Monday, September 26, 2011

Review - Nowhere Hair by Sue Glader

Nowhere Hair by Sue Glader
Released: September 1, 2010
Publisher: Thousand Words Press
Age Group: Childrens
Pages: 32 pages
Format: Hardback
Source: Author
Author Site: Sue Glader
The little girl in NOWHERE HAIR knows two things: Her mom's hair is not on her head anymore, so therefore it must be somewhere around the house. After searching the obvious places, the story reveals that her mother, although going through cancer treatment, is still silly, attentive, happy and yes, sometimes very tired and cranky. She learns that she didn't cause the cancer, can't catch it, and that Mommy still is very much up for the job of mothering. The book, written in rhyme, explains hats, scarves, wigs, going bald in public, and the idea of being nice to people who may look a little different than you. It ends with the idea that what is inside of us is far more important than how we look on the outside.
A really wonderful book to help open up to a child on the discussion of having cancer or related illness. While obviously it wont answer all questions they have it will help give you a starting place. It's beautifully illustarted by Edith Buenen. I really loved the illustrations! They made a touchy and serious topic less serious and upbeat. The story teaches two very important lessons....Dont tease others because they are different and Dont judge folks on the outside of their body, its whats on the inside that really counts!

Our 7 year old loves to play school and she pretended she was our teacher and read this book to us! It has really simple words that most children will find easy to read for themself.

Sunday, September 25, 2011

In My Mailbox (4)

Hosted by The Story Siren, In My Mailbox is a weekly meme of what goodies we got to read during the week either thru mail, library, or ect..

I got one book for review this week

Nowhere Hair by Sue Glader

and from Bookmooch I got:

Hex Appeal by Linda Wisdom

What did you get in your mailbox?

Friday, September 23, 2011

TGIF (1) and Follow Me Friday (4)

TGIF is a weekly meme to recap weekly blog happenings and propose a new weekly question for bloggers to respond to hosted by Ginger @ GReads

This weeks question is:
Reading Challenges: Did you sign up for any this year? How has your progression been?
I began my blog late so I didn't really sign up for any challenges this year except for one on Goodreads on how many books read. I put 100 down that I hope to have read by end of year and have 11 so far so hopefully I can shake the dust off some of my TBR stack and meet my goal!

On the Blog Recaps for this past week:
In My Mailbox
Review - The Man in the Moon by William Joyce
Review - Thrill Ride by Rachel Hawthorne
Review - The Vision by Jen Nadol
Follow Me Friday

Welcome to Follow Friday hosted by Parajunkee and AlisonCanRead

This weeks Featured Bloggers
Obsession With Books & The World of the Spork Master

This weeks question:
Q. Do you have a favorite series that you read over and over again? Tell us a bit about it and why you keep on revisiting it?

A. Firstly I LOVE Love Love the Sookie Stackhouse Series by Charlainne Harris. I just adore Sookie and her innocense personality. She's just a good ole Southern Gal obsessed with vampires but she got spunk and speaks her mind as well.

I also enjoy reading Cate Tiernan's Sweep Series about a young girl, Morgan, who finds out she is a witch and meets a boy whose family is heavily into witchcraft and supposedly is going to help her find her way but obviously there are many secrets to discover and Morgan soon doesn't know who she can trust.

Two excellant series I would recommend to anybody of any age!

Wednesday, September 21, 2011

Review - The Vision by Jen Nadol

The Vision by Jen Nadol
Released: September 27, 2011
Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Childrens
Age Group: Young Adult
Pages: 240 pages
Format: Paperback
Source: Author/ARC
Author Site: Jen Nadol

Cassie Renfield knows the mark tells her when someone is going to die and that she can intervene and attempt to change fate. But she still doesn't understand the consequences, especially whether saving one life dooms another. With no family left to offer guidance, Cassie goes in search of others like her. But when she meets Demetria, a troubled girl who seems to have the power of the Fates, Cassie finds the truth isn't at all what she expected. And then there's her heady new romance with bad boy Zander. Dating him has much graver repercussions than Cassie could ever have imagined, forcing her to make choices that cut to the essence of who she is and what she believes.
I tried really hard to like this book because the first in the series, The Mark, was super, fresh, and unique. The Vision just paled in comparison to it. It took me a long time to finish reading it because I would keep sitting it down and picking others up thinking I was just not in the right frame of mind for this particular type of read but sadly my feelings never changed until the ending. The last couple of chapters were the best in the entire book.

