moment. 13 Little Blue Envelopes by Maureen Johnson

Thursday, November 3, 2011

Review - STOMP OUT the Bullying by Angel McGowan

STOMP OUT the Bullying by Angel McGowan
Released: October 7, 2011
Publisher: Outskirts Press
Age Group: Childrens
Pages: 30 Pages
Format: Paperback
Source: Publisher/Author
Rating: 4/5
Authors Site: Angel McGowan
Mikey lies awake in bed at night because he is worried about what is going to happen in school the next day. Mikey's frustration grows and he almost makes a wrong decision, because he listens to a friend. Finally, Mikey learns that his teacher, Mr. Jones, can do more than teach math.
This was a great children's book letting kids know about bullying and how to deal with it. It explains how fighting and running away only adds fuel to the flames and that you should advise a trusted adult of your situation.

I loved that this was a story geared towards a smaller childs point of view because bullying needs to be identified and "stomped out" at an earlier age before it becomes a bigger problem.

Angel McGowan is a fifteen-year old junior at JL Mann High School in Greenville, South Carolina. She is a member of the National Honor Society, Beta Club and basketball team. She is also a two-time USAIGC National Gymnastic Champion. Angel enjoys writing, playing basketball and spending time with her family and friends. Ultimately, Angel plans on becoming a pediatrician. The Illustrator, Matthew Linn is a fifteen-year old sophomore at JL Mann High School in Greenville, South Carolina. He is an avid soccer player. He plans to pursue a career in art after college.

Review - Unraveled by Gena Showalter

Unraveled by Gena Showalter
Released: November 1, 2011
Publisher: Harlequin Teen
Age Group: Adult
Pages: 192 Pages
Format: Hardback
Source: Publisher
Rating: 4/5
Authors Site: Gena Showalter
Since coming to Crossroads, Oklahoma, former outcast Aden Stone has been living the good life. Never mind that one of his best friends is a werewolf, his girlfriend is a vampire princess who hungers for his blood, and he's supposed to be crowned Vampire King—while still a human! Well, kind of.

I found Unraveled to drag a bit compared to the awesomeness of Intertwined. Eveybody is still trying to come to terms with Aden becoming the king of the vampires and they still have the witch curse looming over there heads as well as creatures still spilling from the woodworks trying to get at the new king, a title that Aden so totally has confessed he does not want and ponders over why Riley cant be the new king but yet there is a nagging moment every time he thinks of giving up the title.

I am also getting so sick of Mary Ann. Cant she just die or get hit with a fallen meteor or something? She is just so pathetic and goody goody two shoes I cant stand her anymore. She finds out she may be a threat to Riley and she decides she must break up with him to save him. I'm rolling my eyes by this time thinking ohh good grief not another one of those freaking story lines where the couple must break up to save each other and it keeps going back n forth back n forth.

On another note I am really happy to see Victoria blossoming out of her shell with new colored clothes, smiling more, and learning how to let her hair down. She has come a long way in such a short while and still have her fighting spirit intact.

Review - Heaven is for Real by Todd Burpo

Heaven is for Real by Todd Burpo
Released: November 1, 2011
Publisher: Thomas Nelson
Age Group: Adult
Pages: 192 Pages
Format: Hardback
Source: Publisher
Rating: 5/5
Authors Site: Todd Burpo
Burpo, a Wesleyan pastor in rural Nebraska, recounts the story of his son's mystic vision of heaven while the youngster was suffering from a near-fatal illness in the spring of 2003.

My mother told me a co-worker recommended this book to her and I was so thrilled when Thomas Nelson sent it to me for review even though I was skeptical of it a bit at first thinking like everybody else that this was another one of "those" books but was soon on a journey with the Burpo family as Todd gives us a blow by blow outline of events that lead up to his bizarre conversations with his son. It is told thru Colton's words (a childs words) and is simple to understand and just a beautiful heartwarming story of what he saw in Heaven.

Did Colton really see Heaven or is this just another elaborate ploy to make a quick buck (a work of pure fiction)? We may never know but I do know that we must have Faith and that sometimes Faith is blind and we just have to simply believe things we cant see with our own eyes. When all is said and done it really doesn't matter if this book is fact or fiction the message is still the same which is Heaven is for Real!

Tuesday, November 1, 2011

November TBR List

I saw where a few blogs do this each month and thought I would give it a try to have some sort of structure and outline of books I would like to get read in a months time and hopefully by doing so will help me to tame my ever growing TBR pile a bit. Um Yeaa I can dream right? lol In no particular order here is the tentative list for November's TBR List.

Fallen by Traci L Slatton
Triple Shot by Sandra Balzo
The Great Hamster Massacre by Katie Davies
13 Little Blue Envelopes by Maureen Johnson
The Last Little Blue Envelope by Maureen Johnson
Rocky Road Trip by Catherine Clark
The Good Ghouls Guide to Getting Even by Julie Kenner
Sweet Venom by Tera Lynn Childs
Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake
Daughter of Smoke & Bone by Laini Taylor
Found by Margaret P Haddix
Hex Hall by Rachel Hawkins
Wondrous Strange by Lesley Livingston
Unraveled by Gena Showalter
Heaven is for Real by Todd Burpo
STOMP OUT the Bullying by Angel McGowan

Hopefully I can get these done plus more but review books will obviously take precedence. So whats on your TBR List this month?