The first problem I encountered was I felt cheated out of Cassie's relationship with Jack. As the story begins she has already had it and broken up with him to move away to Bellevue because she doesn't trust him enough to tell him about her secret but then she winds up falling for a new guy, Zander, who has deadly secrets of his own. Although creepy and a user I really enjoyed the introduction of Zander and hope to see him in a future book.

Another thing for me it was just to slow moving and got to bogged down with the retelling of The Mark and all the religious traditions and customs. While tidbits of it were interesting I just didn't understand the point in it all as it didn't help Cassie at all with her questions?

If you've not read The Mark I say read it it's really good but The Vision can certainly be read as a stand alone book. It's not "that" bad of a story at all it's just after having read The Mark I guess my expectations were really high for the second book.

Tuesday, September 20, 2011

Review - Thrill Ride by Rachel Hawthorne

Thrill Ride by Rachel Hawthorne
Released: April 25, 2006
Publisher: HarperTeen
Age Group: Young Adult
Pages: 320 pages
Format: Paperback
Source: Bought
Author Site: Rachel Hawthorne

Thrill Ride!
One-day admission: $15
Summer job:
Living on my own (plus roommates)
Rides are free (but avoid the roller coasters—too scary!)
Super-hot coworker . . .
Periodic homesickness
Dressing like Gretel for job in fairyland gift shop
Super-hot coworker . . . and boyfriend back home. Too thrilling!
I cant tell you how much I enjoyed this book! I gobbled it up in one sitting and was hoping for more! A totally cute romantic story for any young reader and I recommend it even if your not a young adult! It was just so upbeat and fun but there were times that I really wanted to smack Megan just because I felt she was a little tooooo goody goody if you know what I mean? She would kind of prejudge folks like for example before she ever met her roomate she already had decided she was a slob and maybe a party gal with several boyfriends just because she had not put her things away all neatly and boys were phoning left n right. I'm like Helllooo so what if she didnt immediately put her things away the time she got there that doesnt make her a slob and then when Parker kept trying to get to know her she just kept being so rude in my opinion just because she had a boyfriend and she assumed he was one of her roomates boyfriends doesnt mean they couldnt be friends!

Even though I loved ranting about Megan like I said the book was awesome. Megan just rubbed me the wrong way....guess ya could tell? :)

Sunday, September 18, 2011

Review - The Man in the Moon by William Joyce

The Man in the Moon by William Joyce
Released: September 6, 2011
Publisher: Atheneum Books for Young Readers
Age Group: Childrens
Pages: 56 pages
Format: Hardback
Source: Publisher
Author Site: William Joyce

In the first of his new Guardians of Childhood series, Joyce introduces the original guardian, MiM, the Man in the Moon. In glorious, colorful detail, readers are invited to imagine the Earth’s moon as a space age shipwreck, and the origin of bad dreams as the work of Pitch, King of the Nightmares. MiM’s fondest memories are of his devoted friend Nightlight, who sprinkled him with Dreamsand as an infant, and it is Nightlight who inspires MiM to become guardian to the hopes and dreams of all the children of Earth, but of course MiM will need help--from a toymaker, a fairy, a rabbit, and others like them.

This was a fantastic childrens book! We looked thru all the beautiful artwork before we ever read it; it was just that breathtaking! I think this will be a remarkable series for children giving them some type of idea of where their favorite childhood characters may have derived from like the Toothfairy and Santa Clause. I hope to collect them all for my kids because they had such a wonderful adventure and even read it amongst themselves oohhing and awwing over the pictures.

Amazon has a link where you can download an activity book for the story if you like along with a short video clip.

In My Mailbox (3)

Hosted by The Story Siren, In My Mailbox is a weekly meme of what goodies we got to read during the week either thru mail, library, or ect..

I got a trio of books from A.J. Scudiere this week for review. I began God's Eye and so far it's really good and creepy!

God's Eye

So what did you get in your mailbox this week?

Saturday, September 17, 2011

Review - Drink, Slay, Love by Sarah Beth Durst

Drink, Slay, Love by Sarah Beth Durst
Released: September 13, 2011
Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry Books
Age Group: Young Adult
Pages: 400 pages
Format: Paperback
Source: Publisher
Author Site: Sarah Beth Durst

Pearl is your typical sixteen-year-old vampire—until the night a unicorn stabs her through the heart with his horn. Oops. Now she’s experiencing a number of alarming symptoms: noticing her own reflection, feeling sympathy for a human victim, and being able to withstand the sun. Pearl’s immunity to sunlight thrills her family, who enroll her in high school so she can lure home tasty friends. Pearl quickly discovers that high school is very similar to vampire culture with its rigid rules, clear social hierarchy, and a might-makes-right attitude. But having a conscience makes it hard to cope with an evil plot the Vampire King has in store for the local humans. Will Pearl overcome her bloodsucking instincts in favor of her newly acquired conscience?

Probably like so many others I began this story thinking it would turn out to be the typical vampire read..yada yada yada but boy it was so great to be wrong! This is one of the most humerous, unique, and refreshing vampire books I have read in a good while! Pearl is hard not to like even when she is being bad and as mentioned above in the synopsis she basically begins as a typical vampire but is speared by a unicorn which changed her life and made her able to walk in daylight and begin attending human school which she so totally thought unfair. She felt humans were below her and only served as snacks literally but then as she continues to evolve even more she starts to feel differently. There were so many parts that I just out in out whooped in laughter especially the place where she compares having to go to school with humans (her food) being like sending a human to school in a chicken coop (for chicken nuggets). You'll just have to read it to understand what I'm saying but its just Pearl's quirky attitude that really made the book so funny and enjoyable.

Sunday, September 11, 2011

In My Mailbox (2)

Hosted by The Story Siren, In My Mailbox is a weekly meme of what goodies we got to read during the week either thru mail, library, or ect..

I got 2 really cool packages this week...

The first was my official Venom Squad Kit from Tera Lynn Childs. Super Duper excited to get this with the official button that says Venom Squad..We Got Bite! How cute is that? Anyhow its all to help promote her newest book Sweet Venom and there will be a cool giveaway on my blog soon so I can give some of this cool swag away to you all!

The next package was a total surprise from Simon & Schuster Children. It's an oversized storybook of The Man in the Moon by William Joyce and it came along with loads of stickers, poster, and some cool activity sheets.

Synopsis included with book:
He was once a beloved babe who sailed through the universe on the beautiful Moon Clipper, but after nearly being captured in battle, he finds himself alone on the Moon. Alone-until he realizes that there are children on Earth, just like him. Determined to reach them, he uncovers the magical secret that unlocks the moon's glow, giving every child a wondrous nightlight, forevermore.

I also got my package from bookcloseouts this week and was so excited! Here's the cool stash I had in it. Got them linked up to Goodreads for you.

13 Little Blue Envelopes
If We Kiss
Thrill Ride
The Lost Queen (Faerie Path, Bk. 2)
The Seventh Daughter (Faerie Path, Bk. 3)
The Immortal Realm (Faerie Path, Bk. 4)
Love You Hate You Miss You
Rocky Road Trip
Wondrous Strange
Secret Society
The Good Ghouls' Guide to Getting Even
Night Shade (Daughters Of The Moon, Bk. 3)
The Becoming (Daughters Of The Moon, Bk. 12)
Hearts at Stake (Drake Chronicles, Book 1)
Divine One (Sisters Of Isis, Bk. 2)
Enchantress (Sisters Of Isis, Bk. 3)
The Haunting (Sisters Of Isis, Bk. 4)
You Are So Undead To Me
Prada & Prejudice
How To Ditch Your Fairy

Friday, September 9, 2011

Follow Me Friday (3)

Welcome to Follow Friday hosted by Parajunkee and AlisonCanRead

This weeks Featured Bloggers
Pedantic Phooka & Drying Ink

This weeks question:

Q. Have you ever wanted a villain to win at the end of a story? If so, which one?
A. Not really. I have always usually went with the good guy although I must admit some of the villains are quite hard to be ignored and lusted after. lol

Thursday, September 8, 2011

Review - American Vampire by Jennifer Armintrout

American Vampire by Jennifer Armintrout
Released: February 22, 2011
Publisher: Mira
Age Group: Adult
Pages: 336 pages
Format: Paperback
Source: Bought
Author Site: Jennifer Armintrout
On his way to a vampire party in New York, Graf McDonald takes a wrong turn and ends up in Penance, Ohio, which one can enter but not leave. Trying to find gas, he finds Jessa, on the run from a horrible monster called It. When Graf finds that all roads lead back to town, he takes up residence with Jessa, whose abusive ex-boyfriend, Derek, sees her as his property despite the fact that he has kids and Becky, a drunken wife, at home. The unpleasant residents of the town have been cut off from the rest of the world for the last five years while It preys on them, and they are more than suspicious of Graf, the first person to find a way in since It showed up. When Becky and the kids disappear, Graf has new terrors to face as the residents of Penance target him.
This is not your everyday vampire romance. In fact it's not very "vampiry" at all. But that is what made it somewhat more interesting. I was totally sucked in as I began reading about a town in basic limbo for the past 5 years where nobody could enter nor leave and nobody knew why. I take that back...somebody did know why but they weren't talking because they made a deal with the devil in exchange for something but as usually happens a monkey wrench got tossed into their equation and things are not turning out as planned.

I loved sitting on the sidelines watching Jess and Graf squabble with each other like they couldnt stand one another but yet found trust just in time for each other to be able to fight the evil IT. I think I would of liked the story better if IT would of had an actual name instead of just IT though. I kept guessing and trying to figure out what IT was and how IT got there and had a pretty general idea but still had a few curves tossed at me that I had not expected so overall I'd have to say it was quite an enjoyable read.

Review - How to Ditch Your Fairy by Justine Larbalestier

How to Ditch Your Fairy by Justine Larbalestier
Released: September 29, 2009
Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Childrens
Age Group: Young Adult
Pages: 336 pages
Format: Paperback
Source: Bought
Author Site: Justine Larbalestier
Though invisible, a personal fairy is vital to success in New Avalon. It might determine whether you pass a math class or find the perfect outfit. But all fourteen-year-old Charlie can do is find parking spaces—and she doesn’t even drive. At first, teaming up with Fiorenza (who has an all-the-boys-like-you fairy) seems like a great idea. But when Charlie unexpectedly gets her heart’s desire, she’ll have to resort to extraordinary measures to ditch her fairy.
This was a quick fun read that totally got me thru my readers block! Thruout the entire book I was trying to figure out just what kind of fairy I would love to be in possession of and think I narrowed it down to either a loose change fairy or a shopping fairy so when I find something I want it would automatically go on sale!

When the book opens Charlie was complaining that her "spoffs" looked funny in the shirt she had on and I was like umm okayy what is this language because that was one I had never heard used to describe the female boobies before and then found several more new words I enjoyed liked doos which basically means something is very cool! (Don't fret there is a glossary in back!) Charlie was a really fun character to read about because no matter how hard she tried to be "good" the fates just seemed to work against her as she piled up demerit after demerit and soon has so many she can't play sports and has to do community service. She blames all her troubles on her parking fairy and thinks everything will be so much better if she had another fairy. Then opportunity knocks and she trades fairies with another girl who wants to be rid of her fairy which is an every boy loves me fairy and they both soon find themselves in even deeper messes like now Charlie can't be for sure if her crush Stefan really likes her for her or if it's the new fairy!

I hated for this book to end. It was just hilarious! On a more serious side though I feel like I saw Charlie grow up a good bit within these pages as she realized that everything was not always sunny and bright on the other side and sometimes one should just be thankful for what they have cause it could always be so much worse!

Tuesday, September 6, 2011

Shut Out by Kody Keplinger

Have seen nothing but awesome things about ths book and I can't wait to pick up a copy!

Most high school sports teams have rivalries with other schools. At Hamilton High, it's a civil war: the football team versus the soccer team. And for her part,Lissa is sick of it. Her quarterback boyfriend, Randy, is always ditching her to go pick a fight with the soccer team or to prank their locker room. And on three separate occasions Randy's car has been egged while he and Lissa were inside, making out. She is done competing with a bunch of sweaty boys for her own boyfriend's attention.

Lissa decides to end the rivalry once and for all: She and the other players' girlfriends go on a hookup strike. The boys won't get any action from them until the football and soccer teams make peace. What they don't count on is a new sort of rivalry: an impossible girls-against-boys showdown that hinges on who will cave to their libidos first. And Lissa never sees her own sexual tension with the leader of the boys, Cash Sterling, coming.

Friday, September 2, 2011

Follow Me Friday (2)

Welcome to Follow Friday hosted by Parajunkee and AlisonCanRead

This weeks Featured Bloggers - We Fancy Books & The Little Book Blog
This weeks question:

Q: If you could change the ending of any book (or series), which book would you choose? And, why?

A: Yikes this is really hard to even consider. Never even thought about it. But the most recent one I can think of is Retribution by Sherrilyn Kenyon. I really enjoyed the story but the ending left me feeling incomplete. Maybe it was that way because she is going to weave Jess and Abigail into a future book but still I wanted more. I felt a bit cheated what sitting thru all their fighting and struggles and near death experiences and not knowing what the future looked like for the two? Cant go into to much detail on what I mean because I dont want to spoil anything for anybody who has not read it yet.